We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandria B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexandria B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Wynyard B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Iris room which was very small and dark. Would not be happy to stay there unless just sleeping overnight. Lovely Hostess and yummy breakfast, but would prefer a little extra space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Madeleine G,
Thank you for taking the time to review Alexandria after your 2 night stay with us over the Easter long weekend. I am a bit disappointed in your overall rating of 3 as I thought on check-out you had enjoyed your stay and also the combined ratings of the individual sections equals to 4 and a corresponding Wotif review of 4.2 out of 5.
The Iris suite is situated in the main house and is our second smallest room overall and smallest of the queen suites we have on offer. The size of the room is reflected in the tariff (currently (Apr 2014) at $115 for 2 persons including continental breakfast - served either in room or in the dining room) as well as the facilities (standard) and outlook of the room. It is our only room without river views but it overlooks the back garden. The room can be quite dark at this time of the year when cloudy and rainy especially as the outlook is to the west and the window is relatively small compared to those in the rest of our house. One of the benefits of booking the rooms in the main house is guests have access to the combined guest dining and lounge area to spread out and feel more at home in our home of which I was pleased to see that you did utilise.
Regarding our location, we are only 2 minutes drive (1.5 km) from the centre of Wynyard where all the shops, eating places and airport are located. We are on the doorstep of Table Cape and overlook the Inglis River and enjoy the peacefulness the area has to offer.
We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the area from Hobart.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely accommodation, stayed in the Oak room which is outside the main house. Good size room, clean, comfortable bed. Wall heater which takes a little while to warm up, but does get warm. Not sure if there was an electric blanket but there were two extra blankets in the cupboard.

Breakfast is quite substantial, cereal, toast, choice of other items...note if having cereal and/or toast, that a single serve of fruit and nuts or fruit and yoghurt is plentiful for two. We ordered two fruit and nuts thinking it would be a small snack packet....in fact it was almost two bowls full...so we took them with us for snacking in the car.

The room is near a road, but there was hardly any traffic and certainly nothing that woke us up or hindered comfort of the room.

Excellent room rate considering the substantial continental breakfast. Will happily return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi 2shea,
Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay in the Oak Suite, one of the two suites we offer in our outside cottage. I'm pleased you enjoyed the continental breakfast options on offer included in the tariff especially the serving size - I believe if you are travelling, it's always best to do so on a full stomach! I also try to ensure the food is as fresh as possible.
All of our suites have electric heaters and do take a small amount of time to heat up a room like most heaters do. We don't have electric blankets on the beds as we consider them to be a safety and fire hazard so the doonas are of the winter type, extra blankets are provided and of course heaters in the room. If we know of your arrival time and it is cold, we turn the heaters on prior to your arrival to take the chill off the room.
Alexandria is located on the corner of River and Table Cape Rd which is the tourist route to Table Cape and main access into town across the Inglis River.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Tasmania and hope to see you next time.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Rachel was a lovely friendly Host, Great breakfast set out in the front room overlooking the inlet. At one stage we could hear another guest talking on phone in their room next door.
If you do not like dogs or cats in the house do not stay.
We would recommend this lovely B & B as Rachel will make you feel right at home nothing was a bother and she suggested a few places we could eat at for our evening meal.
Great Chinese take away in town.
Thank you Rachel and all the best with your business, future plans and new baby.
You made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi tina s,
Thank you for taking the time to write a good review for us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Tulip Suite, our largest room in the main house. Unfortunately like most accommodation places, our rooms have adjoining walls to each other and with the high ceilings in the house, some noises do travel. All we can ask of guests is to be respectful of others.
We do have animals as part of our family and it is their home too. They are allowed in the main house but are not permitted in the guest rooms. We keep them separate from guests as much as possible but all they want to do is meet everyone and make friends.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the Chinese take away from the Toy Sun restaurant in town, they provide lovely chinese food. I was very pleased to see too that you utilised the guest dining area to enjoy your takeaway meal outside of your room which is what we like to see - guests using our home as their home.
We have been doing well lately and bub is growing fast!
We hope we can see you next time you are travelling around Tassie.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband booked this place without help! ha I am so glad he did as this was a five star stay. Rachel was just like a relative and we chatted for ages about the history and the journey they have taken in setting up this great business. Its all in the detail and we had the room separate from the house. It was so clean and had a settling atmosphere after a day on the "road"
She was so helpful in every way and the breakfast was set out in the lovely sunroom with the oak tree waving in the breeze outside.( i think it was an oak..)I had a wonderful tour of the garden and even gained some clippings of a plant that i liked! Thanks Rachel and i hope the new baby is good and you are no doubt a great mum. We have recommended you to all we talk to that are heading your way. cheers

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slendabenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear slendabenda,
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it, as well as you telling everyone about us if they are heading our way, we couldn't ask for more! I loved having you stay with us as well as chatting gardens as I'm learning so much from guests the best way to garden as well as the name of the many plants we have! I've recently learnt the tree outside the dining room at the front of the house is a cherry blossom (more green in colour) and it is in full bloom now. I only hope the cuttings have transplanted well in your garden, ours are still flowering!
We're still waiting on bub, due any day now and we are very excited to welcome her into the world and bring her home to Alexandria.
We hope you had a safe trip home and hope to see you again next time you are in Tassie, even just to pop in for a chat or coffee.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I found myself having to travel to Tasmania at short notice, and found the Alexandria b&b on the Wotif website and booked it as it seemed like the best value for money on the Wynyard area. Once I discovered I was going to be delayed arriving, I rang and a very friendly Rachel assured me that wouldn't be an issue, and informed me they upgraded my room free of charge. I found the room warm and inviting as well as very clean, tidy and comfortable. In the morning I met Rachel and found her most hospitable where nothing was to much effort and she proceeded to cook a wonderfully tasteful and filling breakfast. I would recommend this establishment to absolutely everyone and I will be back with the family as the first stop of our next Tasmanian trip. Thank you Rachel for a great, warm and pleasant stay.

Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi Steve,
Thanks for taking the time to give us a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and chat about classic cars and Ballarat. I hope the trip back home went without issues and the boat trip wasn't too rough. We look forward to meeting your family next time you are in Tassie.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The other accommodations in Wynyard were full up and never having stayed at a B&B before we decided to give Alexandria a go. We had no expectations.
We were met at the car park and instantly treated like family members.
Rachael showed us to our room and then to the dining area. Nothing was too much trouble.
On arriving back later in the evening Rachael met us again, She advised us that other guests would be coming in late and apologised in advance for any inconvenience.
The room and en suite was clean and heaters were on when we returned. Shower was modern with lots of hot water on demand.
Breakfast and coffee were ready for us when we arose in the morning.
Rachael was quick to respond to our every need.
Can recommend to others, we will return.

Peter & Lois

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Peter and Lois,
Thank you for your great review and apologies for the delay in replying. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and chatting about our new found connections in Tasmania. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the area with the lunch you had on the following day. I hope all is well and hope to see you again for the next photography conference in the area.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We only stayed 1 night with RACHEL, pity we would have loved to stay longer, but we had so many places to see. The room we had was lovey and bright. Breakfast was very enjoyable and filling. If ever we come this way again we will definiitely come and stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 627sarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear 627sarah1234,
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, even if it was just for one night. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast as our aim is to make it an enjoyable experience in our dining room and to ensure you don't need lunch so you can keep on seeing the many great places Tassie has to offer for the day. We hope you had a safe trip home and please come again if you ever visit Tassie again.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
11.0 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 4 in Wynyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
11.0 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wynyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandria B&B

Property: Alexandria B&B
Address: 1 Table Cape Road, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandria B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria is a gracious Federation style home built in 1905 on the banks of the Inglis River 1.5 km from the Town Centre of Wynyard and Burnie Airport, in North West Tasmania. Whether you're looking for an adventure, a rest or working, Alexandria is the place for you offering a quiet location to relax and enjoy the surrounding cottage gardens or venture the local attractions of the North West Coast of Tasmania. There are 5 suites available for guests all with a private ensuite. Three are situated in the main house and two are situated amongst the beautiful cottage gardens. All suites have views of the gardens and the uniquely ever changing Inglis River.We are also a Function Venue for weddings / receptions; photo sessions; business meetings / workshops and team building days; high teas; community group events and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alexandria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandria B&B Wynyard, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing