We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Year's Eve Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Lebanon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve Experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We live close and enjoy the food with the newest management team and chef, so dining here is an easy decision. But we decided to try an overnight stay with friends for New Year's Eve. The Inn is old, the floors are uneven, and creaks abound, but the room was large, the accommodations very comfortable, and the staff outstanding. We ended up playing board games with friends who stayed in the Inn with us, but the Black horse Tavern in the Inn appeared to be hopping. The sleep was peaceful, and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: We really liked the Rutherford B. Hayes room since it has a large sitting room that was probably onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringboroCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    49
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
75
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
580 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the oldest hotel in all of Ohio and was built around 1815. It is located in a very picture perfect town full of history. We didn't stay here but we did have a wonderful lunch in one of the historic dining rooms. This place is filled with artifacts from bygone days and you could spend hours wandering around the various rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This is the oldest hotel in Ohio. It has been maintained in peak condition. The rooms are filled with beautiful antique furniture. It makes for a nice couples get away. The room rate also makes this an incredible value. In addition, the restaurant is excellent. It has been over twenty years since my wife and I first came here and I'm sure future visits will be more frequent despite the fact that we live just over an hour away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I live only about 15 miles from the Golden Lamb Hotel and Restaurant and it is well worth a visit if you are in the neighborhood. 8 Presidents have stayed there. My wife and I stayed in the Ronald Reagan room on one occasion and it was quite interesting staying in the same room President Reagan stayed in. It is very old and the stairs are old as well. Each room is named for the distinguished visitor who has stayed there. Mark Twain is one of my favorites. They also have a very good restaurant on the first floor. Be sure to get the egg salad, it is quite good. I remember being there one night watching them film the movie "Milk Money" with Melanie Griffith., through the window in the small town of Lebanon.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out those who have stayed there and then stay in the room named after your favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
243 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ohio's oldest hotel founded in 1803 has been home to numerous US Presidents. Quaint with many historic features including the old furniture but upgraded with new mattresses, linens, bathrooms and more. Very comfortable beds, but the wooden floors are a bit squeaky. This four-story hotel has no elevator and the stairs are a bit steep so be prepared. The staff was most helpful in hauling our luggage up to our room.

The hotel restaurant is excellent with great food and service including a nicely stocked bar and good wine list.

The gift shop is amply stocked with seasonal items and a great place for gift purchases for friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room unless you enjoy climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Step back into history. The stage coach from Cincinnati has just arrived after eight hours of torture on bumpy roads. You are ready for food and rest. The Golden Lamb innkeeper has been waiting for you.......for years and years he has been waiting. But now you are here. The room is small but comfortable. The bed is a haven of rest for your tired body. But first you must assuage the hunger, the emptiness in your stomach. Wonderful meals are available to you and good drink, too, naturally. You are impressed by the Shaker furniture which was made locally. All of this we found at the Golden Lamb in 2013.......but it was like taking a step into history.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck1980_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Did a one-night business stay; basically was told the was the 'best place in town' and I think that's as good as anything.

You'll read it here before; beware of the stairs - but we had ample help whenever we asked with lugging stuff up and down. I decided not to be the hero and let the younger ones do it, and that was a wise choice.

The overall property is gorgeous. At first glance the rooms look that way too; as you look around you'll spot issues that likely go back hundreds of years to the day they decided to put inside plumbing in the rooms. There were some repairs in the Coolidge room that hadn't held up, nothing major, but little quirks like no bathroom door latch were there. And there was no real place to set and work on even a laptop, although I made it work.

What brought it back up was the restaurant and the service. My goodness, we had a good meal and attentive service. They had a swiss steak special that was quite good. My late-arriving business meeting partner also got excellent service way after the restaurant was closed, but they found a meal for him and went out of their way to please.

Overall, meals and the service nudged an 'average' into very good.

And there's a gift shop in the basement that's actually worth looking at and open late.

Room Tip: Every room is different; many are up on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monroe
Comfort Inn Monroe
#2 of 4 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Springboro
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mason/Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lamb Inn

Property: The Golden Lamb Inn
Address: 27 S Broadway St, Lebanon, OH 45036-1705
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Lebanon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Lamb Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Golden Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lamb Hotel Lebanon
The Golden Lamb Bed Breakfast
Golden Lamb
The Golden Lamb Inn Lebanon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing