We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mystery dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Julia's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hubbard B&B and Inns
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mystery dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We went for mystery dinner. We were emailed character info and I brought costume prop items in my purse as I didn't know if others would get dressed up. 5 other couples were there all dressed in character. Food was excellent!! Evening was entertaining. Would do again. The couple staying there would say the evening was "killer".
Great job to hostess, attentive wait staff, and chef who made a great selection of appetizers and meals!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sharon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having only stayed in one other B&B, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect, however, this place is amazing. The staff was great (thanks B and Chef Paul!) - made us feel welcome and wanted, but not intrusive at all. Our room was gorgeous (Julia's Suite), clean and well-appointed; beautifully decorated, but not fussy. You could practically take a swim in the jacuzzi! Since it was our anniversary weekend, we spoiled ourselves with the chef-prepared dinner for two. (Where else can you have your own private dining room?) The food was delicious, all the way from the first course to the decadent dessert. It is located on Pine Lakes golf course, which we played and enjoyed. We were even able to enjoy a glass of wine on the back deck. Overall a wonderful, relaxing getaway and we can't wait to go back! Hoping next time, we can book the couples massage.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Julia's with two other couples. We had a good time and especially enjoyed the deck that overlooked the golf course. It was a great place to relax and spend a few hours with family, food, and conversation. When we first arrived, we were very impressed with the B&B. The rooms were attractive and inviting. However, as we spent more time in our room, we noticed that it could really use a good cleaning and freshening. We noticed dead gnats on the window sill when we raised the shades, lots of dust on the bathroom fixtures and behind the radiators. Also, the coffee pot hadn't been cleaned out when we went to use it in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and bedding was clean and fresh. The spa tub was very nice, too, and also clean. Breakfast was delicious, too.

Room Tip: Julia's suite was very big - a little bit higher rate, but the space made it well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmksmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I have only stayed in a few other B&B's, but we were somewhat surprised by the lagging quality of the facilities and the nonchalance of the staff when we arrived at Julia's. Maybe this place is nice for Ohio, but compared to other places we've been it's definitely not of the same caliber. Our experience here made us ask the question, "Are we spoiled, or is this place mediocre?" Perhaps, the answer is "both."

The entrance is in the back, though you have to figure it out on your own because the sign is obscured by some bushes. We were asked to pay for our stay up front, even before we saw the room we were staying in, which stuck us as unusual. This policy doesn't exactly exude confidence, more of a childish "no takebacks" mentality to what they offer. So 5 minutes in, and we were already feeling unwelcome!

We stayed in the "Victorian" room. Upon our arrival, the thermostat in the room read 80 degrees. All the rooms have window A/C units, but ours was either not turned on in anticipation of our arrival or not functioning properly. The wood paneled bathroom smelled and felt like a sauna and remained uncomfortably warm until the next morning. We tried to call the front desk to address the heat issue and ask questions about the internet password (which incidentally is 30 digits long), but after several tries over the course of 15 minutes, we got no response. At this point, we were thinking, this place is either understaffed or too comfortable/complacent.

Now for perhaps the most important aspect of our stay...the breakfast. Despite the fact that Julia's advertises an "Executive Chef" on staff, he was nowhere to be found at breakfast. Our meal of cheese omelets, hash browns, and bacon was prepared by a sweet woman named Bianca. However, it was clear that her skill in the kitchen was limited, or that she was putting minimal effort into the meal's preparations. The potatoes were purchased frozen in a bag. The peaches were the kind that you get in middle school; canned and stored in syrup. The biscuits were not made from scratch. Frankly, I felt lucky that the omelet wasn't made with Velveeta. It was just disappointing.

The situation at Julia's is far from dire - I'm not advocating for a Gordon Ramsey-esque intervention. However, there are several things that could be done for minimal cost to update the rooms and motivate the staff. Reality is, Julia's is situated on a lovely property with a gorgeous gazebo and a wonderful golf course less than 100 yards away. It has the makings of a really cool place. Here are two basic recommendations in sum: 1) The staff needs to at least pretend like they are excited to be there. 2) Brighten up and modernize the decor so it doesn't looks so sad and dowdy.

Room Tip: Go big or go home with this place. The more expensive rooms seemed to be worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA31313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Julia's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We appreciate guest feedback. We always expect a much better guest experience than the one you've had and are very sorry. Our staff takes great pride in our facility and we enjoy our profession very much. We are reviewing your issues internally and are working on ways to improve every guest experience. Although our chef services are listed on our website they are directed to the special events offered and even the romantic dinner for two option for overnight guests, but we still expect a high level of breakfast being served regardless of who is making it on a daily basis.
Because Julia's was built in 1875 window air units are necessary but we were unaware of your units malfunction and have replaced it. We are continually the only AAA Four Diamond B&B in the area because of our standards of cleanliness and amenities and are committed to those standards. The next time you are in the area we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Plantation Room on our wedding night. Since we checked in late after the reception, we didn't get to fully utilize all they have to offer. The room was beautiful and very Victorian looking. We did get to use the jacuzzi, which was really nice. We didn't get to watch any TV, but there was a nice library of DVDs to choose from. The shower was nice, the bed was awesome and really comfortable. Breakfast was French toast and sausage, and it was really good. I wish we could have spent more time there, but between getting there late and having to leave for our honeymoon, it was really limited. I would love to go back. I just checked for availability on our first anniversary, but they are all booked. :-/

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzledazzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

As seasoned travelers both domestic and abroad, we were surprised by the cold hosts. So much so that we departed 1 day early. You'll need to get past the unfriendly owners to enjoy this place. The other staff is friendly, the rooms well appointed. Not in the mood for rudeness? We recommend any of the other dozen B and B's in the area. We've tried them all and had far far better experiences.

Room Tip: As for a room on the golf side (or rear) of the building. Be sure to confirm everything is in worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Julias is at the end of a quiet street beside a golf course. So immediately you feel the peace. The rooms are all very nice. The inn keepers gave some good recommendations for things to do in the area. Breakfast was over our expectations but appropriate for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hubbard
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North
#20 of 35 in Youngstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Penn-Ohio Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Avalon Inn and Resort
Avalon Inn and Resort
#3 of 7 in Warren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Youngstown W - I-80 Niles Area
9.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sharon/Hermitage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julia's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julia's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Julia's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6219 W Liberty St, Hubbard, OH 44425-1345
Region: United States > Ohio > Hubbard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hubbard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Julia's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hubbard, Ohio, Julia's Bed and Breakfast sits on the lush outskirts of The Pine Lakes Golf Club. Julia's holds six beautifully appointed guest rooms, as well as common areas for guests to enjoy. You can luxuriate in services such as Chef prepared romantic dinners for two, and relaxing and rejuvenating massages. Not your thing, not to worry! Our guests can also play a round of golf, have our staff place wine or champagne, candies, flowers or maybe even a pepperoni and cheese tray in your room at your arrival. We also have board games and over 300 DVDs to choose from. Here at Julia's Bed and Breakfast, we work hard to provide every guest with a relaxed and memorable getaway, whether your stay is one day or one week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Julia's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing