We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. . .as long as you stay outside”
Review of Blue Rose Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Rose Cabins
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Marion, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great. . .as long as you stay outside”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Our stay at the Oleander Cabin last weekend was a major disappointment, to say the least. We knew there was only one bathroom for the ten people in our party. But we had no idea the interior would be so substandard.

We spent a great deal of time looking for the controls for the air conditioning. Finally we discovered it was under a wall hanging in the living room. Almost everyone knows heating/air conditioning controls don’t work properly if they are covered.

Next, we turned on the “Direct TV” and found it did not work. A bit more investigation led to the discovery that there was “no usable signal” because there was no satellite TV receiver/control box. So we spent the weekend without any television service, which also meant we could not see the Ohio State football game on Saturday as we planned.

The lamp in the kitchen was dim, and the one in the living room had the bulb dangling at an angle, which is a potential safety hazard. Speaking of hazards, the oven would not shut off, probably because of a broken control. Maybe this was supposed to be an auxiliary heating source, but I doubt it.

The general condition of the interior of the cabin was very dirty. The shower area was filthy, the floor was spongy, paint was peeling in the bathroom, and there was mold in the shower area.

The hot tub was very dirty on the inside, with mold on the cabin wall next to the tub.

If the cabin is supposed to “sleep 10” why did we find only six bath towels? Why was there only one trash bag for a two-night stay by ten people? Why did we find only four glasses? Why was there not enough silverware to take care of ten people? Why was there no opener to remove the lid from our cans of food? The only opener we found could puncture a can top, but not remove the lid.

We would have called to complain if Blue Rose Cabins had been guest-friendly enough to provide phone service closer than a walk down an unpaved road. We were dubious anyway since the cabin was in such shoddy condition when we arrived. Our conclusion was: any place that doesn’t check the cabin before it is “ready” for guest probably won’t be responsive to complaints late on Friday.

The other reviews on TripAdvisor.com confirmed that our complaints were not isolated problems. We should have read the reviews first and stayed clear of these cabins. However, it is not too late to join the chorus with a resounding, “We will never return, and we’ll tell anyone we can to avoid these overpriced, under-accommodating accommodations.”

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbender300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
This review is out of line in regards to the cleanliness of this cabin and also the amenities provided to accommodate 10 guests. There are always enough glasses, silverware, etc. provided for 10 guests--this is our biggest and most popular cabin, so we do keep it very well-equipped. As far as direcTV, we do not advertise that we have it, so not sure why they thought we did? None of our cabins have direcTV. We also notify guests that we do not have cell phone service (for some carriers) at our cabins. We do provide a phone to call us at the front of our drive, and we do ask guests to call us IMMEDIATELY if they need something or something does not work. We do everything we can at that time to accommodate our guests. The stove was not working properly, and we did since replace it with a brand new stove. It is unfortunate this guest did not contact us during their stay if they were really this unhappy and only placed the comments on here, which are all suspicious since they did not contact us to correct the situation then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    50
    15
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
157
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My adult daughter and I went for a long "girl's weekend". I could have easily overlooked the tiny TV, few ants in the kitchen, lack of cereal bowls or pasta strainer in the "fully stocked" kitchen, lack of screens in the cabin IF the bed hadn't been awful. I called the management after the first night, hoping to change cabins. I was told that there were none. I would have checked out that day if they hadn't already charged my credit card for 3 nights. My daughter ended up sleeping on the tiny loveseat the next two nights. Thank goodness for the lovely hot tub...I needed it to work out the kinks in my back and neck each morning. The worst thing is that several previous guests had complained about the bed in the journal that they have in the cabin. So management can't say that they didn't know. Even if they had offered me a future night free, I wouldn't take it unless there is a new bed. Too bad, because the location was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Owner at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We have a sign/note in our cabin to tell guest to call us if there are any issues with their cabins and we will resolve their complaints as soon as possible. We also provide a public phone at the entrance to the cabins for our guest to call us to resolve any issues. We would have gladly brought out any dishes/cooking supplies to their cabin. We have not had any problems with ants in our cabins besides the occassional ant that can be expected in a normal home or cabin in the woods. We use normal standard mattresses in all of our cabins. If a guest notifies us that a mattress is damaged we throw it out and replace it with a new mattress.
Yes we did charge her credit card for 3 nights because our policy is to collect the full amount for the stay in order to reserve on of our cabins.

Blue Rose Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I have rented many cabins during our trips and thought this would be the perfect weekend getaway. Boy, were we wrong. We rented the Oleander cabin which sounded wonderful until we walked in the front door. Our first clue should've been when we inspected the very small bathroom (this cabin slept 10) was occupied by a spider with a large web in the shower. Our next clue was when the overhead lights in the main living area didn't work and the table lamps weren't bright enough for reading. When we were able to call (no phone in the cabin and no cell service) the manager when we went the grocery store, we were told their maintenance person would be out after 7:30. We ate dinner, shopped, and returned before 7:00 to find a box of lightbulbs and a note stating they would be by the following day. The next day, someone came by to let us know that all of the lights in the ceiling fans were burned out and couldn't be repaired until someone with scaffolding could be found. This was a problem long before we arrived and they seemed unconcerned about fixing it. Our biggest problem was the lack of cleanliness in the facility. The cabinets contained crumbs from previous guests, the frig had not been wiped out, there was lots of dirt,dust, and cobwebs along the walls and on the ceiling. The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean the windows on the doors and left whatever liquids previous spit on the glass; it was disgusting. Cobwebs were everywhere, doorways, lamps and walls. The towels were old, thin, and stained. There were old, moldy coffee grounds in the coffee maker and the kitchen was not fully stocked, they didn't even provide an oven mitt or a stock pot for spaghetti. The sheets on the beds (no mattress pads) were extremely old and thin and we had to use two pillows to make one. The owners are so cheap they didn't even bother to paint the interiors of the steel exterior doors and the floor in the bathroom was rotting out. The owners solution for dealing the flies in the cabin was to provide a ratty, disgusting old fly swatter. The clincher was the fact that the exposed breaker box in the living area was covered with two dinner napkins tacked over it. According to Ohio Revised Code, breaker boxes are required to have a metal panel covering the box in case of sparks. I would never recommend this facility or any other facility owned by this organization.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyRFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We reserved the Rosebud on the internet and never received any confirmation and called. The cabin was unavailable so we were upgraded to the Rosewood. The cabin was surface clean but had cobwebs from the ceiling and dust and cobwebs behind the futon couch. Initially found the loft bed linen to be soiled and the TV not working. Management brought us new linen but did not come in because we were having massages. My husband finally fixed the TV(it was not plugged in behind the fireplace). The shower had very little water pressure on hot water and the tub drained so slowly it was full of water as I dried off, my husband opted to wait for a shower until we got home since we stayed one night. I feel we overpaid for the cabin. There is not any cable or internet and the movies provided are for children so take your own movies. The kitchen is fully furnished. None of the furniture is of any quality-the coffee table and futon are unstable, a kitchen chair feels like it would break when sat on and the banister going up the stairs was weak and shook when touched. We enjoyed each others company but would not return to these cabins and wish we had read reviews before booking our trip. The towels supplied were also old and a green one covered in bleach spots. In an email we were told the key would be in a box by the front door. We never found the key in the box and eventually found it under the mat in front of the front door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micki-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
We apologized from the beginning with this reservation....There was a gliche in the system, so we could not recognize the reservation when it did come in (this happens very very rarely). We gave this cabin to him for the same price as the one he requested (this cabin is bigger and more expensive). We very rarely get complaints on the furniture of this cabin...We really feel he was just upset because we could not accommodate him in the cabin he originally requested. We were not aware of the tub draining slowly (no call was made to us so we have addressed since), and we are sorry about the TV not being plugged in! We do sometimes unplug appliances when cleaning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I rented the "Big Woody" Cabin which was advertised to "sleep six", two double beds and a futon, which may have worked if the futon was in a usable condition, which it was not. The frame was bent, sagging in the middle, so that no-one could sleep on it, let alone two. If the owner is going to dispute this, i would challenge he or she to spend a night on it first.

Second, while the cabin had a full kitchen, there was no where to eat. Including the broken down futon, there were five possible seats total in the cabin. Since the futon was in such poor condition, there was even less. On the deck (in case we were supposed to eat out there) were five more. No where was there seating for six, what were supposed to do, take turns relaxing?

As a result, half of my party (my wife and two teenaged boys) drove home (to Columbus) each night to sleep there and returned in the morning to join us hiking, etc. Needless to say, this was beyond inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudstuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Manager at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
This gentleman did not contact us during his stay so we could remedy this situation. Unfortunately, the futon was broken underneath that we were unaware of. If he would have contacted us, we would have dropped off anohter couch we have as a spare in case of emergencies like this! There was also 1 chair 'missing' somehow....not sure where that went. Upon his complaint after his stay, we have since remedied all this. There is no dining room table inside this cabin however...ony a table and chairs outside on the deck.
Our policy is to contact us upon arrival or during your stay if you are unhappy with anything so we can accommodate you to your needs and in emergencies such as this. This gentleman did not do so. He only contacted us 3 days after he returned home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We snagged the "Lovebirds" cabin for a last minute weekend getaway to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. The cabin is tiny, but it totally worked for a weekend stay. I would have loved to have had access to a small dresser - but that's because I am an "unpacker". That was really the only downside (and one that most people would probably never notice). It was great to have access to a gas grill, full kitchen, and a hot tub. The cabin was easy to find and it had everything we needed. I would stay here again. One tip for folks who stay here - bring some bottled water. All the cabins have well water, so if you don't like the taste, have some bottled water on hand. Overall, lovely experience. The Hocking Hills Area is gorgeous and the cabin is only a few miles from the state park entrance. Great location, cute lodging. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank africandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Owner at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you--Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our cabin and had a nice Anniversary! Hopefully we'll see you back! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We found our stay in the Sweet Dreams 2-person cabin to be very nice and relaxing for our weekend in the Hocking Hills. The property was easy to find with the provided directions. The location is conveniently located halfway between Lake Logan and Old Man's Cave. It is a shame the neighboring property is such a mess. This really affects a newcomer's first impressions. The Blue Rose property is nicely laid out, with reasonable separation between cabins.

The sweet Dreams cabin was well-maintained and fairly clean. My main recommendation is to install screens in the windows. It is a shame to have to run the air-conditioner when the evening is fairly cool. I'm an open window person, but this is not possible without screens.

The kitchen had all the utensils we needed except dedicated grilling utensils. The grill worked fine. Just take some cooking oil to use on the grate, which was kind of rusty.

Shower and hot tub were both very clean and pleasant to use. The water has a sulfur odor, but not a bad taste. Be sure to bring your own drinking water if this bothers you.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and will consider booking again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rzak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluerosecabins, Owner at Blue Rose Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the feedback about the screen---great idea! We will definitely look into this. Hopefully we'll see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
23.3 mi away
Burr Oak Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
6.8 mi away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rose Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rose Cabins

Property: Blue Rose Cabins
Address: Provided With Booking, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Log Cabins in the heart of Hocking Hills. All complete with hot tubs, gas grill, fully equipped kitchens, fire pit, bed and bath linens...ROMANCE is our theme! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Rose Cabins Hotel Logan
Blue Rose Cabins Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing