We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a hibachi restaurant”

Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good value for a hibachi restaurant”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good (not great) meal, but worth a visit due to the value of the food that you get. If you go before 6 PM, you can get maki rolls for half price. The down side, is that it's only the plain maki rolls. The other down side, is that they won't seat you until everyone in your party is there, which is understandable if there is a full restaurant. But when the restaurant is not close to full, it's a bad policy. The hibachi meals are well worth it, as the prices are lower than some of the other local hibachi restaurants and you also get pan fried noodles with your meal. The food is quite flavorful, but the chef overcooked the scallops. All in all, a good experience and we will be back when the family is in the mood for hibachi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAWelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, or two!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was in the area on business and passed by Wasabi aiming for another place for dinner, it looked nice from the outside so I turned around and went back and was delighted I did! I'd never had sushi before but the staff were incredibly helpful and the food was excellent! The place was lively whenever I was there and has a very modern feel inside. I ended up going back the next night I enjoyed it so much; would have made it three visits but felt guilty not trying other place! 100% worth a visit if you're in the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Business Dinner April 2014”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The sushi at this restaurant was excellent. I consider myself a pretty good critic when it comes to sushi quality and variety of offerings, and this restaurant had a wonderful, fresh selection. The service was excellent, as the waiter was very informative about the menu and specials for the evening. The value is great. Not expensive at all for what you get, considering sushi is generally on the expensive side. I definitely suggest that if you are in the greater Cleveland area, and enjoy good sushi, this place will not disappoint you. Well worth the visit. Next time I am in the area on business, I will enjoy this restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“more of a show than dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my first visit to these over the top restaurants. This is not somewhere you go for a quiet meal with friends. Food was great, huge quantity, and a bit expensive. I prefer an authentic quiet Japanese restaurant, but most people seemed to really enjoy the food tossing and big fires.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The food is phenominal, the chefs and servers are friendly, and the atmosohere is awesome. The restaurant is ultra clean and modern, and has a very upscale and high quality feel to it. I'll gladly go back the next time I'm in the mood for Japanese food, because it's the best Japanese restaurant in Independence.

Helpful?
Thank HurleyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing