We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very gross”
Review of Econo Lodge Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kent
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I am disgusted that I paid over $100 (plus tax) for a room. I am very happy with "budget" hotels. However, this place was filthy. I was horrified when I got to the room. The smell of smoke was overpowering. Other issues in the room that were problematic: the light by the door did not work -- I had to search around for a light that worked. The floor was filthy, the linens were stained. The chairs were covered in stains. The corner of the room had wallpaper that was stained and billowing out, as if it had severe water damage. It looked like that wall was melting. I will never forget this EconoLodge experience, and felt a visceral, sickening response when seeing the EconoLodge sign as I drove by other exits on I-80 this weekend. That hotel is a disgusting pit. The girl at the front desk was very nice -- that is the one positive thing that I will say.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

I Came to Kent, Ohio for a horse show, and I wasn't very concerned about a fancy hotel, so I invested in a econo lodge. Unfortunately, I was completely let down. Number one, the pictures on line are VERY misleading. It is in a terrible Neighborhood (not recommended for families!!) and it is not very clean. Not only do the smoking rooms reak, but the whole hotel (even the non smoking) smells like cigarettes. The vent in my room was caked with resedue, and made it smell worse. The appliances didn't work (hair dryer, fridge) and the room did not have an iron. The drain was completely clogged, and the walls were stained pink? (I don't even want to know...) and, there was only one useable outlet in the room! Not very good if you have to charge\plug in items! So, in my opinion, do not book a room here... Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jea3196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The staff were very nice to me, the room was clean & quiet; I don't really need anything else. I liked that there was a fridge and microwave in the room, and I liked the widescreen television. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was good enough, i.e. waffles, bagles, juice, coffee, etc...I'll be staying here again if I have to do any more work in Kent. I did have a non-smoking room, so I guess I can't really comment on the smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I"m a frequent guest at this hotel over 100 plus nights a year for the past 10 yrs. I"m always treated with respect and all my needs are met or exceeded. In summary this hotel is a great value for the business traveler or family vacationer.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Local police have busted several meth labs at this hotel.
Unless your a crack head I would suggest you stay at one of the other area hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were given the same room as Qwerty and his review is accurate, but missing a few things! The side of the building sported a huge banner that says, "Newly Renovated, Free Continental Breakfast, etc., etc., etc.! Their check-in time says 2:00 but is actually 3:00. I pointed this out--they didn't care. Carpet so dirty is feels like sticky dampness! The new renovations consisted of bedspreads, painted over shower stall, plastic shower head with a hose attached to the shower wall next to the remnants of what was the original. A clothes hanger rack was installed over a table so one could use either but not both. The microwave had a turntable mechanism but no tray. Lampshades were dirty and one was split and broken. There was NOT ONE TOWEL BAR in the bathroom--only one end "arm" of what had once held a towel bar. The sprinkler in the bathroom for the fire suppresion system was a total rust fixture. The bathroom fan did not work. Te bathroom light was on when we arrived--we discovered if it was turned off, one had to "play" with the switch to get it to work--AN OBVIOUS SHORT AND FIRE HAZARD. There was also a timer switch in the bathroom that did not work for anything. The bathroom ceiling was cracked and a piece hanging down that looked totally moldy on the underside. We had no choice but to stay and the maid service consisted of making the bed, taking out the trash & leaving towels--no vacuuming, no replenishing of soap, etc., no cleaning of ANYTHING. The place was very dirty. The two chairs were stained and dirty. They weren't useful as one could only be used under the clothes rack and the other could only fit in front of the bathroon door. The luggage rack was missing the straps on one side, so would only hold something small. Thankfully, we carried plenty of Lysol wipes and did our own "sanitizing" as soon as we arrived. There were auto air fresheners in the room and bathroom that smelled like coconut. We were charged $1/day for a room safe we didn't request and didn't use. There were no bedbugs, but something that looked like large black lightening bugs and good sized, black fuzzy spiders with a white dot on their backs. Research turned up a local news article about the police accidently discovering meth labs operating in two adjacent rooms this past summer--guess the maids never noticed!!!! THIS PLACE NEEDS TO BE GUTTED AND REDONE OR TORN DOWN AND REBUILT!!! WHERE ARE THE INSPECTORS THAT SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS?

Room Tip: Carry your own cleaning and disinfecting supplies or STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I've spent more money trying to make the room not reek of cigarettes then the cost of the room. The bed is comfortable sheets are clean though they put a queen sheet on a king.... Really? The carpets feel sticky. The toliet barely flushes. 50 a night I wasn't expecting the Hilton but this is just..... We leave the wind open when we're not in the room. Smells! And we're smokers! Oh yeah totally no hot tub and the pool is only three times bigger than my tub at home.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kent hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#2 of 8 in Kent
327 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
3 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kent

Address: 4386 State Route 43, Kent, OH 44240-6920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range: £31 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kent 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remodeled Rooms,new bed linen,new curtains, new pictures, new pillows, new bed spreads,new sheets,new chairs, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Kent Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing