We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went Racing at Nelsons”

The Historic Hiram Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Hiram Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hiram B&B and Inns
Willoughby, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Went Racing at Nelsons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is great. Very clean, good value and friendly staff. My only complaint is that I found this place looking for a bed & breakfast. Now I know the Hiram does a continental breakfast, but it is still a very disappointing selection of food. Just grab breakfast somewhere else and your good to go.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room it;s worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Inn is a perfect place to stay whether you're going to the college for meetings or just visiting the area. Large rooms with fireplaces some with Jacuzzi tubs for just $10 more. Breakfast was always fresh and they were always willing to cater to any needs. Every morning Jill had a bowl of fresh blueberries to go with the continental breakfast that was a nice touch. They even helped us with our laundry one day which was going above and beyond. I would highly recommend this bed-and-breakfast to anybody staying within 30 miles of the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseminary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Whether visiting the college or just passing thru the area, you'll enjoy this inn. The rooms are modern but maintain the historic feel of the era. The staff have always been very helpfull and courteous. There's several places to visit depending on your liking. Shopping, winerys restaurants or historical. Doable distances from Warren, Youngstown, Akron and even Cleveland. Sorry no pool but a great place to rest and unwind. The kids will probably be board. Continental style breakfast is available but no inhouse restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyOfHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Historic Hiram Inn is a beautifully restored, well appointed lodging located at the corner of the Hiram College campus. The rooms are decorated in traditional colonial styles, augmented by flat screen TVs, coffee makers, and wireless Internet. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast is a nice touch. I've visited only when the college is on break, and it is very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Thanksgiving Holiday and again just recently. Very quiet when Hiram College is not in session. Very close to many area attractions such as Candlelight Winery,Main Street Restaurant in the old watermill, Aurora Farms Outlets and Burton's Red Maple Inn. Rooms were clean and cozy fireplace adds to the charm. A quiet stroll through the Hiram College campus or catch a fine dinner and a movie in Garettsville less than 10 mins. away.
Also a fantastic location to have a conference or meetings. Breakfast was exceptional and staff were friendly.Beautiful trees in the fall.We will stay again.

Room Tip: You can choose a room with a jacuzzi. Rooms are upstairs need to climb the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn while I attended my 50th high school reunion in a nearby town. It was a lovely stay on all accounts but where it was most outstanding was the helpful, friendly staff. They went out of their way to help me with the logistics of my reunion and helping me with the sites I might see in Hiram.

Room Tip: I did not use room service or the spa so cannot rate those. My only problem was for breakfast the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Charming place. Large, comfortable room. Unlike many places, the place does justice to the photos. Stayed there during the weekend of Classic Fest at Nelson's Ledges and it sure beat camping. Homey, unpretentious and clean. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiram
10.4 mi away
The Aurora Inn Hotel & Event Center
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lordstown / Newton Falls / Warren
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Southeast Streetsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Punderson Manor Lodge and Conference Center
11.0 mi away
Red Maple Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Hiram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Hiram Inn

Property: The Historic Hiram Inn
Address: 6867 Wakefield Rd., Hiram, OH 44234
Region: United States > Ohio > Hiram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hiram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Hiram Inn is perfect for romantic and honeymoon accommodations, family reunions, special occasions and corporate retreats. Experience the rich heritage of the historic Western Reserve in each of our individually decorated rooms. Enjoy an evening stroll as street lamps illuminate the buildings and courtyards of Hiram College, reminiscent of New England, weaving nostalgia from past to present. The scenic Pioneer Trail opens countryside treasures of Western Reserve homes, farms, produce markets, and Amish life. Enjoy local artisans, historic places, antiques, fine dining, home cooking, wineries, covered bridges, biking, canoeing, sailing, parachuting, auto racing, quarries, parks, amusements, hot air ballooning and premium outlet shopping to name a few attractions! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing