We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Upon arrival, it seemed ok. The lobby seemed tied, but comfortable. Checked in and was quoted a price, which we agreed to pay. Upon checking out, there was a day charge of $9.95 for swimming towels, which we were never near a pool. It was NEVER disclosed to us that an extra charge would be added to our bill each day!!
" it is just a charge we charge everyone". Well tell me when I am checking in!!
The first night the alarm had an issue of shorting out and at 3:30 am and every five minutes after that it went of as if electricity was surging. Thank you that we were able to finally unplug it.
The fan in the bathroom made so much noise, they came and completely removed it.
The bathtub was slippery, it was dangerous.
We were warned not to eat there, but the good thing was the walleye sandwich and the nice waitress.
They mentioned they were dog friendly, but the walking paths do not permit pets!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    111
    90
    68
    52
See reviews for
129
107
5
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Paid cash by the pool, at check out they tried to charge my room, "how did they get my room number?????" $ 70.00 charged to credit card with no details????? Called and was told it would be removed.....three weeks later and many phones calls no refund, I have left messages for nancy in book keeping and owner Jeff neither one have called me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huron hotels

Penfield, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our lodge room was not clean. Cobwebs (thick) on top of all the lampshades. Bathroom floor had hair from previous guest(s). Beds are very lumpy. Bed making consisted of sheets and quilt thrown back on the bed and the mattress was not centered. Coffee cups from day before were still where we left them and the next morning from grounds in the coffee maker and the carafe not washed. The tub is very slippery and there is no place to grab in case of a slip. Also no soap holder in tub area. Breakfast not inexpensive and not good. Eggs over easy were tasteless and very runny. Toast came pre-buttered and I think it was sprayed on as the toast was very dry. The salt shaker top was encrusted and the salt almost solidified. This was caused by humidity. Asked for another salt shaker and the 2nd was the same as 1st. The other couple in our party....their used wet towels hung up for next day & no coffee in room.

Room Tip: Would be very surprised if there is a good room on the place. Next door to Cedar Point so easy to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenkfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Sawmill this past weekend for my stepdaughter's wedding. The facility was VERY crowded but the staff were all friendly and very helpful. The wedding was on Lake Erie and the location was a ways from the lodge but the buses were readily available anytime we needed them. There was a lovely courtyard for cocktails and the reception room was large and clean. The food was hot and tasty. I enjoyed the lodge feel of the hotel but I think there could be a few updates made to the rooms including queen beds and refrigerators. If we head up to the Huron area again we would definitely consider staying at Sawmill Creek.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrappin_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were almost frightened off by the many bad reviews of this hotel. However, we booked through Expedia and got a decent price for a room where we could fit 6 people. The room, with two double beds and a pull out couch for two, was the same price as a room at another hotel in Sandusky. However, we would have had to book two rooms for six people instead of one, which saved us a lot of money! The room was plenty big enough for one adult, and 5 teenage girls. We came armed with our air fresheners based on the previous reviews, and never needed them. We never smelled anything funky, and we walked through the entire hotel. The decor was cute, lodgy and Native American. They have a beautiful fireplace lobby, with multiple fireplaces and couches. The pools appeared to be very nice, although we did not have the opportunity to use them as we were at Cedar Point all day.
The hotel is very close to Cedar Point, another thing we were worried about. It is a straight shot right from the resort to the causeway leading to Cedar Point, and took less than 10 minutes to get there. We arrived in the dark, but the driveway was nicely lit. We did eat breakfast at Salmon Run, and found the food to be fairly good.
We did not make full use of the resorts activities, so cannot really comment on any of them. We simply stayed here during a visit to Cedar Point. So if that is what you are looking for, you will most likely be happy. One caution, we booked through Expedia and were not told that we would be charged a $10 resort fee on top of the nightly rate. Also, the pull out bed is quite uncomfortable. But for the price, we were fine with that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLKKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed there for four nights while there for a softball tournament. The beds are TERRIBLE uncomfortable. The pool was overcrowded and dirty. There were little kids running around unsupervised at all hours.
I would never give this place higher than 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabbyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Took a mini vacation to the Sandusky area and decided to stay at Sawmill Creek in nearby Huron. We stayed in one of the suites and were very satisfied with the room. The resort has a very nice outdoor pool area as well as indoor pool. There is also a sand beach that the hotel guests can use. The beach was a bit of a walk, but the bellman can give you a lift on a golf cart. There are also several restaurants and a deli on site. My only complaint was that the deli was closed early Sunday so there was nowhere to grab a quick bite or drink while at the pool. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our staywas very and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
11.1 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
287 reviews
19.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
7.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing