We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holland
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Carpet was dirty. Blanket on bed had stains and a large hole from a cigaret burn. There are several motels in same area that are probably better. This one is cheap otherwise I don't recommend it. I got there and the parking lot snow had not been plowed and I had to walk though several inches of snow to get to room. Continental breakfast is poor

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Rex G,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay. I want to assure you that our rooms are now being updated with hardwood flooring and all rooms are updated with new bed linens. I do understand that our breakfast is limited, however it is delicious and you can choose from fresh doughnuts, muffins, cereal, toast, and fruit. Please call me at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

It was cheap and the front desk responded to needs, but many issues: smelly room, towel rack fell off wall. Looked like sheet were not totally clean. Iron looked like it had burn marks, so did not use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017


Hello David S,

I do apologize that this is what you encountered during your stay with us. I would like to let you know that my staff and I are continually in the process of inspecting our rooms for cleanliness and are fixing any maintenance issues that may arise. Please contact me at 419-865-6565 so we can discuss your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here because we were just passing through the area and didn't want to spend a fortune. Our room was not clean, and the continental breakfast consisted of stale donuts and cereal. I later found a bedbug in my luggage! My advice is to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraaaaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017


Hello saraaaaaaaaaaaaa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that this was your experience at our hotel. I would like you to know that we now have a full change of staff, and I would like to assure you that are rooms are being inspected daily to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Please call me at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The room was not clean, I have to change the room. Even the changed room was very bad. Wash basin was not clean, full od dust, was afraid to touch anything, I changed 2 rooms, both was bad. I have settle, because I had already paid and I was kids.

Room Tip: I changed 2 rooms, both was bad. I have settle, because I had already paid and I was kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashi Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Shashi Kumar K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize that this was your experience. I would like to assure you that we now have a full change of staff and our rooms are inspected daily to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Please call me at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is old and needs drastic measures to bring it to even budget standards. The breakfast was sparse at best. We slept a little late, and wanted to just grab a piece of fruit and go, we did, but meanwhile there were at least 4 sign that said No take outs. Food must remain in room, and that ilk. The same desk clerk who checked us in at 5:00 PM, was still there, same clothes at 8:30 AM. He had obviously slept there. All in all it was a run down dump.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Hello linnerone,

I am sorry that this was your experience at our hotel. I would like to assure you that our rooms are in the process of being updated and that if you come stay with us again, I think you’ll be surprised. I do apologize for the signs telling you not to take food back to your room, but it is to prevent spills of coffee and food to the floors and furniture of our rooms. Please give me a call at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The place was not very clean, needed sweeping, mirrors not clean. Bed was ok and clean. The rooms needed updating. We were put in between noisy people. In and out of their cars all night long. We ask to be put in a quiet location. The breakfast was not very good either. Place were to eat needed to be updated. Food needs to be better.

Room Tip: Not very good to go to. Price was good. Good location, near a mall and restaurants but needs updatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Sharon W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that this was your experience while staying at our hotel. I just want you to know that our rooms are being renovated and are inspected daily for cleanliness and maintenance issues. I do apologize about the loudness of other guests. If there is a room preference you have next time you come into town, I can be sure to accommodate you. Please give me a call at 419-866-6565 to discuss your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Purposely booked this hotel because of the in-room hot tub, to use after riding a motorcycle for about 9 hours. The raised hot tub had NO step to get in. I am not short, but we both had a hard time getting in and out and it is actually quite dangerous.
The 'gentleman' who checked us in was arguing on the phone with a potential guest as I now read from others. The only 2 good things I can say is that the towels were very soft and the a/c worked really well.
The room is very dated, and did not look like it was a clean as others we have stayed in that are part of the Choice hotels group.
I would seriously consider renting somewhere else if you have a choice.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WINGGIRL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#3 of 6 in Holland
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Toledo Holland
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Toledo - Maumee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Toledo - Holland
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Toledo Airport Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1201 E Mall Dr, Holland, OH 43528-8466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Holland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holland
Price Range: £38 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Holland
Holland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing