We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hosts, perfect loation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This visit was our second visit to the Waters Edge Retreat, and that is just what it is! The wonderful treatment is the topping on the location! This get-away is the perfect location on the Island, and the wonderful treatment is such a big part of the experience! The gourmet breakfasts are fabulous, and the home, and staff are so warm and welcoming. On both of our visits, we were treated so graciously by Willie and Bob, via Beth and Tim, and the stay was exceptional! Make the time to get-away to this Bed and Breakfast, and enjoy!! Highly recommend this "treat"!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the home on the second floor is where we have spent our 2 visits, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were married July 14th, 2012 and traveled to Kelleys Island the following day to stay at The Water's Edge. Awesome isn't even close! Beth & Tim are so much fun and do everything to make your stay relaxing. All the guests are pampered. Not only is their home beautiful, but it's comfortable and very welcoming. We stayed in the Charles Lawrence suite. Our room had a jacuzzi tub, balcony and sitting room. It was private and very clean. We already scheduled to stay next year for 1st Anniversary but next time we are staying 3 nights instead of 2! Love it!! Lori & J.P Lawson

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I have been the guests of Beth and Tim for 3 anniversaries now! We cannot say enough about the gracious hosts Beth and Tim! They will go out of their way to make your stay the most enjoyable. And Beth makes an awesome gourmet breakfast every morning! This is by far our favorite place to go when we need time away from "life" !!! And if anyone is interested all the rooms are wonderful and clean!! We will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Water's Edge Retreat was the perfect place for our Summer, no-kids, get-away. Beth and Tim are gracious hosts and the whole experience was relaxing, flexible and fun. We heartily recommend it to any couple looking to get away for awhile and enjoy the slower pace of the island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Ok, you may say what's with the forks? It was just a fun laugh we had with the amazing owners over breakfast. :D
My husband and I enjoyed the company of our awesome hosts during our stay. Beth and Tim went above and beyond to make our last minute celebration of our 20th anniversary a sucess. We had an amazing time staying here and it comes HIGHTLY recommended. If you are looking for a romantic stay with wonderful hosts, look no further. This IS the place to stay!!

Heheh Beth gotcha to read this one ;p Thanks for your hospitality... we WILL be back!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Being a frugal spender I was a little nervous when I saw the dollar signs but in reality it is probably worth every penny if not more. Upon arrival we were greeted with Sangria and Cheese; which was surprising and very appreciated considering it was after 9pm when we arrived. The next day we experienced what can only be described as a love of cooking. Something you can not be taught. Breakfast was outstanding. In the afternoon more delicious cheese and oh so tempting sangria. Off for the evening; don't forget a sweet snack. I can't wait to go back again and hopefully the weather will cooperate so I can go sailing with my new found friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrugalMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was our first trip to Kelleys Island and the experience was amazing! Willie and Bob were wonderful hosts and fabulous cooks! For a quiet weekend get-a-way Water's Edge is a must for a B&B retreat. We met 2 awesome couples who stayed the same weekend and had a lot of laughs with Chris and Joan. We didn't have an opportunity to meet Tim and Beth this trip but are thankful our innkeepers, Willie and Bob, were there to help us make some great memories! If you have the opportunity this B&B is a charming place to stay on Kelleys Island!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
304 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range: £135 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing