We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First and foremost, this hotel is beautiful, upscale and trendy with regards to its interior design and furnishings. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed right down to the granite countertops in the bathroom and the glassed in shower with glass tile...very pretty! I do agree with other reviewers regarding the noise factor. It is a bit noisier than other hotels that I have stayed in as it seems that sound deadening materials were not added in between rooms, floors, etc. I am not sure what can be done about that at this point but maybe there are some options available to them. My daughter and I were there to attend a charity horse show the next morning and we had to be up and out early. We were downstairs by 6:30 am and were hoping to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately, not all of the breakfast items were out yet, toaster not plugged in, etc. We had to wait until the staff (who were very accommodating and friendly) brought out more items which put us a little behind schedule getting to our destination in Ravenna.
All in all, we had a nice stay at this hotel and would stay again despite some of the "kinks" that need to be worked out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410 which was great because we were on the top floor and the very end of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takinasiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we address each and every item taking steps to ensure we deliver a good experience. We look forward to serving you again.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you need a great place to stay while in or around Kent, Ohio, this is it. It is almost brand new, and everything about the place is spacious and first class. Located in the heart of town, we can heartily recommend it. It has it's own restaurant, but we only had the complimentary breakfast (excellent). The bar is wonderful, and features a wall-size flat-screen making it a great place to watch sporting events.

Parking is across the street, but spacious and open to the public.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had an executive suite and it was beautiful. The bathroom was stellar; among the best I've seen at any hotel. The hotel is well maintained, and the location is really nice with lots of dining options. However, one of the primary reasons someone stays in a hotel is to get some sleep. This is really hard to do (at least when we stayed there middle of June) because of noise. There was extremely loud music (a band down the block) playing until well after midnight. Then around 3am, the people staying above our room were screaming as if aliens were attacking. The walls/ceiling are thin...noise is not blocked/muffled nearly at all. Taken together, it was not a pleasant night of sleep. So, the room and hotel are beautiful...and, it's a good thing because you might be up all night staring at the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do manage noise concerns when notified and appreciate this note so that we can continue to monitor moving forward. We are grateful for the opportunity to serve you in the future.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here as part of a recent conference. My stay was very pleasant; the room is nice, great bed, good wifi, etc. My only suggestion is to improve the breakfast. I am a healthy eater, and while there was oatmeal, it was watery and inedible. The other choices were sugary Danish, hard boiled eggs, fruit and yogurt with aspartame. With a little effort (cold cereal, whole grain bagels, regular yogurt), the breakfast could be much better, which would improve the overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do change based upon guest feedback and will address and alter our breakfast based upon your input.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and please call me personally should you need further assistance.

My best,

Michael Riccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent hotel with wonderful rooms and amenities. Easy parking gargage right next door - steps fomr the hotel. Comparable to a Westin or Marriott without the inflated pricing. Very nice hotel with high end accomodatons. Looking forward to my next opportunity to stay. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and please come visit again!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visiting my daughter at Kent State this hotel was convenient to campus and the shops etc. of downtown; she could walk to meet us after class and we could visit restaurants and shops nearby while waiting The rooms were great and the amenities wonderful. Added was the convenience of in and out privileges for the parking garage for a small fee...this was an added bonus! Perfect also for people with limited mobility...the walk-in shower was greatly appreciated. It was a great place to stay and we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Allyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and please check our webpage for specials!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at The Ohio State University's Hotel, Ohio University's and many others and this is by far the pinnacle. The hotel was stunning, it is modern and sophisticated, yet appealing to the college crowd. The hallways have some very interesting designs but it is a good interesting. The room numbers feature Kent State University landmarks/buildings which is nice as they have a pride about the University. The room was very nice and I sleep with a white noise and I did not hear anything. I missed breakfast and ate with a friend on campus, however the hotel is immaculate and just an awesome addition to a rapidly growing university. The pool and gym was better than what you usually see and the pool looking on the street was really nice to sit calmly and meditate with the action going on around. I would send my kids to Kent just to be able to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: High floor is my way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiltonpeople2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank yo for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#2 of 8 in Kent
325 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
6.7 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Southeast Streetsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 215 S Depeyster St, Kent, OH 44240-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range: £93 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The culmination of years of planning and collaboration between Alumni, University Officials and the Kent State Foundation, Kent State University Hotel and Conference Center provides the finest in accommodations, superb dining, libations and meeting facilities all adjacent to the Kent State Campus.Our fully-integrated facility offers the utmost in hospitality for faculty, alumni, students and their families, and of course, visitors to the charming community of Kent. Perfectly situated in the heart of the city, our Kent, OH hotel is just a short stroll from bars, restaurants, shops and galleries…all the fun things to do in Kent, OH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing