We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good place for a family reunion”
Review of Plantation Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Lucas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still a good place for a family reunion”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is the 2nd time we have had a family reunion here. This time we only had 8 and only rented the 4 bedroom house for 5 nights. Still not deluxe accommodations, but very comfortable, spacious and adequate for our needs. The lake level was lower this time, so there was a lot more beach to swim and sun on. Grounds are well kept and the property is relatively quiet, making it easy to relax. Beds are comfortable and linens were clean. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean, but very cold. It is suppose to be heated, but wasn't. Very pet friendly, but don't let them run loose or the owner will threaten to shoot them. This was actually said to my wife (in front of witnesses) by the owner. Yes, pets are suppose to be on a leash and ours wasn't while I threw a ball for him a few times. The owner saw him, but said not a word to me at the time. He waited till later when I wasn't around. Not very good customer relations with that comment. This was the only negative encounter we had the whole stay.

Room Tip: The 1,3 and 4 bedroom houses are far off the road and closer to the beach. They're quieter also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weblose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    8
    11
    17
See reviews for
36
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we stayed here on our way from Chicago out to the east coast. We wanted something that was a little more scenic and fun than a motel off the turnpike and picked this place because of the location on the lake and next to a forest preserve, hoping to take a walk or hike in the morning before we got back in the car for the day. The weather was rainy and cold, so we only took a quick walk down to the lake in the morning. The beach area we saw was only about 30 feet wide and was polluted with an old pier -- mangled metal and block. Maybe there was another access point. We stayed in one of the little hotel rooms -- it was kinda dingy and there was no coffee pot and no coffee in the main office until 8am or later. But it's a small, independently owned/operated business... they are nice and friendly and the other guests we met seemed friendly, and had been there several times before. The pool seemed nice. The owner made a comment about having some new mattresses in some of the rooms, so you might want to call and ask for recommendations for which room to select.

Room Tip: ask about new mattresses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We went to this place over July 4th. The cabins here are so cute and they have big cabins so you can bring the whole family. It is in the country but just minutes to all the attractions. We loved the peacefulness here and the view of the Great Lakes. Highly recommend this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Get a bigger cabin for a better view and ask for a queen bed or no smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet, convenient and comfortable and we really enjoyed our visits with the owner. We were thrilled that it was right on the lake and pet friendly. We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We wanted to stay on Lake Erie - so I picked this motel because it is right on the water. I shouldn't have. Our room was dismal - vertical blinds provided privacy but no light control. Since there was a light fixture (filled with dead bugs) outside our door, I could have read all night without the bedside lamp. Both beds had hair on the sheets (maybe it was just static cling - but regardless - ICK!) The towels and washcloths were probably clean - but were a dingy gray (and tiny). And, to top it off, the room smelled - musty, dirty? - I don't know - but it wasn't a pleasant smell. We were glad that it was only for one night.

As an aside, there are no decent restaurants open on Monday night. We had dinner at an ice cream stand - Pied Piper - after finding that the restaurant recommended by the motel manager turned out to be closed..... I believe that there may have been a Domino's open as well - but having just left wonderful pizza in NYC, I couldn't bring myself to eat there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed one night and found the Plantation Motel a nice, friendly place to stay. The room was clean and updated. We walked to the Lake Erie overlook where they have a fire ring and enjoyed a glass of wine with a few nice people... what a change from a big highrise hotel.. There is a relaxed, casual atmosphere... not high end accomodations. Basic clean hotel room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a motel room near highway...small cottages are closer to Lake Erie. There are a few ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiejames_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had booked a few days to stay heree in July 2012 and canceled in reply to our reservation email. The Plantation did not receive this notification & called us the day of to see when we were arriving. We got their voicemails the next day & called Tom back to inform he that we canceled & could forward him our email showing we did notify them. Tom was extremely rude & we could not get a word in edgewise. He said he was going to charge us one night for our rental (Over $300 had already been billed to the credit card on the day we were supposed to arrive before we even spoke to Tom). He let us know that he doesn't have time to check all his emails (btw this is a way that people submit reservation requests). I informed him I would forward him the email. Instead of being professional & stating that he could check over his emails just to be sure they didn't miss something he hung up on me. I called back & once again could not speak because Tom proceeded to tell me his life story about how he had a bad morning & that we should have compassion for people (I work in Hospice) & that someone is dying of cancer and continued to rudely ramble on not letting me speak & hung up on me again. To sum it up it is not our fault that he did not receive the notification due to his lack of time to check emails etc... He handled this situation very poorly & now we have to deal w/the credit card company & file a dispute (some compassion charging the card the same day of our orig. Arrival date before speaking to us the next day). He let us know thatnks for making him lose $1,200.00. Who treats possible customers like this. I've never spoken to a professional that was this bad. Don't stay here because apparently life situations seem to trump the fact that this is a business. Apparently the customer is wrong in Tom's eyes. When we return from our amazing trip in the Dells we will be forwarding Tom our email & I hope when he sees it he can re-consider how he speaks to people in a professional way & handles his operations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
16.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
287 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sawmill Creek Resort
12.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Motel

Property: Plantation Motel
Address: 2815 Cleveland Rd E, Huron, OH 44839-9717
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plantation Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our wooded 5 1/2 acre grounds, and walk down our lane to our beach, a beautiful panoramic view of Lake Erie. Our accommodations offer a view of Lake Erie and Cedar Point Amusement Park. When at Cedar Point be sure to ride the new Rougarou. We have 1, 3, 4 Bed Room Furnished Homes on the water and 28 units, 13 having 2 double beds, and 2 King rooms, all with showers and TV's. Ten minutes from Cedar Point Amusement Park and Sandusky Ohio. Along the shore of Lake Erie, Cedar Point is visible from our beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Huron
Plantation Motel Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing