We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawmill Creek Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serene and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First visit to Sandusky (daughter at Collosacon convention). Beautiful location near Cedar Point but outside the busy hotel zone. Gorgeous grounds, all you could hope to do, nice trail. Room is cushy like home. Windows open!!! Good food, nice pools. Couldn't be more relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobiesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    110
    88
    65
    49
See reviews for
126
103
5
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at Sawmill Creek Resort over Memorial Day weekend. Nice people. Well maintained - looked like the people who worked their cared. But just not great. There was very little information about what we could and couldn't do. Were the bikes for rent or borrow? Were their boats to rent? What restaurants were opened when? We could have asked the front desk all these questions, but they were completely understaffed - it would take 20 minutes to reach a live person every time we called the front desk. Mostly this was just annoying but when our kids clogged the toilet it really wasn't ok that we couldn't get it fixed. Also - be warned. When you make reservations on line it says a $10 resort fee per stay, but they charge you per day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelShust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huron hotels

Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We never been to Sandusky before and road the motorcycles down for Ohio Bike week. We are in our 50's and wanted someplace away from the party so we could have the best of both worlds. . Sawmill Creek Resort took us by surprise. We wanted for nothing! On site restaurants, bars, golf course, marina, coffee shop, gift store, boutique, private beach, tennis courts and there was probably more we didn't even know.. The décor is right up my alley with an indoor log cabin feel and with native American décor. LOVED THE LOBBY FIREPLACES and outdoor patios. So much comfort in and out of the hotel. Sure it could use a little upgrading in the rooms but the comfort was there, and it was clean. We are going for our 2nd year now. I don't think other hotels can offer near what Sawmill does. Their Salmon Run restaurant food was excellent and a real fun band on the weekends in the lounge.
If you go Ohio bike week your only like 6 or 7 miles away from the block party-ask for the bike week discount price!
The only thing I missed was a hot tub. it was cold at night and a hot tub would make this a 5 star resort in my book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawmillcreek, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Sawmill Creek Resort for your stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed all that we offer. Sawmill Creek Resort prides itself in providing a wide variety of things to do and see while here. Our Black Bear Saloon features live music every Saturday and Bike Week is something that draws people to the area. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Was here for a family reunion and thought that it was great. Wish there was an elevator near our room. The fact there wasn't made it cumbersome to load and unload our things. Other than that it was a beautiful area on Lake Huron! If they updated the rooms this could be an outstanding place!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband wanted to surprise me with a romantic trip to Cedar Point and a resort style hotel. He booked here based on the website and their claims of top-notch luxury. He paid a few hundred dollars for us to stay here, too. What a rip off and disgusting place to stay! The decor has not been changed or updated since the place opened in the 70s, I would assume. Every thing looks old, faded, dusty, and dirty. I will never stay here again if I have a choice. I'm sure there are much worse places to stay, but this one I would not repeat. They are way over-priced and leave much to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank batgirljami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked 2 nights at The Lodge, and was very apprehensive after reading previous reviews. These 1-2 star reviews couldn't be farther from the truth! This property is a hidden gem in Huron! I honestly don't think staying in a 5 Diamond rated hotel will make some of these travelers happy. From the second we pulled onto the property, a total sense of serenity envelops you. The staff at the front desk made check-in fast and painless. We had a Fireplace room with 2 double beds and I was asked if I had any preference of the location of the room. I told the clerk that this was our 1st time here, so it was up to her to provide a good choice. She didn't disappoint, giving us a 1st floor room overlooking beautiful pine trees with the golf course in the background. The room was spacious and welcoming. The restaurant in the hotel served excellent food whose price is commensurate with that of a resort on a gold course. They offer a short tour of the property and even though the person that normally does the tours was off that day, one of the front desk employees offered to take us thru the property anyway. Addressing the reviews that say this hotel is "dated"...I saw not much "dated". The design of the resort is American Indian and a Lodge. Plushy chairs and fireplaces...very cozy.
The only things that prevented me from an Excellent rating was that the mattresses were a bit worn and the wait staff at breakfast lacked promptness and personality. In fact, one waitress was very rude.
Bottom line, a nice hotel with a golf course and easy access to a walking trail thru the adjacent Nature Preserve.

Room Tip: Take the short tour of property offered at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We attended the Easter Buffett. While the food was adequate, the service was mediocre and pricing was deceptive. Also, we watched waitress put lemons in the drink with bare hands after cleaning tables. I question the cleanliness. I would not return.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
11.1 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
279 reviews
19.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
7.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Property: Sawmill Creek Resort
Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing