We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

The Inn on Kelleys Island
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Kelleys Island
Ranked #4 of 10 Kelleys Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in the Pilot House room (two double beds and roomy room). The beds were just-right firm and the bedding a delightful collection of quilts that made us feel like we were in an historic place. Pat (the bird watching expert) and Lori (brownie-maker expert) made us feel at home, but they did not hover. Pat did ask to take our picture before we left, and when I look at that picture I remember how completely relaxed I felt (and had not felt that way for a very long time before that trip). Our stay was the last weekend in September, and that Saturday was the last official day of summer. The island really closes down fast when summer is over.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

What a wonderful combination of people food and cocktails being able to walk upstairs after a good time was also great. The staff made our vacation. Best food and service on the island. The lobster roll mussels and steak salad all amazing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sjoneswvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Inn is such a great experience.My wife and I stayed for the weekend.This was our second time staying at The Inn. I had the feeling of stepping back in time.Very relaxing and laid back.Awsome views of the lake and best of all,great owners.Pat and Lori make you feel like family.Also they are full of wonderful stories.Pat spends his time telling interesting history,which intrigues you to explore the island.My wife and I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
9  Thank pintha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The place is old and historic and offers a very quaint atmosphere. The guest rooms were very lovely. The only A/C were window units in the guest rooms, which had not been turned on to cool the rooms prior to our arrival time which was known by the owners. Flowerbeds were overgrown with weeds that wouldn't have taken much time/effort for the owners to clean and spruce up to make things look more appealing. The outside of the inn needed painting - and/or - just a good scrubbing (dirt was on railings, porch not swept, etc.). The front walk had weeds growing up through cracks that could have easily been cleaned out, and the walk nor the steps had been swept in preparation for our stay. Chairs outside had not been cleaned - bird poop. Rooms beyond the guest rooms appeared as if they had not been thoroughly dusted for ages. Also, paying $100 a night, one would expect a good breakfast. We were served coffee w/ creamer packets, hot water for making tea or cocoa, squares of store bought danish, slices of homemade zuchinni bread, and slices of cantalope each morning. Each afternoon there was a plate of brownies set out. While the breakfast was adequate, it still left a lot to be desired given the price we were paying per night.(9 of us = $800, for Sunday afternoon through Tuesday morning) One just would tend to expect more along the lines of eggs, bacon, biscuits, cereal, etc.... (Also, we were asked to eat outside via a note. This sort of thing certainly isn't very welcoming to guests! Oh, and we were greeted by a dirty mug among the clean ones. With dust everywhere beyond the guest rooms, it seemed a very small crumb of food had been an issue?) There was beach access. It wasn't much - old worn out, junky lounge chairs and broken off chairs on a very small wooden deck leading to a rocky beach w/ a fire pit. All in all - the entire place just really needed a great deal of sprucing up (cleaning) and attention. It just appeared as if the owners were also on vacation and doing as little as they could get by with for guest comfort. Our family did enjoy our stay on Kelley's island very much, however, we would not stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Just not well done/kept for the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank m0mmamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is a wonderful way to experience the Island! My husband and I were very lucky in that we hadn't planned ahead to stay on the Island but when passing saw a small sign out front saying room available! We were promptly greeted by Pat and shown the very nice room! The owners have been residence of the Island for 30 years so their knowledge and LOVE of the Island was awesome! We enjoyed our stay and feel like we made new friends, we will start making our plans to return with the kids next time!! We will call in advance to make sure we get a room!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DeannaJimmontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The Inn on Kelleys Island is a authentic Victorian home in a setting that harks back to times nearly forgotten. My husband and I brought our grandsons, ages 13 and 7, to meet up with extended family who were visiting the island. We had the two bedrooms on the first floor which shared a bathroom. The beds were great and sleeping with opened screened windows and doors and a ceiling fan was so comfortable. (Yes, there were air conditioners, but the fresh winds from the lake were so pleasant.) Breakfast included very good coffee, sweet rolls, bagels, homemade banana bread and the best cantaloupe. There was even fruit juice boxes for the boys. The innkeepers are an interesting congenial couple who have an innate sense of just the right engagement with the guests. Pat is full of information on the local flora and fauna - and where to eat as well. The boys loved Willow, the residential cat, as well as watching a mama red-winged black bird feed her baby and the fireflies at night. It was a fantastic experience for our city boys.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peigi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn on Kelleys Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Kelleys Island

Address: 317 W Lakeshore Drive, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Region: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kelleys Island
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn On Kelleys Island Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing