We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Got the job done.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Alexandria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Got the job done.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

OK place, near busy rail line. Cedar Point not far away, right next to Route 2. Clean room, but there was a spider in the bathroom. Dining choices immediately nearby limited to fast food, but if you have a car, other options available as you head towards Sandusky and/or Cedar Point.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good view of the Norfolk Southern Chicago Line, ask for an odd numbered room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drawbar4935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at my property. Yes we are just a few short minutes drive from Sandusky, but just down the road from restaurants, shopping and only five miles from Cedar Point If you are in the area again I hope you decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    57
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
80
35
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I haven't had many experiences with Motel 6 that would rate as "Excellent." Or even "Very Good." But this one surprised me so I'm giving it a Good+/Very Good-. We had a large suite-type room on the top floor that served our purposes well. Rooms were decently clean. Nice island separating two sleeping areas where we ate breakfast was very helpful. Carpet in the stairways and the public areas in general were not so clean, so no "Very Good." But still respectable. An easy 10 minute drive to Cedar Point will save you at least $100 vs. what you will pay for a hotel there. And chances are, you will be doing something other than lounging in your hotel all day anyway. So why not? Arby's and Wendy's right at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseVargas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at my property. We enjoy hearing all the different views of our hotel. That way we know what areas we are doing well in, and what areas we have some room for improvement. I'm glad that we were hopefully able to change your mind about our brand! We strive to make every guests stay an enjoyable experience! We hope that you come back and see us again if you are ever back in the area enjoying all the North Coast has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am currently staying at this property and am very pleased with my stay. All of the staff has treated me wonderfully and is very helpful. Emily, the head housekeeper was very accommodating when I asked for extra towels and blankets,she was immediately at my room with them. The front desk staff was very helpful at giving me directions to local attractions besides Cedar Point. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The location and pool are an added bonus. I recommend anyone looking for a cheap and clean hotel to stay come here first.

I had read quite a few of the reviews on here and was nervous about the train noise being bothersome and the trains do run quite often but I didn't really notice them that much. Just ask for a room near the end of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train and you shouldn't really notice it unless the windows are ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us! ! We strive to excel in customer service here and our hope is always that every guest that stays with us will have an enjoyable, relaxing experience. I hope to see you the next time you are back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This overall experience was terrible.The a/c was extremely loud and inefficient.The a/c, window area and room was literally filthy dirty and I called the front desk about it. There was so much grime and dirt, etc. on the a/c filter/unit and the windowsill has cobwebs on it from neglect. The bed was fine, but sheets were stained.The bath towels were completely thread-less and like sandpaper.Then the 2nd day of our stay, there was no hot water, and we had to wait hours for it to work. The room walls must be paper thin, because we could hear our loud neighbors and could bearly sleep because of it. The common areas of this location were absolutly filthy as well.The lobby and elevator looked like it literally never got clean.This whole entire stay was a disaster and we would never use the Motel 6 brand again.I understand the "no frills" policy but the cleanliness is a whole different thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at my property. I’m very disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been and you left feeling unsatisfied . I’m truly sorry and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will work to make sure the problems are addressed. Once again I apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that our hotel is much nicer than what you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My nephews and I were looking for a cheaper place to stay for two nights while visiting Cedar Point before we checked into Kalahari and Motel 6 seemed to fit that bill. Not only was it super affordable but it exceeded every one of our expectations.

The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful during check in. The room itself was where we were blown away. For only $60 per night we had a room that gave us enough space for three men to lounge around and relax which was very surprising. The beds were comfortable, the fridge and microwave were very useful, no carpeting on the floor was a nice change from the usual “ugly motel” carpet people are used to, the little cushioned sitting area by the window was very comfortable and two tables with chairs gave us more than enough room. The ONLY thing I could complain about what that the water pressure was pretty weak. If I did not shave my head I would have had a hard time rinsing shampoo out of my hair. That though is a minor complaint.

The pool was very clean and a nice place to relax before hitting the park the next day. There is also a Wendy’s across the street and an Arby’s next door in case you need a late night snack.

This Motel 6 was my first experience with the brand and has now put it on the list of places I would gladly stay at again.

Room Tip: Get one with a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review you left regarding your recent stay. I'm happy that we were able to exceed your expectations during your visit. We strive to offer a clean, comfortable room at a great price, and it seems that we are meeting those expectations! We love hearing all the feedback that we can get and use it to improve our property so that we can make everyone's experience a good one. We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel met my expectations. I was looking for a decent, cheap, pet friendly hotel close to Cedar Point. The room was small but clean. It doesn't have any bells and whistles, but it had a decent bed, a tv, small table and chairs, closet, and a cute window seat. The shower was just hot, there didn't seem to be a way to make it less hot. The towels were thin but did the job. The bed just had 2 pillows and a thin blanket but was comfortable. We were right across from the elevator and didn't have an issue with noise. There is a train the runs really close and is very loud. I guess it doesn't run at night because I didn't have an issue with it waking me up. There's a pool and what looked like a hot tub, but I didn't get a chance to check it out. There were lots of pamphlets in the lobby and the clerks were helpful with any questions I had. They also have discount Cedar Point tickets available.
There's an arby's in the same parking lot and Wendy's across the street. A gas station and Burger King are just on the other side of the highway. Cedar point was about a 15 minute drive away as were other restaurants. There a few spots to get to the lake just a short drive away so don't forget to check that out too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very kindly for your review regarding your recent stay with us! I'm glad that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. Our location is very convenient for finding spots to eat, and other activities to do while you are in town. We strive to have great customer service and to make all of our guest feel welcome during their stay with us. Again, thank you for all of your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We want to be sure and acknowledge the above and beyond service our son received at the Motel 6 in Huron, Ohio. The manager on duty that night literally saved our son's cross-country trip.

Evidently, one of his friends shut the seatbelt in the door, causing the car light to be on all night, and inadvertently drained the battery. When the got up to leave the next morning, the battery was dead. The manager offered to jump start their car for them, and they were able to be on the road within a half hour. Thank you so much to that manager, and we hope he receives a special acknowledgement. Unfortunately they didn't get his name.

And for the record, the hotel was very nicely done, clean and welcoming. A great deal!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words you left about our hotel. We love to hear about any experiences our guests may have had! We strive to excel in customer service and to help out in any way that we can. We understand how nerve racking it can be when you have car trouble so far away from home. I am glad that we were able to help them get back on the road to continue their cross-country trip! We are looking forward to seeing you again if you happen to pass through the area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Property: Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Address: 601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sandusky - Huron is located off I-2 exit Rye Beach Rd. Amusement parks, golf and the beach are within 3 miles. Our smoke-free modern rooms include a 32 inch LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, conference room and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing