We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soft on your feet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tufted Duck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tufted Duck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Soft on your feet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Don't be fooled by the outside of this place...it may look a bit like a prison but the rooms are far from it. You can tell they've made an effort to give you all the comforts you need - A dressing gown with slippers, soaps and shampoos; thick, soft carpet. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Loads of channels available on the TV.
I had breakfast included, the breakfast was really nice with everything a person needs.

Our group also had dinner there. The dinning room was very brightly lit and the table was really big for our small group - so we felt a little distant.
The service was alright, you can tell they are make an effort. Some aspects of the food were great, other fell short - I had a Fish pie, and they smothered the top of the pie in some cheap, bright orange cheese.
I also asked for a cold glass of milk to go with my sticky toffee pudding (which was great!) and they gave me a warm cup of milk.... as i said, they tired. It was a sweet gesture because they also put some marshmallows on the side of my warm milk.
Overall, very satisfied - can't speak for value for money because I was here on business so I didn't see the bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renée L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    67
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
71
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I needed a base whilst I was traveling on business in the north east of Scotland. I staid two nights at the tufted duck. I couldn’t find any reviews so was a bit apprehensive. I had nothing to worry about. Great rooms, Great staff Wonderful restaurant, I really could not fault the Tufted duck in any way. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea views are available if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the Sunday Carvery,which was excellently cooked. Top notch beef, gammon and turkey with good accompaniments. Unfortunately, there seemed to be no one in charge of the untrained waiting staff who were inattentive,careless and out of their depth. Such a pity! The management need to address this and do justice to the chef and kitchen who cooked so well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

So lovely to be here and surrounded by the most wonderfully warm service and genuine care. The food is outstanding as is the accommodation and location which is on the coastline of Fraserburgh. For an Australian visiting Scotland - honestly feel very cosy in this lovely property which is clean, comfortable and great value. Thumbs up for the service - the staff are really wonderful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TanyaOzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Can't complain at £20 for 3 courses. Lovely service and the staff looked so smart in their black uniforms. It would better if they offered a 2 course Sunday lunch option as I really wasn't hungry after eating my starter of duck and main of turkey. Also the view could be fabulous but is somewhat spoiled by a monstrous, horrendous looking building blocking views to the sea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massie_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had my son withme for a surprise party, the hotel is nice but its not really child friendly. The food was OK, but given the price per night, I think it could have been better. I think it would have been lovely for a couple or a biggroup of adults.

Room Tip: Assk for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the tufted duck for two nights whilst attending a surprise birthday party. As other reviewers have said, the outside of the hotel is not enticing, but the interior is lovely and the view to sea is spectacular! The staff had gone out of their way to help make sure that everything ran smoothly and that the party really was a surprise. The lovely lady at reception, in particular, was very welcoming and helpful. Lunch was terrific and very cheap! Good selection of food for breakfast and the waiting staff were attentive and friendly. It was clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Combs
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
13.8 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
11.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
23.4 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufted Duck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufted Duck Hotel

Property: Tufted Duck Hotel
Address: Corsekelly Place, St Combs, Fraserburgh AB43 8ZS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fraserburgh > St Combs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufted Duck Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with panoramic coastal views, the Tufted Duck Hotel is located on the North East coast of Scotland, within the historical fishing village of St Combs. Only 40 minutes from Aberdeen, the hotel offers rest and relaxation in its resplendently decorated interior, accompanied by superb dining, fine wines and of course impeccable service. We’re already looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tufted Duck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufted Duck Fraserburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing