We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic beach”
Review of Nickel Plate Beach

Nickel Plate Beach
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic beach”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

i was there in tne 2013 summer...i recently moved t ohio then and i loved it quiet, beautiful, and extremely peaceful. not over crowd and there is restaurants close by for food in less than 5 min ride. the only negative is the portable potties...but it beats the woods. and they where keep clean. when i visited...ty for the great memories among friends. my kids enjoy the play area and other families where enjoying the volleyball nets, floting devices and swimming. 5 dollar parking fee and i didnt notice a lifeguard on duty but it was nice and quiet day at the lake....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    40
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to swim in Huron”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

You have to pay to park. I think that's great if they put the money back into the beach.. But when we went there were lots of sticks and it wasn't very clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nichole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Photo opps”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I like to duck in here towards sunset and take photographs. I've never had to pay to park, but I'm never there during the heat of the day. It's a scenic little spot off the main road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a great place to enjoy Lake Erie..nice play area for kids. Sand volleyball..great picnic area with grills..only downfall is the porta pots.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liveforsummer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Soak up the Sun”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nickel Plate Beach is a public beach open to anyone visiting Huron. There is a $5 entrance fee per car. There is a small playground, beach volleyball, and lots of sand and sun. Bring your own snacks and drinks with you as well. This is a great place to spend the day as a family- but be aware of the weather and the current because there are no lifeguards on duty, and sadly, accidental drownings happen every summer on Lake Erie.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dirby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nickel Plate Beach also viewed

 

Been to Nickel Plate Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing