We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waters Edge is a beautiful place to stay and the most peaceful home away from home.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Waters Edge Retreat from the 29th through the 1st of August. Check in time is a little late, at 3pm, but that gives you plenty of time to check out the beautiful views and excellent food that Kelly's Island has to offer. The Waters Edge staff uses that extra time to make the place perfect. It's a beautiful home, inside and out. Every room is peaceful and relaxing. I just read another review from someone who had to have been in a room right beside us and I never knew they were there.

When we wanted to explore the island, Tim Hermes, who runs the place with his wife Beth, recommended every place on the island for each of their specialties: if we wanted wine, go to the winery, there's an excellent pizza place here, this place did excellent ribs when these people owned it... He seemed to know the owners and the menu of every place on the island. We ate, we drank, we were merry, and then we went to sleep in the coziest room I've ever stayed in. The sound of the water here is peaceful and constant, completely different from the shore at the ocean.

Perhaps the best part, however, it's the breakfast. The staff puts out a pretty good spread, all of which is excellent. On our first morning, Beth had made apple strudel. Sadly, the apples on the trees outside the retreat weren't ripe yet, so it was made with bought apples. It was no less delicious however. The next morning there was a spiced apple pound cake. It was moist and amazing. Tim and Beth were there each morning to make sure the accommodations were good for each guest.

All in all, the Waters Edge Retreat was perfect. If you want thrills, the whole of Kelly's island might not be for you, Waters Edge included. If you want great food, views, and relaxation then you should definitely check out Waters Edge Retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothy_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The coffee and breakfast was delicious, and the owners are extremely nice. The view from the 3rd floor was dynamite and it was beautiful to wake up to. They have bikes to use at no cost, which is really nice. They also have golf carts to rent for $12 an hour. The room was VERY clean, and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank cbreinart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This B&B is a beautiful Victorian style home filled with comfortable large rooms, a view of Lake Erie, cooling breezes and fabulous breakfasts! Beth was trained at a well known French cooking school. The owners, Beth and Tim Hermes, work constantly each day to make a trip there a delight every time we go. We have gone there at least once a year for 15 years and never get tired of it. It's definitely got the "island" vibe, laid back and island music at the various restaurants and night life. We have always loved the feeling of being on a real island where people would have to work hard to track us down and disturb our relaxed state of mind. After October each year, Beth and Tim close up the B&B and dedicate themselves to charitable work. They were in Haiti after the disaster, using their boat to take food, supplies, and medication from the large cruise size ships into shore since the large ships couldn't get close to the shallow shore. Another fall and winter, they worked for Habitat for Humanity, but there have been so many charities over the years. These are very kind and friendly people. They are so down to earth, they make you feel genuinely welcome. And they really know how to run a B&B. We have enjoyed many special times on their sailboat with them which was so great. I read the review that said there was no restroom on the main floor and I guess the writer didn't look very hard because there is a lovely powder room off to the right after you enter the front door. Since there is a huge wrap around porch with tables and chairs where many people can enjoy their breakfast with a nice breeze blowing and the sound of waves lapping on the shore just a few yards away. There are rooms other than those on the third floor, so be sure to ask for one on a lower floor if you prefer one. We found the pricing per night reasonable for what we receive. This is the only four star B&B on the Great Lakes. You get what you pay for.

Karen Squires
Columbus, Ohio

Room Tip: There are all comfortable and large. You can't really pick a bad one. The rooms are uniquely de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location outside of town nice and quiet. You can see Cedar Pointe from the porch. Despite being on the third floor that faced South East the room was the perfect temperature all day long despite it being hot and muggy outside. Having stayed at other Bed and Breakfasts on the 3rd floor they can sometimes get very warm. The owner was very nice and chatty, we flew in and it turned out his dad used to work at Aeronca and helped design the Aeronca Champ. Very nice fellow to talk to. In addition to breakfast they do a sangria in the afternoon. Tea is always available which is great for us non-coffee drinkers. The breakfast food was fantastic, good rounded breakfast. The owner was kind enough to drive us to the airport the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice B&B, but greatly overpriced. After the delightful, never ending breakfast buffet, everything else was average. Dining area is too small to accommodate everyone at once. (We were asked to eat in shifts, instead of leisurely sitting at the table.) No restrooms on main floor; I had to climb three flights to answer the call of nature. I've stayed in many B&B's in Ohio, Michigan and Canada. This was the first one that allowed screaming toddlers for 3 nights. This B&B is NOT handicapped accessible. Leave your wheel chair at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Recently stayed three nights at Water's Edge. While certainly it is a lovely place, there are some concerns that travelers should consider. First, if you require a dark room for sleeping, beware that there are small windows above the doors that allow in hallway light. Secondly, you will be able to hear the people above you, including walking, talking, and snoring. Thirdly, breakfast time did not seem to be very flexible. The price of the room is very high for what was offered. Sorry to say but there will not be a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JKTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watersedg123, Owner at A Water's Edge Retreat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are terribly sorry that your stay was not perfect. There are well over 100 reviews on our property and not one makes note of being able to hear the other guests in other rooms. This is over a period of 19 years. It is one of the most commented remarks we receive "how quiet the Inn is". The transom glass is there for decoration and for some light for the hallway. Sorry that it let in more light than you wished. Breakfast is served from 9:00 to 10:00, usually out a little earlier and a little later, along with coffee ready by 8 AM. We would welcome you back to give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a lovely, relaxed, and friendly escape. Our charming room was on the third floor, facing the lake. During the day, the air conditioning kept the room very comfortable. In the evening, and all night long, we opened the windows to enjoy the breeze from the lake and the sound of the waves hitting the shore. During the rainy hours, we relaxed in this beautiful inn by talking and playing games. Never once did we miss the TV! The bicycles provided by the owners worked perfectly, and we enjoyed riding all over the island. The golf cart was a hoot to travel in, and obviously the preferred mode of transportation for most folks vacationing on the island. Morning coffee, preceded by perhaps the best B&B breakfasts we've ever had, was enjoyed on the inn's deck on the lake. We know this is one B&B we'll be visiting again!

Room Tip: The waterfront room we had truly was a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
8.1 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
6.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
306 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
7.8 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
7.9 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#3 of 7 in Put in Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range: £133 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort Kelleys Island, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing