We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had potential but........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Holland
GreenLeadersBronze level
any Margaritaville anywhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had potential but........”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The set up is very nice. The rooms are large with full kitchens and for the size the prices are reasonable. However, the property is showing its age and could use a face lift. Of course if everything was new the price would probally be much higher. I would describe most all aspects of the property from cleanliness to breakfast as good, but could be better. Overall I would give this property a C.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINS-up-CANCUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    169
    172
    171
    231
See reviews for
377
168
61
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I loved this hotel. It was very quiet peaceful and homey. The staff were nice. The breakfast was good. The rooms are like miniature studio apartments complete with kitchens and supplys to cook and clean with. housekeeping comes daily and its a great price. My boyfriend comes in from out of astate and we stayed here for almost a week because i currently live with my parents. we were worried about this place because of the price and the reviews but it was nothing like what others had said. It was a great place to stay and we hope to come back if we can catch another great deal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can only imagine that this place is like living in a Ghetto. A drunk man had passed out in the courtyard 20 feet from our door. He was there for hours until I called the police. The woman at the front desk did nothing. The room was old, dirty. Tiles missing on the bathroom floor. Kitchen cabinets with missing drawerfronts. Spiders everywhere. This place need to be torn down and rebuilt. New countertops though. Old furniture, Semen stains on the matresses. Gross.We left after one night. A hangout for a gang of teens causing commotion till mid morning.Don't leave anything valuable in your car. Place looks nice from the highway and the on-line brochure pictures look nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal O, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this fake comment. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holland hotels

Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

For the most part, this place is in dire need of upgrade and proper management. I am in Toledo for a Police Lieutenant's conference
The floor tiles and counter tops were new but improperly installed. The counter tops were measured wrong and we couldn't open the refrigerator unless I pulled it out about a foot from the wall. It was a waste of effort because the fridge was broken and everything would freeze in it. The walls in the kitchen were recently painted but spattered with grease and food particles.The cabinets were falling apart and dirty. The sliding glass door was so warped, it stayed open about an inch on top and had a huge spider's nest in the corner. I noticed this after killing a spider crawling on the ceiling above the bed. The two handymen hired to maintain this property are clearly unqualified and incapable.They are lazy and keep a stash of liquor in a storage shed that they seem to visit every 1/2 hour or so. I Iooked in there. Although the carpets were new, the curtains were torn and threadbare. What bothered me most was that, it seems, half of this property is being rented as section 8 low income long term housing. I spent a few hours last night with a few other police officers running a background check on every license plate in the parking lot. I won't discuss our findings. The clerk was cordial and very attentive. She seemed to be new at her position but really tried really hard and I give her a A for effort. Because of the sort of people who stay here I would not use this property again

Room Tip: This hotel is laid out like a townhouse complex. There are long term low-income welfare tenants h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal O, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay here with us. I appreciate the time you spent compiling this comment. Since there is a manager on duty 24 hours we would have loved to discuss with you your concerns about our property and to be given a chance to fix any of the issues that were within our control. During your stay, we were housing a group of displaced victims of an apartment complex fire so we apologize if this put you under the impression that our facility was "section 8" or "low income". We do not have any complaints of this sort filed at our property during your stay so we apologize for missing the opportunity to make your stay as comfortable and as welcoming as possible.

Our renovation work should be completed by Spring 2014. If you are ever in the area again we surely hope you give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Toledo - Holland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#3 of 6 in Holland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Toledo Airport Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sylvania/Toledo
3.5 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area
Address: 6101 Trust Dr, Holland, OH 43528-9588 (Formerly Studio 6)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Holland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Toledo-Holland is an all suite hotel offering King and Two Bedroom Suites with fully equipped kitchens in each room. Each room has both private entrances and private patios/balconies. Our spacious rooms are 40% larger than the standard hotel room and our full complimentary breakfast buffet offers both hot and cold items. We have both designated smoking rooms separate from our non smoking buildings and we are pet friendly with designated pet rooms separate from our non-pet rooms. We are also ADA compliant with modified accessible rooms for our guests with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Holland/toledo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Holland Hotel Holland
Hawthorn Suites Holland
Holland Hawthorn Suites
Toledo Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing