We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see”

West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Zeehan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1963 the West Coast Heritage Centre Zeehan has continued to grow and offers visitors a comprehensive experience and understanding of the history, heritage and culture of the Tasmanian West Coast. Visitors can experience everything from an Edwardian picture show in the historic Gaiety Theatre to the modern day underground mine simulation as part of their visit. The galleries and exhibits highlight the efforts of the pioneers', both men, women and children who carved an existence from the remote wilderness in search of Tasmanian mineral wealth and developed the region as we know it today.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

An Aladdin's cave of history - just too much to take in. Personally, I am glad we went here after Strahan, the boat trip down the Gordon River and a visit to Sarah Island. I think it would have meant less to me than going to the Heritage Centre first.

2  Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Almost missed this and very pleased we did go. Very interesting photographic displays of the area history which gives a great appreciation of just how developed this entire area was. Many static displays of equipment from hospitals, mines etc as well as a women's display which gives insights to the early people. The Gaiety Theater is worth seeing and again fascinating.
A highly recommended place to see where you need a few hours to do it justice.

2  Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful. Superb exhibits of mining and daily life in the late 1800s, including the extraordinary Gaiety Theatre. Many of the exhibits are priceless pieces of history. Do not miss this if you are in the neighbourhood.

2  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

A deceptively massive museum, thought it was smaller than it was, so much to look at. The theater was beautiful and amazing. Loved the Freemason exhibition and the rocks. Wished we had more time : )

1  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Walk through the doors and enter an era now consigned to the history books, an era where steam was king, electricity was a novelty, and survival from day to day was often a battle. You can marvel at the absolute resilience of the Tasmanian West Coast people, and empathise with them as you temporarily place yourself into their lives. The beauty of it is that you can walk away after the experience, while they had to live it on a daily basis.

1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip V, Manager at West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast of Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan also viewed

Zeehan, Tasmania
Zeehan, Tasmania
 

Been to West Coast Heritage Centre, Zeehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing