We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How good is this” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Wynyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“How good is this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for work in late March. Little gem of a place. On the river's edge, and within easy walking distance to the nearest pub for an evening meal, and the city centre. I had a room that caters for disabled, not that I needed it, and it was good. Room had been updated and bathroom was excellent. Did not partake of the in house breakfast, but others were.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomwehereInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi SOmewhereintheworld

You missed the best bit! Breakfast! So glad you enjoyed your stay. its a magic spot, particularly in the early morning when the sub is beaming down the river- if you can get of bed of course!

Thanks for taking the time to review our little property. We try really hard to make our guest' experience memorable and enjoyable. Hopefully will see you this way again for breakfast next time.

Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    87
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
139
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We travelled here after a long journey from Hobart, and the lovely young ladies at reception were so cheerful and welcoming. They were happy to take our room service dinner order in advance, and even offered to pick up the tray afterwards.

The room was nice although it took a bit of getting used to walkers and joggers walking past our front window!! Still, the view of the waterfront was charming. The Waterfront is very close to the airport, so very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi degrassifan

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. yes there are a lot of joggers and runners going past- but we are lobbying the council hard to get a proper walking path for them rather than using our driveway. But I guess it all adds to the experience! So in the future it will be a little less on top of you! So glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to make everyone feel as comfortable and relaxed during their stay as possible. I will pass on your feedback to our lovely reception team- they will be thrilled.

Thanks again and hope to see you this way again soon
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't let the appearance of the exterior of the motel put you off. As others have noted, the outside of the motel looks tired, but the location is fabulous - right on the water and with beautiful views across the riverfront and beyond.

The rooms have been updated and it is clear the owners have made a huge effort to modernise the interiors and provide a high level of comfort. The bed was fantastic and I loved the retro bits and pieces that gave a homely and welcoming feel.

Adjoining the motel is a beautiful park with stunning views to Table Cape and beyond, and the main street is a short stroll away. It was a very peaceful place to sit and relax after a long day.

All the staff I met during my stay were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, and breakfast in the restaurant was great. I will definitely stay at the Waterfront when in the area for work in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Manager at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Chocolatelibrarian

I want to visit your library! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We are working on a few ideas to spruce up the front, so stay tuned! We are constantly doing things to our little motel to make it better for our guests. I've been banned from buying nick nacks for the rooms for awhile though! But I couldn't resist two retro park benches for the back garden area..... We basically aim to make sure everyone feels like they are coming to visit their long lost rellies from Tassie, so our home, is your home.

Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Absolutely loved this place. This is a fabulous location. My husband and I stayed here for one night on the 22nd February 2014. We stayed in room 4 with a lovely waterview, which all rooms seem to have.
The motel didn't look much from the outside however we were pleasantly surprised. The mattress was very comfortable and surprisingly so were the pillows. Not many places have comfortable pillows. Thanks for that. The bathroom had been nicely renovated and supplied soap and shampoo on tap in the shower.
We had a great deal for the night which included the most amazing buffet continental breakfast we've seen and two pushbikes. We loved riding the bikes along the promenade with beautiful water views.
The room had a microwave, toaster and jug and a supply of the usual tea, coffee and milk plus hot chocolate. Mugs were also supplied instead of just tiny cups so we were able to enjoy hoy chocolate in a mug.
The owners were super friendly and helpful. They even posted my phone charger back to me when I left it behind.
Our only real disappointment is that we didn't stay longer.
If we come to Tassie again we will definately stay here more than one night.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a waterview. Stay more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Manager at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi LynneM

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to add in all the bits extra to make our home you feel welcome and comfortable! We spent an absolute motza not that long ago on new beds and extra big pillows, because our business is of course, making sure you are getting a good nights' sleep! So if we achieved that, I'm pleased. Glad you took the bikes out too- they are super fun and great to pedal along the foreshore with.
Hopefully see you this way again soon

thanks again for taking the time to write a review
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Service was terrific.
Rooms very comfortable.
Beautiful location. (Name completely accurate!) Rooms open directly onto the riverfront pathway.
Make sure you have the oven-baked bacon for breakfast.
One of our best stays in Tassie.

Room Tip: The more westerly rooms face the water a little more directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi mattandlana

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Our bacon is getting quite a reputation, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's sourced locally and smoked the old fashioned way by our local butcher. So extra yumm!

Hope to see you again some day
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a wonderful spot!. The room was clean and to be able to take our little dog with us for a weekend away was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the great breakfast each morning in the lovely dining room which had a great view topped it off. Congratulations!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Lesley l

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We love breakfast around here, so we go that bit extra to make sure there is something on our Buffett for everyone to enjoy. Perfect way to start the day!

Hope to see you again someday
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkley Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The staff from arrival until we left were just the best in our 2 week holiday to Tassie,
Loved the location - was great value for money. One of the hi-lights was the cooked breakfast on our last day. Requested crispy bacon - was the best I had in 40 years of being in the business cooked by one of the waitresses. the staff were exceptional Melissa [I think her name was] from arrival was so charming & pleasant - nothing was to much trouble. The two young ladies were great and real asset to the business. We will be staying here on our next trip - just love the area - so much to see and do. The Rhododendron garden in Burnie is a must.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi Edmond g

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our little property. So pleased you enjoyed everything including the crispy bacon! I have never had it done like that anywhere else and I think it's the only way to cook bacon and believe it or not, we get people coming back just for the bacon at breakfast! Our staff are absolutely amazing. I agree wholeheartedly. They are a terrific group of people who really pride themselves on their professionalism and ability to make our guests happy. We always go through feedback together so they will be thrilled to read your comments as happy guests make us all happy.

See you again soon

Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 4 in Wynyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wynyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Property: The Waterfront Wynyard
Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing