We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you want to share with flies and gnats!”
Review of Blue Rose Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Rose Cabins
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Franklin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here unless you want to share with flies and gnats!”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I have rented many cabins during our trips and thought this would be the perfect weekend getaway. Boy, were we wrong. We rented the Oleander cabin which sounded wonderful until we walked in the front door. Our first clue should've been when we inspected the very small bathroom (this cabin slept 10) was occupied by a spider with a large web in the shower. Our next clue was when the overhead lights in the main living area didn't work and the table lamps weren't bright enough for reading. When we were able to call (no phone in the cabin and no cell service) the manager when we went the grocery store, we were told their maintenance person would be out after 7:30. We ate dinner, shopped, and returned before 7:00 to find a box of lightbulbs and a note stating they would be by the following day. The next day, someone came by to let us know that all of the lights in the ceiling fans were burned out and couldn't be repaired until someone with scaffolding could be found. This was a problem long before we arrived and they seemed unconcerned about fixing it. Our biggest problem was the lack of cleanliness in the facility. The cabinets contained crumbs from previous guests, the frig had not been wiped out, there was lots of dirt,dust, and cobwebs along the walls and on the ceiling. The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean the windows on the doors and left whatever liquids previous spit on the glass; it was disgusting. Cobwebs were everywhere, doorways, lamps and walls. The towels were old, thin, and stained. There were old, moldy coffee grounds in the coffee maker and the kitchen was not fully stocked, they didn't even provide an oven mitt or a stock pot for spaghetti. The sheets on the beds (no mattress pads) were extremely old and thin and we had to use two pillows to make one. The owners are so cheap they didn't even bother to paint the interiors of the steel exterior doors and the floor in the bathroom was rotting out. The owners solution for dealing the flies in the cabin was to provide a ratty, disgusting old fly swatter. The clincher was the fact that the exposed breaker box in the living area was covered with two dinner napkins tacked over it. According to Ohio Revised Code, breaker boxes are required to have a metal panel covering the box in case of sparks. I would never recommend this facility or any other facility owned by this organization.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyRFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    50
    15
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
157
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We reserved the Rosebud on the internet and never received any confirmation and called. The cabin was unavailable so we were upgraded to the Rosewood. The cabin was surface clean but had cobwebs from the ceiling and dust and cobwebs behind the futon couch. Initially found the loft bed linen to be soiled and the TV not working. Management brought us new linen but did not come in because we were having massages. My husband finally fixed the TV(it was not plugged in behind the fireplace). The shower had very little water pressure on hot water and the tub drained so slowly it was full of water as I dried off, my husband opted to wait for a shower until we got home since we stayed one night. I feel we overpaid for the cabin. There is not any cable or internet and the movies provided are for children so take your own movies. The kitchen is fully furnished. None of the furniture is of any quality-the coffee table and futon are unstable, a kitchen chair feels like it would break when sat on and the banister going up the stairs was weak and shook when touched. We enjoyed each others company but would not return to these cabins and wish we had read reviews before booking our trip. The towels supplied were also old and a green one covered in bleach spots. In an email we were told the key would be in a box by the front door. We never found the key in the box and eventually found it under the mat in front of the front door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micki-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
We apologized from the beginning with this reservation....There was a gliche in the system, so we could not recognize the reservation when it did come in (this happens very very rarely). We gave this cabin to him for the same price as the one he requested (this cabin is bigger and more expensive). We very rarely get complaints on the furniture of this cabin...We really feel he was just upset because we could not accommodate him in the cabin he originally requested. We were not aware of the tub draining slowly (no call was made to us so we have addressed since), and we are sorry about the TV not being plugged in! We do sometimes unplug appliances when cleaning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I rented the "Big Woody" Cabin which was advertised to "sleep six", two double beds and a futon, which may have worked if the futon was in a usable condition, which it was not. The frame was bent, sagging in the middle, so that no-one could sleep on it, let alone two. If the owner is going to dispute this, i would challenge he or she to spend a night on it first.

Second, while the cabin had a full kitchen, there was no where to eat. Including the broken down futon, there were five possible seats total in the cabin. Since the futon was in such poor condition, there was even less. On the deck (in case we were supposed to eat out there) were five more. No where was there seating for six, what were supposed to do, take turns relaxing?

As a result, half of my party (my wife and two teenaged boys) drove home (to Columbus) each night to sleep there and returned in the morning to join us hiking, etc. Needless to say, this was beyond inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudstuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
This gentleman did not contact us during his stay so we could remedy this situation. Unfortunately, the futon was broken underneath that we were unaware of. If he would have contacted us, we would have dropped off anohter couch we have as a spare in case of emergencies like this! There was also 1 chair 'missing' somehow....not sure where that went. Upon his complaint after his stay, we have since remedied all this. There is no dining room table inside this cabin however...ony a table and chairs outside on the deck.
Our policy is to contact us upon arrival or during your stay if you are unhappy with anything so we can accommodate you to your needs and in emergencies such as this. This gentleman did not do so. He only contacted us 3 days after he returned home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We snagged the "Lovebirds" cabin for a last minute weekend getaway to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. The cabin is tiny, but it totally worked for a weekend stay. I would have loved to have had access to a small dresser - but that's because I am an "unpacker". That was really the only downside (and one that most people would probably never notice). It was great to have access to a gas grill, full kitchen, and a hot tub. The cabin was easy to find and it had everything we needed. I would stay here again. One tip for folks who stay here - bring some bottled water. All the cabins have well water, so if you don't like the taste, have some bottled water on hand. Overall, lovely experience. The Hocking Hills Area is gorgeous and the cabin is only a few miles from the state park entrance. Great location, cute lodging. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank africandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Owner at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you--Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our cabin and had a nice Anniversary! Hopefully we'll see you back! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We found our stay in the Sweet Dreams 2-person cabin to be very nice and relaxing for our weekend in the Hocking Hills. The property was easy to find with the provided directions. The location is conveniently located halfway between Lake Logan and Old Man's Cave. It is a shame the neighboring property is such a mess. This really affects a newcomer's first impressions. The Blue Rose property is nicely laid out, with reasonable separation between cabins.

The sweet Dreams cabin was well-maintained and fairly clean. My main recommendation is to install screens in the windows. It is a shame to have to run the air-conditioner when the evening is fairly cool. I'm an open window person, but this is not possible without screens.

The kitchen had all the utensils we needed except dedicated grilling utensils. The grill worked fine. Just take some cooking oil to use on the grate, which was kind of rusty.

Shower and hot tub were both very clean and pleasant to use. The water has a sulfur odor, but not a bad taste. Be sure to bring your own drinking water if this bothers you.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and will consider booking again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rzak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Owner at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the feedback about the screen---great idea! We will definitely look into this. Hopefully we'll see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My boyfriend and i stayed in cupids cabin and i loved it there. Had a hot tub and grill which was nice to have. It was so peaceful,relaxing and romantic. Wish i didn't have to leave there.Hoping to go back really soon. I think we will going there alot!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kking_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huber Heights, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed in the Cupids Cabin and loved it!!! Even coming down in the middle of Winter, I was supprised to find the private drive plowed and salted!! Upon entering the cabin we were greeted by wildlife!!! I was already impressed before we even walked in! The cabin was smaller but very maintained! We will for sure be returning in the summer time!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apples2apples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Thank you. We love winter here ourselves--just beautiful. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
5.5 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
319 reviews
23.3 mi away
Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rose Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rose Cabins

Property: Blue Rose Cabins
Address: Provided With Booking, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Log Cabins in the heart of Hocking Hills. All complete with hot tubs, gas grill, fully equipped kitchens, fire pit, bed and bath linens...ROMANCE is our theme! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Rose Cabins Hotel Logan
Blue Rose Cabins Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing