We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a step back in time....”

Sherman House Museum
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Lancaster
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Sherman House Museum in Lancaster, Ohio is the birthplace of General William Tecumseh Sherman and his younger brother U.S. Senator John Sherman. This 1811 home features an outstanding Civil War exhibit and Sherman family treasures. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Civil War Preservation Trail and has been a memorial to the family since 1951. The museum gift shop features Civil War and local history books as well as puzzles, games and more.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
357 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“a step back in time....”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

another historical attraction in Lancaster, this was the boyhood home of William Tecumseh Sherman....hero of the north, scourge of the south....the first floor has many period furnishings, along with a gift shop and some WTS memorabilia...2nd floor is furnished as one would expect with trundle beds, an actual civil war camp tent, and a large array of more Sherman memorabilia....civil war or history buffs would be well advised to take a tour of this place, and learn more about Sherman the man, as well as the other members of the Sherman family... after the civil war, Sherman was the general of the army (4 star general).... while many in the south, and Charleston in particular may rankle at the sound of the Sherman name, he used his men and resources effectively, making the cost of waging war particularly high...the destruction of charleston might be construed by some as payback for its role in starting the war by the firing of the opening shots against fort sumter...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sloppyjoepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting for the history buff”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very clean and well laid out with a charming atmosphere. Friendly staff with convenient parking on the street

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“well worth visiting”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

During a recent trip to visit family in Central Ohio, I visited the Sherman House Museum in Lancaster, a suburb southwest of Columbus. I live in Charleston, South Carolina, so my standard for historical home tours is very high. Still, without exaggeration the Sherman House tour was the best I have ever taken of an historical home within the USA or abroad. The tour guide was entertaining and informative, and consequently I learned a lot about General William Tecumseh Sherman, his family, and the material culture and social practices of the 19th century. The guide, as well as the other staff, were also quite friendly. And they were exceptionally adept at capturing and keeping the attention of the children who were taking the tour while I was there. If you get the chance, don't pass up visiting this gem! Well worth investing an hour or two and the small cost of admission.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sherman Super Surprise”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently we took four grandsons (ages 7-11) to the home of Gen. William T. Sherman in Lancaster, Ohio. What a wonderful surprise for us! The guide was very knowledgeable and was skilled in involving young boys in learning and enjoying history. The home is filled with Civil War period antiques, many from the Sherman family. We grandparents were particularly interested in the furniture and ladies handiwork while the boys were facinated with the kitchen tools and the military-related items. Upstairs is the Sherman museum featuring Gen. W.T. Sherman and his father, Judge Sherman. The museum was very much the hit of the trip for the boys and grandparents. The Civil War period guns, pictures, and awards kept our interest as we walked from display to display. We all learned a lot about Gen. Sherman and the Civil War period. There is also a small gift shop downstairs that contained some items of interest that were within the limited travel budget for our boys. This "field trip" was a very pleasant surprise for all of us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best tour guide we've found”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a gem! John Dye was an excellent tour guide - it was just the two of us and he spent so much time explaining everything. He really knows the history of the General - and the area. What a pleasure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bbtrips75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherman House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sherman House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing