We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bakers Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bakers Cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our recent stay in Westbury 8/5/13 was wonderful! the Old Bakehouse Cottage was delightful and historic but with modern touches. Plenty of room and very cosy and clean.
I loved the old photos on the wall and wonder if they were previous owners?
Our girls loved the upstairs attic area.
The afternoon tea provided by Dan and Amanda was yummy!
Would recommend the Westbury Gingerbread Cottages to anyone travelling to Tassie.

Room Tip: Bakers Cottage great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thanks so much for your glowing review. We are always touched by guests who appreciate the unique history of our wonderful cottages. Danny has been researching the intricate details of the past owners of the cottages, from the time when they were the village's bakery and shop-front - to the modern era. Indeed, some of the photos ARE of past bakers and their families !

The attic area is always a hit with the kids; with the teddy bears, games and books. Such a cosy retreat, with "child-sized" chairs under the pitched roof.

Amanda's baking is becoming renowned with her afternoon tea and goodies always appreciated. The fruit cake is especially requested, with a number of guests enjoying so much, they ask for the recipe ! Truly delicious.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again when next you travel in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Our recent stay ay Westbury Gingerbread cottages was a pleasant one, our hosts being very welcoming. We were in the Servants Quarters, comfortable king bed, nicely decorated, good heating, only drawback it is directly on footpath with lot of traffic noise, there are 3 others with garden in front maybe ask for one of these. Breakfast for $10 each worth the money, comes with huge loaf of bread, eggs bacon & tomato. A nice touch were the muffins, fruitcake etc which were left every day for us to enjoy. a great place to stay if you are attending Agfest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Servant's Quarters. This is a lovely cottage - just perfect for a couple - that was once the residence of the local baker and his family, dating from c.1860's.

Since that time, many of the local facilities have increased, including the IGA, pizza shop and service station. These additional facilities, well-enjoyed by our guests, also increases the traffic volume. However, you'll be pleased to know that the local council has approved a significant speed reduction (with associated curbing alteration) along this street, dotted with many heritage-listed buildings, including ours. This speed reduction is certainly a welcome improvement and expected to lower the traffic noise considerably.

We're so glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We bake the bread fresh, to-order; and the eggs are local, free-range. The muffins and fruit cake are very much Amanda's domain - she even does some wonderful, gluten-free gingerbread men!!

Thanks again for your kind review and we would love to welcome you again to The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages when next you're in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I recently stayed in the Old Bakehouse cottage with my sister, neices and nephew. The 3 night stay was not long enough and I wish I could have stayed more. Westbury is a gorgeous little town with so much history and a great place to base ourselves as it was only a short drive to Launceston, Deloraine and Cradle Mountain etc. The cottage itself was exactly as the photographs depicted on the Website and oh so cosy! I think I had 3 of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. The bed was so comfortable, with plenty of extra blankets but discovering the Electric Blankets was like winning the lottery! So nice.........thank you. Coming home at the end of a day discovering Tassie to a steaming hot shower and enjoying the warmth of the heater in the lounge (as well as all the individual rooms) was wonderful. The cottage itself was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay with that warm homely feel. The rooms were all lovely and even though we had some Tall people in our group, this did not become an issue. After having previously stayed in a hotel for 5 nights it was nice to have a well equipped kitchen and be able to prepare our own meals. IGA is a mere 2 or 3 mins walk from the Cottages and is a well stocked store that stayed open until quite late and the local butcher (across the road from IGA) stayed open until 6pm and had some of the most delicious local meats on offer. Of course for those who prefer to eat out there are other options which are conveniently noted in the Information Booklet you'll find in the Cottage. The Information booklet was brilliant and provided fantastic local information as well as Maps of the area and information on the History of Westbury itself. For those travelling with children the upstairs bedrooms are so cute and comfortable with a great play area and there is also the option to obtain a range of DVD's from the owners. I would definitely recommend Gingerbread Cottages for staying in this area, as not only are they comfortable and provide everything you could need for a home away from home stay, this is also a rare opportunity to experience a small piece of history for which I have enormous respect. A huge thanks to Amanda and Danny. The daily welcome home of Freshly cooked cupcakes was a real treat too, thank you. Your cottages will definitely be my first choice of accommodation If I'm lucky enough to make it back to Westbury one day. Thank you again, Christine Adair

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thanks Christine for your wonderful words of praise. We sincerely appreciate your glowing feedback about our cottages and The Old Bakehouse. Indeed, the history of the buildings is amazing and they well-deserve their listing with the Heritage Council.

We're so excited about your comments on our updated guest compendium. We spent many hours recently updating this and placing the information into the new folios. The availability of the extensive DVD library (over 150 titles!) is very new for us to offer our guests. As each cottage has a digital TV with DVD player, we thought it only fitting to also offer free DVD rental from our in-house library.

Your summary of facilities in Westbury is spot-on as it is very well serviced for such a charming town. I can't speak highly enough of the butcher's quality (even some seafood!), and the IGA range and opening hours (until 8:30pm nightly). With a bottle shop, pizza shop (they deliver!!) and service station only another 100m or-so, the local facilities well-compliment our self-catering cottages.

Amanda's home-baked, complimentary afternoon "treats" are fantastic and we're thrilled that you all enjoyed them. These treats are always very welcome by our guests when returning from a "day-of-discovery" in this wonderful region.

Thank you so much for your kind review. We would genuinely love to welcome you again to our cottages when next you travel through Tasmania. All the very best to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The cottage where we stayed was lovely, and offered plenty of space. The breakfast provisions were great, including the fresh-baked bread. The hosts gladly accommodated our request for vegetarian breakfast provisions. We were only passing through town on this trip, but would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our cottage. All four of our cottages are indeed quite spacious, yet offer all the comforts of fully self-contained accommodation.

While we have only recently taken-over these wonderful cottages, we do try very hard to emulate the attention to detail of the previous owners, including meeting our guests' requests regarding all food provisions; including our complimentary afternoon cakes and "goodies". These are always welcomed by our guests, particularly after their "day of discovery".

It's unfortunate that your time with us was so short. Perhaps, we could have the pleasure of your company in the future, at which time you may have the opportunity to take advantage of our secluded BBQ courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed in the corner cottage with my two toddlers. We could not fault the cottages or the owners. Lovely spacious cottage with gas fireplace in the lounge and gas heaters in bedrooms. Breakfast provisions with freshly baked bread and goodies for afternoon tea were a nice touch. Definitely not small child friendly, and had a minor stroke seeing the room adorned with decorative, breakable antiques. As we were expected, perhaps some of these things could have been put away. It also has a step up to the bedrooms. But all in all a lovely stay and very nice owner.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

These cottages are great, well kept and provisioned in one of the best central highland towns around. Perfect for families or travellers who want to make a base and be close to everything while still feeling the country love. All are different to suit your travelling party, and the owners are more than accommodating. Definitely a great place to hang with some good friends or extended family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

From the very begining we were made to feel special, making the booking through to arrival John and Karen kept in touch to ensure we had a everything we needed. Once there the cottage we chose 'Servants Quarters' was all we had hoped for, cosy, warm and clean. The furnishings are in keeping with a period cottage but with the modern requirements, big King bed, HD TV, gas log fire and a kitchenette. The apples growing in the court yard delish as were the herbs and veg at our disposal in the garden bed. A very pleasant stay in a gorgeous historical village.

Room Tip: Servants Quarters has the King Bed and a quiet court yard to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyblue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
16.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
14.6 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 2 in Westbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quamby Estate
Quamby Estate
#1 of 2 in Hagley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quamby Pines
Quamby Pines
#7 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
9.0 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#4 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Gingerbread Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Gingerbread Cottages

Property: Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Address: 52 William St | Westbury Cottages, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Gingerbread Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages are a delightful collection of five heritage-listed cottages dating from the 1850's, centrally-located in the historic village of Westbury in northern Tasmania - within easy reach of Launceston airport and the Devonport ferry terminal. All cottages contain their own, individual history and each one offers the convenience of self-catering, with all the mod-cons you'd expect for your stay. Your cottage is styled with period furnishings, in-keeping with the era that the cottages so perfectly represent. Each cottage is appointed with full-kitchen facilities, including cooktop, microwave and full-size fridge; and each one has its own bathroom and laundry facilities, including washing machine and dryer. A digital television, DVD, CD and radio are standard in all our cottages. Explore the inviting spaces your cottage offers, yet take the time to relax and unwind in front of your gas-log fire. The kids aren't forgotten either, with a separate "children's nook" for guests staying in The Old Bakehouse with games, teddy bears and children's books. Or what about staying in the Corner Cottage and taking a relaxing spa. Guests in The Servant's Quarters can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of the fire, while absorbing the atmosphere, seated on their leather lounge or snoozing in the 4-poster bed; while The Gingerbread Cottage offers a relaxing verandah for you to admire your secluded garden; or Apple Tree Cottage with lovely garden of camellias, roses and 5 types of apple trees. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages offer a central, spacious courtyard and 4-burner BBQ for the exclusive use of our guests. Feel free to pick your selection of seasonal produce from our herb and vegetable gardens in the courtyard, while you relax at the picnic tables, sampling the local wares from your day. For your convenience, we offer off-street parking directly adjacent to the cottages.All our guests enjoy a daily selection of teas and coffees (including plunger coffee) and home-baked "goodies" - which may include fruit cake, muffins or our popular gingerbread men (naturally). There is also an option to add provisions for a full breakfast - bacon, eggs, tomatoes, cereals, juice, home-baked bread, spreads and homemade jams - which will be replenished each day. Discover the delights of Westbury, established in the 1820's as a garrison town and nestled in the Meander Valley at the base of the inspiring Great Western Tiers mountains. Many local attractions can be explored with several self-guided walks - available from our Reception - including the Village Green, Town Common, Westbury Maze, Pearn's Steam World and many historic buildings, such as wood-fired bakery, churches and coach-inns. Take a short drive to local wineries, hand-made Belgian chocolate shoppe, cherry farm, honey farm, raspberry farm, salmon and ginseng farm - all with inviting retail outlets and cafes. For the more adventurous, less than 40min drive-away is are wild-life parks (with Tasmanian Devils), Launceston's famous Cataract Gorge, glow-worm caves, artist studios; and many bush walks, ranging from 1hr to full-day hikes. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages is the ideal base to explore all that this wonderful region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Westbury Gingerbread Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing