We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grumpy bartender”
Review of Captains Corner

Captains Corner
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grumpy bartender”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Came here to watch a World Cup game with visiting family. Grumpiest bartender on Kelleys Island. Probably won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannylouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious and our server was fantastic! Great place to stop for lunch. I had a burger cooked perfectly. It's a seat yourself restaurant and we were served very quickly.

Helpful?
Thank carrinz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Illegal tip”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The food was good, service so-so. We left a tip of 10%, using our credit card. I signed the slip myself and lo and behold, when I got home from this vacation, the restaurant had added more to my bill to increase the tip to 20%. If I had wanted to tip 20% I would have. I think this is illegal. There were only 3 in our party and nothing was mentioned about adding a gratuity as is common with large groups of people. I had no way of knowing they did this until I checked my bank statement a few days later. How crooked is this? I will not go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just so so”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The food was okay. The menu is not huge. Nice place to sit and people watch. Probably won't go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsLindsayClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
“Breakfast was awful.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had one bite of my eggs and pushed my plate away. The potatoes were over cooked and hard. The waitress never batted an eye when carried away two full plates of food untouched. She put our bill on the table and walked away. Needless to say she did not get a tip. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1514856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captains Corner also viewed

Kelleys Island, OH
 
Kelleys Island, OH
 
Kelleys Island, OH
 

Been to Captains Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing