We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelleys Island Venture Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were prepared for an average, no-frills hotel experience, but got so much more here. The rooms are spacious, well laid-out, and have the feel of a small apartment with a front and back door leading to a lovely sitting area overlooking the pool.

The hot tub was the biggest we've seen (one can actually swim in it) and the grounds are gorgeously landscaped. The hotel's patio across the street from the hotel, overlooking Lake Erie, is lovely with comfortable and classy lounge chairs and a grill. And, the complimentary cruiser-style bikes were a big plus for us.

Room Tip: We had one of the lesser-priced rooms, but it was well appointed and we didn't feel like we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cyndee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the KI Venture Resort when we ran the 1st annual KI Half Marathon. We have stayed on the island many times, but this was our first stay at the resort. The resort is beautiful, clean, spacious, and the scenery is very nice. Check in was very easy & the staff was friendly. Will for sure stay here in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, Manager at Kelleys Island Venture Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and joining us for our First Annual Police Chase! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed on Kelley's Island for the first time. We came because of a 1/2 marathon the island was having. We had a wonderful time. We stayed at the resort. The staff were very friendly. We had a really nice room that actually felt more like a small apartment it was so large. We had dinner and breakfast the next morning at a little restaurant called the Captains Corner. The food was very good and the staff were very nice. The race did not start until 11:00am but the resort allowed us to come back to our room and shower after the race. For a runner, this is such a blessing to be able to refresh after a race, I can't tell you how much this was appreciated! I would recommend this race and this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S, Manager at Kelleys Island Venture Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for joining us in our First Annual Police Chase! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding our resort and the Half Marathon! Kind words are always appreciated! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This would be a rave review if not for some much needed inexpensive changes they need to make. In our room, all light fixtures had 40W bulbs making everything seem cave-like. We could barely read our books and cross-stitch was out of the question. When we requested higher watt bulbs the response was immediate and much appreciated. No hook on bathroom door! - nowhere to hang clothes when taking a shower! - very inconvenient! No towel bar by the sink! Only towel bar was in with commode and shower. Partially used shower toiletries were not replaced with new ones. These are very small, inexpensive changes that would make a world of difference to the guests! On the plus side courtyard is beautiful with a nice pool, and the suites were spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were very impressed with the level of service provided by Kyle at this resort. The immaculate rooms were equally impressive with a cozy sitting room poolside. The flowers by the pool were beautiful. There is complimentary bike rental so my husband and I rode to the Glacial Grooves--a must-see on the island. The people on the island are very friendly. We would definitely recommend a visit to Kelleys Island and Kelleys Island Venture Resort to others!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice by ourselves., loved it enough to invite friends to spend the weekend up here with us twice and this time we brought our family. Our kids loved it as much as we do. We rented the big Cunningham Suite and a Glacier Suite. We will return. The only annoying drinkers we saw were ourselves and we all went to bed early.

Room Tip: It's a little expensive but you get what you pay for. Clean room, pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emasonry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for two nights. The room was very big with a front room, bathroom, and bedroom. The front room had a refrigerator and microwave. Both the front room and bedroom had a flat screen tv on the wall. The first floor room was a short walk to the pool and hot tub. The pool was very nice, but cold. The hot tub was really nice. We enjoyed it both days. We would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyT1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.4 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
6.8 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
6.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelleys Island Venture Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelleys Island Venture Resort

Address: 441 West Lakeshore Drive, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Region: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelleys Island Venture Resort is the key to your vacation destination. Our beautiful resort sits on the south shore of Kelleys Island. Our outdoor pool and hot tub sit in our spectacular flower and rock gardens. Some of our amenities include bicycles for our guests, a children's playground, beautiful views of Lake Erie, Marblehead, and Cedar Point, and a lakefront lounging deck right on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelleys Island Venture Hotel Kelleys Island
Kelleys Island Venture Resort Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing