We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
130
53
17
27
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
53
17
27
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebud cabin hot tub hocking hills fire pit year wedding anniversary perfect size state park old mans cave beautiful cabin oleander kim deck weekend woods grill winter walmart
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

What was planned to be a romantic getaway for two turned out to be the worst night sleep either of us remember. We stayed at the Rosebud cabin which is designed for two people so we expected small and were okay with that. Outwardly, the cabin looks nice as you drive up a gravel drive but upon entering we knew that things were less than optimal. The walls (Cedar tongue and groove planking) were covered with cobwebs and there were dust bunnies/ dirt along the dge of all the rooms and around the furniture (places you wouldnt hit if doing a quick vacuuming). The windowsills were dirty and covered with insect carcasses. The grille over the A/C return was FILTHY It hadn't been dusted/ cleaned in years (if ever). The bathroom was no better than the rest of the cabin. The sink and shower have HEAVY orange rust stains and the toilet has terrible brown stains in the bottom that make it look as if someone has just done their business. The hot tub, while nice and clean doesnt have any air inlets so it is just like a big warm swimming pool with a couple slow speed jets running.

WORST of all was the bed!!!!!!!! The lovely floral sheets were worn and dingy. The matress has two well worn hollows where people sleep. If you move even an inch the bed pops and creaks. I have travelled to some unsavory places in my life, but even the economy hotels in south India have beds that are in better shape than this one.

This cabin is in need of a good rejuvination and a new cleaning lady.

I would not recommend this cabin or cabin rental company to anyone!!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DWC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

This cabin did need a new mattress, and we have replaced. However, we do take pride in our cleanliness of our cabins and did do a thorough 'spring clean' since then. The orange marks in the shower and tub are hard to remove due to sulfur in the well water. The hot tubs works great--Not sure if he just didn't know how to operate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Convenient location right off 664, and only a few miles from Old Man's Cave. But the visual blight of trashy property next door left a poor taste in our mouths every time we came and left on our excursions. We stayed in the Rosewood cabin, which is a faux log cabin (regular stick construction with tacked on rounded logs inside). Staff was friendly and responsive. The pictures on the web are reasonable. Shower was weak and dated, so don't turn on any other water while someone is showering. Bathroom and kitchen were dated too, but the kitchen had most supplies you would need. Nothing special about towels or linens. Downstairs bedroom was tiny and dated, though the loft was spacious. Fireplace had a mind of it's own, and would keep coming on even when we thought is was off. Even with a seasonal discount, it was over priced for what we got. There is far greater value in many other properties in the area and are also convenient to the caves. I would not recommend staying here.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

This is a cabin that sleeps 8. Because it is a bigger cabin, the price is a little more expensive but still very comparable to other similar sized cabins in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

From the outside, the cabin didn't look so bad, older but quite and secluded.... but once we went in it was a whole different story!!! This was the worst place that I have ever stayed in all of my travels. The cabin was filthy; huge cobwebs from the ceiling, the furniture smelled very musty (so much so that we put blankets on it before sitting down), dead bugs and dirt and leaves on the floor (looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in several months), 1/2 of the lightbulbs were burnt out and no replacements anywhere to be found, and the main floor bedroom smelled so strongly of dog urine that we left the room closed up the entire stay. It was so repulsive that we almost left and absorbed the rental fee which was just as much as some of the nicer places that that I have stayed in previous years (no refunds - and no contact numbers), however, it was a tight budget, so we cleaned and vacuumed for the first hour there. Also, we did not feel very safe there. Someone had affixed some sort of "anti-locking" devises on all of the windows. Please be warned.... unless ownership has changed since my stay..... DO NOT STAY HERE!

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank path_finder2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

This is ridiculous. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our cabins, so not sure where this all came from. I went down to check out myself, and they were just not happy because we do not give refunds. THere is no urine smell and the cabin was very clean, except for the dirt they brought in since they arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I stayed here with a group of 10 girlfriends and was expecting decent lodging based on the price of $320 per night. However, the shower had the power of a drippy faucet and was either icy cold or scalding hot. The grill was filthy and more of a flame thrower-- we would have been better off trying to make burgers over the fire. Also, while I knew it wouldn't be luxury by any means, I was very disappointed with cleanliness of the cabin in general. The bedding was soiled and tattered and overall everything in the cabin had a damp feel to it. If you decide to stay here, plan on roughing it -- bring your own and don't count on anything being provided in the cabin. The grill and shower barely work and the fridge is super tiny considering that the place sleeps then people. Good luck!

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kruppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

We take great pride in the cleanliness of our cabins, so not sure about this....We clean our grill after each guest departs. The water pressure in this cabin is fine until after the 8th person or so takes their shower in a row. Then, it will start to get weak. This is a bigger cabin that sleeps 10 with only 1 bathroom. The refridgerator is a full size refridgerator that you will find in most home kitchens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at a one-room cabin - Sweet Dreams. This was our first wedding anniversary, so we really liked the seclusion. It was a really cute one-room cabin. It was DEFINITELY worth the price. You can't stay at a cheap motel for $99 anymore - and there you don't have a private hot tub, porch, or fire ring. The mattress was a little worse-for-wear, but the sheets and towels were clean, as was everything else in the cabin. I would definitely suggest bringing your own bottled water for drinking, however. There was a strong sulfer smell when the water was on (but no big deal - we always come prepared with bottled water wherever we go). I loved that we weren't crammed in with other cabins - there was a good amount of space. For the money you pay, you get a lot. Plus, when you go to nature areas like Hocking Hills, you're not going to want to stay in your cabin all day, anyway. :)

Oh, and cell phones - mine didn't work, but my husband had full bars on his cell, so no problem. I would suggest calling the owners before you go, to get more detailed directions, however. There was no street sign on Phelps Road (not that we saw), and we had to stop a local to ask where it was.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews