We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berry Patch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppermint Ridge Retreat
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This is the most divine holiday destination: incredible panoramic views of Woodbridge and Bruny island from a hilltop perch, this Eco-lodge has a magnificent views from anywhere that you are standing or sitting in the living space. From the romantic mezzanine bed space, you can see the ocean, the clouds and the stars. The wood heater warms the house beautifully. The breakfast, cooked by BBQ on your private balcony, is plentifully provided - along with a real cafe Latte from an honest-to-god-please-a-Melbournian coffee machine!!! Don't be put off by the Eco-toilet - no smells and no worries (it's just a greener way to poo). The second bedroom is admittedly quite dark. But, for a couple, this is romance plus - it's like staying in your own palatial, ecologically sound, treehouse.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melbourneteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were very attracted by the story of this architecturally designed property built as a 'grand design' by a young family in Woodbridge. What an achievement! They've created two absolutely beautiful lodges with fantastic views,and light and comfort. Its situation on top of the ridge means you can see forever and live the good life in terms of sustainable accommodation. The drop loo is no problem - so don't be put off by it. There are plenty of other luxury touches like the spa and the rainforest shower head - personally I'd go the shower over the spa it is just terrific like being under a gentle waterfall. Other nice touches were the generous breakfast including home made bread ( the dough is provided in a bread maker), the fun of waking up to incredible views and the log fire.

Woodbridge and Cygnet are just down the hill and wildlife everywhere and the area specialises in lots of great local produce. Very much represent Peppermint Lodge - its great fun staying here.

.

Room Tip: Both lodges are equally fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Peppermint Ridge Retreat is a beautifully situated property on a hill overlooking Bruny Island. The views are fantastic and the location is peaceful and tranquil, ideal for those looking to get away from it all. With only a 5-10 minute drive to the Bruny Island ferry and a 35 minute drive from Hobart you are also well placed to visit some of the local areas of interest.
Regarding the actual property, one bedroom is on a mezzanine and enjoys the views over the hills and to the island whereas the other is more tucked away at the back of the property. Ample breakfast supplies are provided. A range of supplies can also be purchased.
The wood fire in the main room is lovely on those cold evenings, you can tuck up on the sofa with a nice glass of red and who knows you may even get a visit to the door from the local possum!
I guess there were two things I was slightly disappointed with at the retreat. The first was the absence of an oven. Eating in in the evenings would have been perfect with a slow cooked stew but instead we had to rely on a portable hob with two rings and a portable fryer. Not a disaster but something to bear in mind. The second was that for a spa retreat there really was only the spa, no dressing gowns or slippers or little luxuries like body lotion, bubble bath etc. Again not a disaster and did not impact on our stay but something to bear in mind.
Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the retreat, I would definitely pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our stay at Peppermint lodge was wonderful. We were lucky enough that it had been raining, so the bush smell was sweet and animals were out and about. The views were beautiful, sunrise from your bed is amazing. The accommodation was neat and tidy, though the drop loo was a bit of a surprise.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbeH, Owner at Peppermint Ridge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thankyou for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our toilet is a composting nature loo. As live in a rural area we rely on rainwater which we collect. Instead of flushing this resource down the toilet this system allows us to conserve our tank water. It is completely free of chemicals and odours and is a closed system which looks just like a normal toilet. Although a little unusual it makes a huge difference in our water consumption and means we don't have to have water trucked in as many other properties do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After reading all the reviews, well I can say we were greeted by a note, a unlocked cabin, yes the aromour of fresh bread was amazing.. The accomadation was clean, the views amazing, the milk was out of date, the coffee offered was lumpy and furry.. Trivial yes, but when your hanging for a coffee, it's important. The views are truly a beautiful treat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbeH, Owner at Peppermint Ridge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to review our accommodation. We live on the property and on occassion we aren't able to be there from 3pm onwards when people check in. In such case we always leave a note with details on which studio our guests will be staying in and our mobile phone numbers should they need any assistance. I apologise that your coffee and milk was not checked before your arrival, had you let us know there was a problem a quick response and solution would have been found.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

This place is sublime! The accommodation is unique and luxurious. The interior is so different but awesome I cannot even describe it so will just post a picture instead. The views from the studio right down to Bruny Island are magnificent and this is what you wake up to from your bed in the lift upstairs. Warm fresh bread is baking when you arrive and breakfast supplied includes bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, juice, coffee and more. All this for a really reasonable rate on a Saturday night. The owners leave you to yourself which is perfect but live onsite so would have been around had we had any issues. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nay_Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed her for four nights and it was just perfect. We had everything we needed the studio's are tastefully done and very earthy and homely, nothing beats a warm cozy fire. The sunrises are magnificient and all from the confort of your bed upstairs. The grounds are well maintained and the night life is fantastic lots of beautiful brishtail possums, little wallabies etc. The night sky is magical took ages to find things as there is so much more to see down here than in Sydney. There are two fantastic restaurants just down the road and the food is excellent. Lots to do and see from here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Peppermint Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Ridge Retreat

Address: 290 Woodbridge Hill Rd | P.O Box 23, Woodbridge, Tasmania 7162, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Woodbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Woodbridge
Price Range: £114 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppermint Ridge Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Peppermint Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermint Ridge Retreat Woodbridge, Australia - Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing