We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews... Ok, if you can deal with an odor and mold!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Independence
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews... Ok, if you can deal with an odor and mold!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night because I had an early appointment at Cleveland Clinic the next morning. We had stayed at the Hyatt (which was great) in Independence last time but were on more of a budget so getting the CC rate was nice at first...

Upon arrival, the front desk lady wasn't the friendliest and it took us a few moments to check in. I asked her if everything was alright with the reservation to which she replied again in not the friendliest tone. Once we finally got checked in, we took our bags to our room (1st floor) only to encounter a HORRIBLE odor in our room that smelled like cat litter. We contemplated going to try and change rooms but had a 4 year old with us as well as luggage and didn't wan't to mess with it. I ended up spraying perfume through out our room just to calm the odor which didn't really do much.

Beyond that, I will say that the room was average and the beds were comfortable. There were random black marks throughout the walls but we tried to ignore them and almost everything was clean. We used the pool that night and it was great for a muggy summer day. That night it stormed and we later noticed that the window sill in our room was soaking wet and there was mold around it and inside the window screen. Sort of raised a red flag.

The next day, breakfast although very crowded was adequate and hot. They had a great selection and we each found something to fill us up. I will say that everyone else we came across at the front desk (minus the lady who checked us in) was very friendly and welcoming. I stay at my fair share of hotels and have never had to deal with an extreme odor and or mold. For one night it was fine but we will probably look elsewhere for our next visit. Had these issues not been a problem, I would say it would have been great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citylove09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation.
YOUR COMMENTS are being reviewed by our hotel management. There are many new
renovations, that will be taking place very soon. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity
to serve you better

Vanetta Zevas
Comfort INN iNDEPENDENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    60
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
58
47
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was a great place to stay for a short visit to Cleveland. The hotel is located about 10 miles south of Cleveland off Interstate 77 in Independence. The surrounding area is an attractive suburban area. It's less then 10 miles from popular attractions such as the zoo, science center, natural history museum and downtown and so it is very convenient to get there. Several decent restaurants are nearby. The rates are very reasonable (and much cheaper than downtown hotels). The staff (especially the front desk) were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was adequate with plenty of variety. They even had some fruit available all day. There is a nice outdoor pool which, judging from the amount of time my daughter spent in it, was very popular. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The maid forgot to come back to clean once but it was not a big deal. Overall it met our needs for our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ-Tennessean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
All my employees will have a opportunity to read the review.
It is always nice to hear that we are doing a good job, except for the little mishap; although it
should not have happend, your understanding is greatly appreciated by all at the Comfort Inn.
Thank you again and hope your next viit will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, KY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very friendly check in and out. Rooms were very clean and inviting. The bedding was wonderful! Had a very good night's sleep. Only mishap was the room a/c didn't work, but the staff moved us to another room right away, with no problem. Would definately recommend this hotel. We were on our way to he Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and didn't want to stay downtown. This was very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your review on Trip Advisor.
Your kind review is always appreciated by all at our Comfort Inn.
It is always good to hear how we are doing.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is situated among several others. It has an outdoor pool that is nice and a good breakfast. The rooms are good sized. comfortable and clean. What made it really nice for us was how accommodating the front desk staff was with directions, restaurant recommendations and allowing us to check out a little later, It is slightly south of Cleveland, but still a quick drive back into the heart of downtown.

Room Tip: There is one elevator. You might want to request being away from it, as it is pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you

On behalf of our staff , your kind review is greatly appreciated by all. It is always good to hear
how we our doing.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Two separate stays during the month of June. Rooms are comfortable and clean, the outdoor pool is nice, the free breakfast every day was delicious. The housekeeping staff was real nice and did a great job. Most importantly, the front desk staff, Cynthia and others, are friendly and so accommodating. My son was not feeling well, they had a bottle of pepto bismol to give him, no charge. We also needed a late check out on one of our stays since our flight to Florida was late in the day. They accommodated us with no extra charge. Cleveland people are terrific and friendly to begin with, and Cynthia and the others at the front desk were so kind to me and my two boys I will never forget their hospitality. The prices here are very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area, and you can't beat the customer service. When I'm back in town, I will stay here again. They make you feel very welcome here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are nice and quiet. We were on the second floor both times. No compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeParrish_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Your kind review is appreciated by all of us at the Independence Comfort Inn.

Thank you for taking the time, it is always good to hear how we are doing

Thank you again

Vanetta Zervas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I would give this hotel a much higher rating if it wasn't made out of cardboard. It was conveniently located off the highway for cross-country roadtrippers such as my husband and I, the rooms were clean, the price was okay, and everything worked fine. However, even a heavy sleeper such as myself spent a restless night due to the extremely cheap construction materials they must have used in this building. Every footstep from our neighbors above reverberated through the room like a bass drum, and every cough from the neighbors to the side sounded like the crash of cymbals. I don't think our neighbors were particularly loud people - but the mere fact that they needed to walk in their room and breathe was more than the soundproofing in this building could handle. Perhaps if we had stayed in a room on the second floor, everything would have been fine, but I can't recommend a room on the first floor without earplugs.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor. At least then you won't have the noise of someone walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USA-rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Regarding your last stay at our Independence Comfort Inn. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Your comments will be taken into consideration by property management.
We rely on our guests comments to help improve our service.
Thank You

General Manager
Vanetta Zervas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Reserved 3 rooms for 1 night for my husband and myself and other family members while in town for an event the following day. The hotel could use some updates, but it was relatively clean. If we were staying in the area for longer I would probably look into other options, but for the price it was ok. Breakfast was included and was decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustKelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about our hotel. Management is working on making many improvements and hope your next stay will be more pleasurable.

General Manager
INDEPENDENCE COMFORT INN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Cleveland Independence
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Independence

Property: Comfort Inn Independence
Address: 6191 Quarry Ln, Independence, OH 44131-2203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Independence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cleveland South/Independence Hotel Independence
Independence Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Independence Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing