We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST place to buy apples and pies in NW Ohio”

MacQueen Orchards & Farm Market
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
254 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The BEST place to buy apples and pies in NW Ohio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We frequent this Orchard and Farm Market primarily because of their awesome bakery. This of course is a secondary reason for the Apple Orchard. In the fall it's actually hard to get in due to all the visitors. The crowds seem to grow each year and it's primarily because of the quality of their events, food and of course apples.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The apple fest was terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We came here to enjoy the apple fest and discovered it to be a huge disappoint. Fist we had to park a long distance away. Secondly, the lack of vendors to eat at was really bad. Only a few vendors offering food. Thirdly, they had all the crafters crammed into a tent and you could not even walk around in there. There were so many parents pushing strollers that it made it impossible to walk around them when they decided to stop and look at something or talk to a friend they just met up with...ugh. If you wanted to pick apples you only had the option of picking a bushel or something like that. It's only my girlfriend and myself. We didn't want to pay $20 to pick apples because there was no way we could have used all the apples. They should offer the option to pick smaller amounts or by weight. When we asked if was an option to pick a smaller portion the worker said we can go to the store and and get some there. Anyway this place use to be a really great time but it has dwindled down to offering nothing and being overcrowded. We will not be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelhawk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoleon, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rude staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I went to McQueen's apple festival. We'd been there before and enjoyed the day. Although we went early in the day, my husband, a polite, quiet person, was still angry that evening from how he/we were treated. Parking was atrocious, and when he asked if he could park in a certain spot, he was barked at...literally...by an older man who clearly hated being there. These people need to remember who pays for their living and who owes whom! Later we got something to eat and stood to the side to listen to the music. We turned around to a middle-aged man telling us to "get out of the way," and rudely gesturing at us so he could take a picture. He was also a worker. Shame on them. The food signs were actually underneath the counters on food stands, so we didn't know what we could order til we got to the front of the long long lines. A young staff said this had been addressed in former years but ignored. We are close to retirement age and go many places. Neither we nor our families or friends will be going back to McQueens!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place for family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

There is just something about picking apples that can create an experience you will remember. Not only do you leave with apples, but they have a great market as well. Like Apple cider? They have the best around. The bakery does a great job and the apple fritters are the best!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Apple everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lots of good things made from apples as well as apples. One can not leave without buying some type of food. Very casual.

Helpful?
Thank Florian10112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacQueen Orchards & Farm Market also viewed

 

Been to MacQueen Orchards & Farm Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing