We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but dated”
Review of Fitzpatrick's Inn

Fitzpatrick's Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Westbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This accommodation is an easy drive from Launceston Airport and is based in an old[1880s] building. We had a double room in the annexe behind the main building. The room itself is clean and nicely furnished but is quite small and looking a bit old and tired. There is a double bed, a small table with coffee making facilities, one easy chair and a small TV. There is hardly any storage space. The shower room is adequately sized. You are served breakfast in the dining room where you can also have dinner [Wed to Sun]. The meals here are very well prepared but they are expensive and the portions quite small. We were very surprised to find that beds were not made nor coffee making ingredients topped up – especially as this is hardly a budget option!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

I turned up on my bike in the rain and Pam was very welcoming and friendly. It was mid winter so i had the place virtually to myself. The house is a beautiful old place and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious - the electric blanket was luxury! There is also a little 'pub' in the hotel which would be extremely cosy on winter nights in front of the fire. If you are having dessert in the restaurant get the hazlenut torte! Pam makes it herself and it is to die for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have been coming to this venue for about six years this year did trip to stay for a week without husband. First time staying in the inn itself and not the comfortable motel type accommodation. Very comfortable bed and facilities along with magic culinary experience in the dining area. Lovely fresh produce sourced locally and cooked and prepared by a most charming and pleasant owner who could not do anymore to make my stay more memorable. It was like visiting a friend. The service staff were also most accommodating and made my dining experience an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: Any room is good even though bathroom facilities in the upstairs area are shared there was not an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountainvale, Owner at Fitzpatrick's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

It was lovely to have you stay again - having owned Fitzpatrick's Inn for just over 6 years and had you visit each year - from a guest to a friend its been a lovely journey. Look forward to next time. Pam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

On long term contract in Tasmania and required accomodation, we were put up in the renovated stables. Amazingly drafty and the porch is warmer than the room with heater running full throttle. Sheets and towels changed once fortnightly. When cheaper accommodation with better facilities were acquired, our host Pam went mental and abused my employer and accused myself and work colleagues of being of inadequate integrity. Never have I paid for a service to be provided where the service provider sees it fit to abuse me over a change in circumstance. I would strongly recommend avoiding this establishment unless abuse is your preferred method of social interaction.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wazza40012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

From the moment we arrived our host Pam made us feel as if we were Family, showed us around and made us feel at home, the rooms are comfortable and welcoming, all 4 on the ground floor have ensuites and the showers are great. The beds were comfortable and although it is close to the road you would have trouble hearing any traffic. It was warm enough outside when we arrived so we had our coffee in the very expansive garden. We had booked to eat in the restaurant, but we started in the beautiful Olde English bar with wood fire, the meal was excellent and we returned the next night and once again we were not dissapointed. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was more than i could eat. Thank you Pam for making us welcome.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom stay in one of the downstairs units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stopped at the Fitzpatrick Inn for dinner on the return of a business trip to Devonport from Hobart. Lucky for us we had made a telephone reservation on the way up as we by-passed the sleepy village of Westbury as most tables were full, They seated us on a table for two by the panoramic windows overviewing the massive old english gardens as twilight fell. We very much enjoyed the experience and wish that we had had the opportunity to explore these gardens which reminded us so much of Leura in the Blue Mountains.

The meals was good. Hot rolls with mascarpone to whet the taste buds Entree for both of us were marinated quail on a bed of salad at $16 each which we found to be great value These entrees were expansive. The salad was generous and tasty and a whole quail each was more than expected. A touch too much rosemary in the marinade perhaps, but that is a matter of personal taste. Cheryl had the Atlantic Salmon (perfectly cooked) and I had the duck breast with parsnip puree and madeira jus. The Lubiana pinot was a good food match and did not break the bank.

Had a nice personal chat with the owner/cook Pam after dinner and found her honest and personally engaging.

Open for lunch and dinner Wednesday to Sunday. Well worth the detour off the highway and we will definately stop there again. Maybe even stay overnight at this colonial treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimandCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our stay at the inn was just wonderful. Pam Swain is a very accomodating host and a great chef also. Our meal in the restaurant was very enjoyable, loved the sloe gin. Pam brings to life the fascinating history of the inn and especially the three sisters who owned it for many years. I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms out the back have ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fitzpatrick's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick's Inn

Address: 56 Meander Valley Rd, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range: £70 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzpatrick's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzpatrick's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing