We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be surprised!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the The Waterfront Wynyard. The room was cozy, comfortable and very well equipped, we loved the complimentary chocolates. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The restaurant/communal area was a warm and welcoming place to eat dinner and have a few drinks and the continental breakfast was amazing!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z00n73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi zoon73

Thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our deluxe rooms. We like to put in little extras to surprise our guests in a good way!

Hope to see you this way again soon
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    98
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
161
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Booking was a breeze to make and very accommodating for our late arrival on a Sunday evening. Views are great and atmosphere relaxing. Also, staff offered extra assistance with an email requirement and printing of documents for us that we had accidentally left at home. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi angelaW

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are always happy to do whatever we can to help out our guests, or make their stay with us easy and enjoyable.

Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback, helps us to stay on top of our game!

Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room was bigger on the inside than it looked on the outside - a bit of a tardis :-) My partner uses a manual wheelchair and we travel with a shower chair. The room and bathroom were both wheelchair accessible. No airconditioning was probably our only issue (arrived during a hot spell in Tassie). The area itself is very wheelchair friendly too. There is a good flat walk/push along the wharf area and further. The Hotel at the top of the hill behind the accom (yes I did have to give him a push to get up there) deserves a recommendation for food and service - easy roll back down to bed. Staff at the Waterfront Wynyard were very helpful when I was booking, when we arrived and during our stay. 5 stars!!

Room Tip: only one disabled access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi sue b

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. I'm so glad our equal access room was suitable for your husband. We took. A lot of care to make it as accessible as possible within the confines of the older style building envelope. It's not perfect, but it seems to work for a lot of people with access or mobility difficulties. We are currently building a new 2 bedroom unit that if fully disability access compliant which will offer even better accommodation for those traveling with mobility difficulties.

So glad you enjoyed the pub fare, they do an awesome JFK !

Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The ocean and river views from the front door were great, the room was adequate and reasonably spacous, but our room needed to be renovated and the exterior needs to be sprused up. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, while the continental breakfast,which is included in your room tariff, was simply amazing with a large variety of options of good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Chris l

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are currently giving the front a bit of a spruce up, so hopefully will look a bit more inviting within the confines of our 60s style motel. We are working our way through all the rooms to put new bathrooms in all our rooms, which we hope to get done by the end of the year. The facilities are basically the same in each room, but the fittings are a bit older in some of our more budget priced rooms. We hope to get them all up to similar standard and similar pricing by the end of the year.

Thanks for your feedback, hope to see you this way again.
Regard
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for work in late March. Little gem of a place. On the river's edge, and within easy walking distance to the nearest pub for an evening meal, and the city centre. I had a room that caters for disabled, not that I needed it, and it was good. Room had been updated and bathroom was excellent. Did not partake of the in house breakfast, but others were.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomwehereInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi SOmewhereintheworld

You missed the best bit! Breakfast! So glad you enjoyed your stay. its a magic spot, particularly in the early morning when the sub is beaming down the river- if you can get of bed of course!

Thanks for taking the time to review our little property. We try really hard to make our guest' experience memorable and enjoyable. Hopefully will see you this way again for breakfast next time.

Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We travelled here after a long journey from Hobart, and the lovely young ladies at reception were so cheerful and welcoming. They were happy to take our room service dinner order in advance, and even offered to pick up the tray afterwards.

The room was nice although it took a bit of getting used to walkers and joggers walking past our front window!! Still, the view of the waterfront was charming. The Waterfront is very close to the airport, so very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi degrassifan

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. yes there are a lot of joggers and runners going past- but we are lobbying the council hard to get a proper walking path for them rather than using our driveway. But I guess it all adds to the experience! So in the future it will be a little less on top of you! So glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to make everyone feel as comfortable and relaxed during their stay as possible. I will pass on your feedback to our lovely reception team- they will be thrilled.

Thanks again and hope to see you this way again soon
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't let the appearance of the exterior of the motel put you off. As others have noted, the outside of the motel looks tired, but the location is fabulous - right on the water and with beautiful views across the riverfront and beyond.

The rooms have been updated and it is clear the owners have made a huge effort to modernise the interiors and provide a high level of comfort. The bed was fantastic and I loved the retro bits and pieces that gave a homely and welcoming feel.

Adjoining the motel is a beautiful park with stunning views to Table Cape and beyond, and the main street is a short stroll away. It was a very peaceful place to sit and relax after a long day.

All the staff I met during my stay were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, and breakfast in the restaurant was great. I will definitely stay at the Waterfront when in the area for work in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndyc100, Manager at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Chocolatelibrarian

I want to visit your library! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We are working on a few ideas to spruce up the front, so stay tuned! We are constantly doing things to our little motel to make it better for our guests. I've been banned from buying nick nacks for the rooms for awhile though! But I couldn't resist two retro park benches for the back garden area..... We basically aim to make sure everyone feels like they are coming to visit their long lost rellies from Tassie, so our home, is your home.

Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wynyard
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Property: The Waterfront Wynyard
Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing