We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for very cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Independence
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK for very cheap”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rate on this hotel was very inexpensive- almost half anything nearby or in Cleveland, so as the saying goes, you get what you pay for - I needed a room as I was running the Cleveland Marathon- needed to be relatively close so I would have time to drive in and park before the race prior to 7am- so that is why I chose this hotel -
The hotel is quite a way down Brecksville rd- almost to where it becomes I-77 again- we missed it the first time by as there is a Mexican place right in front of it-
RIght next door is a dump or quarry or something- shielded fairly well by the trees in the parking lot- but we saw a stray cat as we went in and when we mentioned it to the manager she said, "oh yeah, there are 4 of them"
The main doors were broken so the side door is taped so it always opens- so no secure entry - this door opens right to where the elevators are-
The manager was nice and got us an extra blanket- which was not folded, however when she brought it to us
The room had a microwave (older turn the dial style)
Mini fridge
4 cup coffee maker- only one packet of coffee and it was decaf
the bathroom was very shabby- one set of thin, small towels- the hand towel had holes
I turned on the hot water and the handle came off in my hand- luckily I could screw it back on
the sink stopper was closed with no way to open it, but I could pull it out
the front panel of the sink was missing-
the area around the tub was stained- not inviting for a shower- no bath mat
The pillows were flat and the pillow cases and sheets had holes
the blanket seemed ok - the furniture was dusted and the carpet looked freshly vacuumed- but we still didn't walk barefooted -
our window overlooked the parking lot, so we could see our car
There is supposed to be a breakfast in the morning but since we left at 5:15am I didn't see it
OH and whomever else was on the floor decided to come in at 2am and yell at each other up and down the hallway - not really the hotels fault but not good for sleeping!

Overall, if you just need a place to sleep for a night, its fine- would not stay there more than one night at a time for sure- It is just run down and a little shabby- I just find it hard to deal with linens with holes in them-

Room Tip: no fitness center that I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    5
    32
See reviews for
10
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As a touring comedy hypnotist, I search for the cleanest, affordable room I can find as I perform throughout North America & pay for my own accommodations

America's Best Hotel in Independence Ohio came up as a cheap room that was only 15 minutes from my After Prom high school show at the Independence Ohio Civic Center.

The hotel - Basic, Very EZ check-in & check out. Friendly helpful staff.

Location - safe. Great mexican and american restaurants in immediate area.

The room was clean, very comfortable king size bed, ok shower, nice TV PLUS fridge.

Minuses: YEP , you smell smoke in hallways... Also, the heater smelled of smoke the 1st couple times it kicked on. After that, it was fine.

BEST FEATURE ... well... the old stucco walls reminded me of vacationing in Cuba resorts ... lol,

I travel a lot and find that most negative reviews are from people expecting 5 star treatment at 1 star prices.

This motel is a good cheap nights stay if your just passing thru.

Good overnight crashpad.

My Rating - $65 room at a $59 price ;-)

North America's Most Hilarious Hypnotist, JimmyG!
www.hypnotistjimmyg.com
www.facebook.com/JimmyGsHypnoticComedyShow

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HypnotistJimmyG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Please find somewhere else to stay... this place is ran horribly. The room we were given had no coffee pot, towels, or working fridge. We were moved to another room but it had no working remote control,,,it was cleaned fairly well. when we laid down and pulled the covers back the bedding had too many wholes to count the pillows were not comfortable, our bedding was then changed. We could not wait for morning to come so we could leave!

Room Tip: Just keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Was just going to spend the night and all we needed was a clean place to sleep and shower and get going the next morning; The outside of the motel should be a clue on how bad things would go. Entered the dark lobby and no one was there. Waited 5 minutes for the clerk to show up. Checked us in and we went up the elevator to our room on the 4th floor. The door open, went in and in 1 minute decided there was no way we were going to stay there. This old Days Inn looked like it was renovated taking a half a day at the most to do so. Back to the empty lobby we went to check out and had to wait 20 minutes this time for the clerk to show herself. Thank God there was no problem getting credited for the room. Oh by the way, the breakfast nook was about 20 feet by 15 feet with what looked like only one table and chair there. Spent a comfortable and relaxing night at the Hyatt House. Great place!

Room Tip: Book a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holysmoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

When I first checked in the rooms did not look that bad but after being their for two weeks it was terriable. they did not leave wash cloths hand towels or towels everyday I had too go to front desk to pick them up and half the time the towels were not fit to use because they were still dirty. Some days no hot water, toilet paper was not left or cups. Rooms were not clean very well. They advertised HBO which they did not have. Continetal breakfast did not have much of a selection when they had one.This place sucks and I reccomend no body stays here.

Room Tip: Look for other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we attempted to enter the first room to which we were assigned, Room 411, the key-card worked, but the door was very difficult to open. After several failed attempts, I managed to "shoulder" the door open. The latch was not withdrawing far enough, causing the door to open a fraction of an inch without excessive force. Our online reservation, and confirmation, indicated a King Non-Smoking room for two adults. The room was a King Non-Smoking, but there was one bath towel and one wash cloth that appeared to have been recently used. There was no microwave oven, and no coffee maker, both of which were advertised as being provided in every room. We went back to the front desk and explained the problems. The receptionist apologized and decided that the quickest resolution was to move us to a different room, to which we agreed. We were assigned to room 314. When we entered the room, we find that it is a King Suite, however, based upon the smell of the room, it is clearly a Smoking room. The room does has a coffee maker, a microwave, and adequate clean towels, so we decided to overlook the smoke smell, and went to dinner. When we returned, it was now dark, so we turned on some lights. Two of the overhead CFL lights did not work, and another flashed like a strobe light. I would like to note that we discovered this specific hotel through an advertisement in an Ohio Travel Coupon booklet we got at an Ohio Turnpike travel plaza. The ad claimed that this hotel was "Newly Renovated 2013." The coffee table molding was loose, and there where cigarette burn holes in the bed spread and sheet. It appears that additional renovation is needed.

In the morning, we went to the breakfast nook. There was no coffee. At our request, the receptionist made a pot of coffee. There were bagels on the counter in a plastic bag with a twist tie. Not in the covered storage bin where they should have been and no tongs. In contrast, the waffle maker worked quite well, but there was more maple syrup on the counter than in the syrup dispenser. The counter, in general, was not being kept clean.

We have stayed at several other Americas Best Value Inns previously; two others in the past week. We have always been very satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of these hotels, but we will certainly not stay at this hotel on our return trip, and not likely ever again. In our opinion, this hotel is not being maintained in accordance with the chain's normal high standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We found this hotel in one of the coupon books you can pick up at various rest stops en-route. We've had good luck with these in the past, so we thought we'd give it a try. NOT a great hotel, even at rock bottom prices.

The facility is old, and it really shows it's age. The carpets are stained and dirty, and the place seriously needs a remodeling. This is doubly bad since I read they were remodeled in 2012. The on-line resources I used had pictures that misrepresented the property by 1000%.

The room was reasonable clean... no bedbugs or anything like that, but for the price (even a substantially discounted price) it was not a good value. I will not return

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Independence
Comfort Inn Independence
#12 of 14 in Independence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Independence
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Cleveland Independence
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Independence

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- Independence
Address: 5555 Brecksville Rd, Independence, OH 44131-1524 (Formerly Days Inn Independence)
Region: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Independence
Independence Days Inn
Americas Best Value Inn- Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing