We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought was a nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lakewood Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hebron
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Marys, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Thought was a nice Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed for 3 nights only had one issue we put sign out to have room serviced and was not service the first day after we stayed. I went down and said something to manager and I told him all we needed was more towels and he went and got us more

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revmgrdesiree, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Veronica R,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Again, I apologize for missing service on the first day but I'm so glad the rest of stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    43
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
26
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a decent hotel but there are a few factors to consider. First, it's a ways off the interstate...not right at the exit as usual. Second, it has no elevators. I have to carry about 30-40 pounds of stuff for work, and after traveling all day, the last thing I want to do is lug all that up stairs. The hotel looks rather new, so I don't understand why they didn't install an elevator. Third, it's non-smoking. For those of us that smoke, it's an inconvenience. Last time I checked, smoking was legal. As I said, the room was nice, with a comfortable bed, reasonably fast wifi, and an acceptable breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revmgrdesiree, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Elkayandboro,

Thank you for staying with us last month. I am glad that you enjoyed the room, wifi, and breakfast. I do however understand that it can be troublesome to care heavy things upstairs. Next time we can definitely provide you with a ground floor room or we are also happy to provide you with assistance bring your items upstairs to your room. I do understand that it can be inconvenient to smoke outside however we actually were one of the last in our market to convert to smoke free just this year due to lack of demand for our smoking rooms. We do hope you will return i the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Enjoyed a very relaxing night after a 9 hour day of highway driving. Room was clean & comfortable, pool was cool & refreshing, staff very pleasant & helpful. The dinner tip to try Clay's Cafe was excellent. The cafe was only about a 1/2 mile away, and the food was very good. Clay's homemade ice cream was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DONNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree M, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Donna F,

We are so glad that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyable swim with us during your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for sharing the tip about Clay's Cafe with our guests as well. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Best Western Plus AKA "Lakewood Inn" in Hebron, Ohio, is a strange hotel. It isn't bad but it's strange.

The first clue was the sneaky upcharge on the reservation. I was there as part of a wedding and the couple had negotiated a special rate of $99 per night. However, the reservation clerk insisted that "the best I can do is $101.15" plus tax. He wore me down. What's another $2.15 in the grand scheme of things? I should've taken it as an omen.

The second clue was the "No Guns" sign on the door. Amusingly, the hotel is next to a sporting good store that sells hunting rifles. It's well within rifle range. But you can't take a gun into the hotel. A hunting crossbow that will shoot through a wall is OK, however.

The third clue was the draconian usage-policy sign posted above the lobby computer provided for the guests. No game-playing is allowed, and mis-use of the computer is punished by a whopping $100 fine. Yeah, if it was my hotel, and if a customer absent-mindedly played a game of solitaire while waiting for a business file to download, and I then hit that customer with a $100 charge, I'd ban guns in my hotel too.

On one of the back outside doors, the security card reader wasn't working. Judging by the battered condition of the taped-up sign announcing that fact, it had been broken for a while. Fortunately, that door didn't close properly. You had to pull it closed and the person before us hadn't. So anyone could get in without scanning a key card.

One of the lights in our room didn't work. No big deal. Overall, I got the feeling that the hotel manager waits for guests to report problems instead of pro-actively looking for problems.

On the plus side: The room itself was clean enough. The mini-refrigerator in the room was nice and quiet. Usually I have to unplug a rattling refrigerator in order to sleep, but this one was OK. The beds were comfortable although the pillows were a little lumpy and the hotel skimped on blankets. Despite earlier Tripadvisor reports, the pool looked clean.

This hotel charges about as much as a Hampton Inn, but you don't get the Hampton Inn quality. Next time I'll drive a few miles north on 79 to the Hampton Inn in Heath/Newark.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. The people upstairs were friends who are small and known to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KetteringTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree M, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear KetteringTraveler,

Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. I do apologize that we no longer had the wedding rate available. We have group rates available until 30 days prior to arrival contractually, however we did offer you a 25% discount off our rate for the day to get you as close to that rate as possible. Please understand that the "no guns" sign is strictly for the safety of our guests. We do allow law enforcement guests to bear arms with Identification. We are taking care of the security card reader asap. I am glad that you did enjoy your room and the pool. We appreciate your feedback to help us continue to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were lucky to find this spot in a storm! Friendly staff, good clean quiet room, reasonable prices. The management and front desk staff were helpful, and went above and beyond to help us. Overall a great start to our family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree M, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Meti2014,

We are so glad that we were able to give you a wonderful start to your family vacation and keep you out of the storm. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted at the door with an overflowing ashtray full of cigarettes floating in rainwater and trash spilling out of the can. The downspout was loose and blowing into you as you enter the door. The pool room had thick cobwebs with dead bugs and some kind of feces in every corner of every window! The bathroom floor was dirty, with thick crud in the corners. The dirtiest hotel I have ever seen!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree M, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Wendy S,

I am so sorry to see your review. I assure you that we take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and we are an UltraClean certified hotel. I do apologize for the rain issues as the weather got pretty severe due to the high winds. We did not hear from you at the hotel during your stay but we do inspect our rooms regularly and I have made sure that no one else will have this experience. We do strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and do not take these issues lightly. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a lovely surprise !!! The tour I'm on booked this hotel for me and I am not familiar with the area, so I was pleasantly surprised by the welcome I received, the room and the local area.
I was given the greeting of an old friend.....my room was not only clean and large and well appointed, but it had a HUGE jacuzzi tub as well.
There were SO MANY treats all around my room. The fridge was stocked with not only complimentary water, but soft drinks also. There were sweet treats on my bed to insure I have sweet dreams. And HOW NICE to have 70 television channels to choose from. (I never have been able to understand why hotels give only 10 or 20 channels.)
There is a beautiful lake to enjoy only a few miles down the road and a Kroger grocery store and a few restaurants right next door. The hotel is surrounded by well groomed grounds and a large lush lawn to enjoy on a sunny day.
So if this part of Ohio is your intended destination or you just need to pull off I-70 after a long days drive......make this your resting place !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinaKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree M, Manager at Best Western Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear AustinaKeyWest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about the many things you enjoyed during your stay with us. We do provide cookie, mint, popcorn and water in all our rooms to make sure our guests have a few nice surprises and extra conveniences in their rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebron
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
7.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
8.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lakewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lakewood Inn

Property: Best Western Lakewood Inn
Address: 122 Arrowhead Boulevard, Hebron, OH 43025-9463 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Hebron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hebron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lakewood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2013/2014 recipient of the Best Western Chairman's Award for Quality Assurance. This is Best Western's highest honor for outstanding quality standards. Free popcorn, cookie, and mint in all rooms. Stay at this Hebron, Ohio hotel located less than a mile from Newark Industrial Park, four miles from the National Trail Raceway and five miles to the Newark Heath Airport. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Lakewood Inn, situated in central Ohio, where guests will experience the best in comfort, convenience and customer service all for an unbeatable value. This Hebron area hotel features 70 well-appointed guest rooms, including whirlpool suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television with HBO(R) on a 32-inch LCD television, MP3 player alarm clocks in all rooms as well as wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests are welcome to a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning before relaxing in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. This hotel also features upgraded amenities including a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting space accommodating up to 35 people. The BEST WESTERN Lakewood Inn is conveniently located just two miles from Buckeye Lake which offers fishing, boating, swimming and jet skiing in the summer months. The BEST WESTERN Lakewood Inn is also located less than seven miles from key area attractions such as the National Trail Raceway, the Heisey Glass Museum and several corporate locations including Renosol Seating LLC, the Newark Industrial Park and the Mid-Ohio Industrial Park. Hotel guests will enjoy taking a short day trip into Columbus to visit the many attractions in the state's capital, only 35 minutes away. Our location also provides convenient access to several local universities including Denison University, Ohio State University-Newark and Central Ohio Technical College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lakewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebron Best Western
Best Western Hebron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing