We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting view of the power of glaciers”

Glacial Grooves State Memorial
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting view of the power of glaciers”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to this attraction thinking it would be a wall or ledge with a few grooves in it. We were very pleasantly surprised to find these massive grooves carved into the rock by the movement of the glacier thousands of years ago. It was much larger than we thought it would be. There are informational signs at various points as you walk around the fenced off area. You could spend as little as 10-15 minutes at this, or could take your time reading all the information for closer to an hour. The sad part is that the best and deepest grooves had already been removed by the time the area was preserved according to the information presented. But this is still impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    67
    30
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice for the kids”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This attraction is a quick 10 minute view. There are signs along the short trail around the grooves that explain history, etc. it was cool to see, hard for the kids to grasp, but a great learning experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KendallsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Hand of God”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Glacial Grooves were another reminder of the magnificence of God's world. We rode bikes to the site on scenic streets and roads and then viewed the Glacial Grooves. It was awe inspiring.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eh,”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'm sure it has historical and geographical significance. But I would definitely not visit the island just to see the groove. I really enjoyed the island, but the glacial groove was just "eh."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sensejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“interesting artifact”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

amazing to see what the glaciers were capable of. this is a large artifact showing the scrapes that the glaciers made into the rock. There are plaques around the grooves describing kelleys island in the 1800's when it was first settled. the beach is nearby & worth a stop as well

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank plnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacial Grooves State Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Glacial Grooves State Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing