We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Fitzpatrick's Inn

Fitzpatrick's Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Westbury B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

On our recent trip around Tasmania we stayed in Westbury for one night as we left for the Mainland the next day. Our friendly host Diana where we stayed for the night (Elm Wood cottage), booked us for dinner at Fitzpatricks Inn. When we arrived, we found out, it was actually Pams day off, but lovely Pam volunteered and cooked the most delicious three course meal just for the two of us. In between the courses she gave us a run down of the establishments history. We highly recommend Fitzpatricks Inn for an unforgettably culinary experience. Thank you Pam. Love Manfred and Susie

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank herrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzpatricksInn, Owner at Fitzpatrick's Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks Manfred and Susie, it was lovely to have you share this beautiful historic place with me for dinner. Thats what I am all about - sharing this wonderful building, full of history with guests who appreciate the experience. Thanks again for your glowing comments. Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
17
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

As we were catching the Devonport ferry the next morning, we decided to stay a little out of Devonport, at Westbury, a town with its own history and character. We stayed at Fitzpatrick's Inn and were delighted by its charm. The Inn itself has a fascinating history which I read about as I sat in the large garden, near our room, soon after our arrival. But that was only the beginning. Later in the evening after a delicious dinner provided by our hostess Pam, in the restaurant, we were enthralled by her stories of the former owners of the Inn, three sisters who obviously were well-known characters in the area for many years. While we sipped a glass of sloe gin, we joined the two other guests in the bar. Pam entertained us all for the evening, with her many tales of history and personalities. When we had to leave early the next morning to catch the ferry, it was not a problem for Pam, who was up before 6.00 to get us our breakfast before we left. We will come back again some time, as it was such an unexpected pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzpatricksInn, Owner at Fitzpatrick's Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you Liz for your glowing review. I thoroughly enjoy sharing the history of this beautiful old inn with my guests. It is a pleasure to be able to add a surprise element to your holiday - one guest described it as a hidden treasure!!!! I look forward to your return as I am sure there will be more stories to share and of course the garden will be awaiting you with its peace and tranquility. Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After several days in Sydney, Westbury couldn't have been a greater contrast. Fitzpatrick's was a delight. The hostess Pam was helpful, friendly and informative. We enjoyed very good food and appreciated the lovely garden.
Accommodation was clean and functional. It met our expectations. The property is fascinating and Pam full of interesting information on the previous owners.
We couldn't have wanted a more encouraging and enjoyable start to a memorable trip around a beautiful island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We found Westbury and Fitzpatrick's just by chance whilst looking for a place to stay on our way through the region, and left utterly charmed by both the Inn and the town alike. Simple but comfortable and adequate accommodation attached to a fantastic historic main building, and very pleasant gardens. Dinner was spent with a small group of the locals who had flocked to the Inn's classic English style pub/bar for that weekend's Hawthorn AFL match (the 'local' team), and we were treated to true country hospitality with the owners serving us dinner and drinks from the bar, all the while entertaining the locals, and sharing the odd tip on 'what's good' in the bar. This is how we discovered the locally made Fitzpatrick's Sloe Gin, a drink with a history intertwined with that of the Inn. This is no rowdy bar, but a warm, homely establishment invites you to enter, ans stay all night.
The dinner, and breakfast the next morning were delicious, and we can't wait to drop by again for a pint and a chat in this great property.

Room Tip: The rooms at Fitzpatrick's are part of the old stables, and are quite simple/dated, but don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went to the Arts Festival in Deloraine and the Steam World in Westbury and, while in Westbury, we noticed Fitzpatrick's Inn. We decided to stay for a few days to explore the local area, and thought we'd eat our dinners in pubs or whatever we found locally. Well, talk about stumbling on a five-carat diamond on the beach!!! Because we were tired the first night we were there we decided to eat "in", thinking, "Oh, how bad could it be?" SURPRISE!!! The food was outstanding; fresh local produce beautifully cooked and professionally presented. We never budged out of the Inn for meals after that. Every night was a glorious gourmet feast.... Pam even went to great lengths to find out what we'd prefer for breakfast.

Aha, you say, but what about the accommodation? Well, if you're looking for a same-old, same-old ticky tack box of a chain hotel with a big plasma TV in the room and no soul, go and stay at the Hilton or the Best Western and you'll get what you deserve. The Inn is a lovely (and much loved) old inn and the "vibes" of all the happy guests live on in the place. The rooms are all different but are all comfortable, clean and well-equipped. There are rooms in the main house with BAGS of character (and which require you to walk up a grand old staircase) or rooms in the annexe which are on ground level.

Regardless of which room you opt for, you'll be treated like family by Pam, the owner. She'll pour you a drink in the on-site little pub (complete with crackling fire on cold nights), she'll tell you about the history of the place if you like, and she'll feed you like a king. (Be sure to acquire a bottle of the Inn's original recipe sloe gin!!!) When we were there, she asked about what sorts of things we'd like to do and, having gotten that information, she arranged for my husband to go fishing with a member of the local fishing club and she went to great lengths to see to it that I visited a display of quilts being shown in a nearby town.

The gardens around Fitzpatrick's are lovely (a beautiful place for a wedding, I'd say) and if you'd like to relax on the terrace in the sunshine with a drink, a book, the birdsong and the flowers, you'd be hard-pressed to be happier.

If you want the Hilton, go there. If you want a home away from home, go see Pam at Fitzpatrick's Inn in Westbury! (By the way, the Westbury Show in November is a must-see!) You'll be so happy there that you'll be tempted to stay forever!!!

.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzpatricksInn, Owner at Fitzpatrick's Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you Lee. It was lovely to have you stay here and what stories we shared!!! I enjoyed your company too. And you are right - there is so much to see in and around Westbury - guests just need to let me know their interests and who knows what we can organise!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This accommodation is an easy drive from Launceston Airport and is based in an old[1880s] building. We had a double room in the annexe behind the main building. The room itself is clean and nicely furnished but is quite small and looking a bit old and tired. There is a double bed, a small table with coffee making facilities, one easy chair and a small TV. There is hardly any storage space. The shower room is adequately sized. You are served breakfast in the dining room where you can also have dinner [Wed to Sun]. The meals here are very well prepared but they are expensive and the portions quite small. We were very surprised to find that beds were not made nor coffee making ingredients topped up – especially as this is hardly a budget option!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I turned up on my bike in the rain and Pam was very welcoming and friendly. It was mid winter so i had the place virtually to myself. The house is a beautiful old place and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious - the electric blanket was luxury! There is also a little 'pub' in the hotel which would be extremely cosy on winter nights in front of the fire. If you are having dessert in the restaurant get the hazlenut torte! Pam makes it herself and it is to die for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
4.7 mi away
Quamby Estate
Quamby Estate
#1 of 2 in Hagley
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
9.5 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hawthorn Villa Stables
Hawthorn Villa Stables
#1 of 1 in Carrick
42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
95 reviews
9.9 mi away
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Blakes Manor Deloraine
#4 of 10 in Deloraine
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick's Inn

Property: Fitzpatrick's Inn
Address: 56 Meander Valley Rd, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzpatrick's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing