We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome secluded well furnished anniversary experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Man's Cave Chalets
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. The cabin, hot tub, furnished kitchen were impeccably clean and nice. Had a wonderful time at the Timber Ridge Cabin. We will be back with our children the next time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulPries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Paul,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Timber Ridge Cabin. This cozy romantic cabin with it's ridge top location is a favorite among many of our guests. Please review our website ....we have some great specials throughout the winter months...and we would love to have you back again! Thank you again.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
oldmanscavechalets.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Old Man's Cave Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary. It was our first trip to Hocking Hills and Old Man Chalets was recommended by a friend. We stayed in one of the A Frame cabins and brought our dog. The cabin was really beautiful, clean, with a fireplace, hot tub, flat screen tv and a small kitchen. There is often the concern that a place that allows pets may not be clean, but the place was spotless. It had all the essentials and was so quiet! Walking trails are very close by car, a few minutes, as are a couple general stores and restaurants. I have absolutely no complaints and highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripadv123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We are committed to providing you the finest accommodations in the Hocking Hills and we thank you for your kind comments! We have some great specials listed on our website for the upcoming holiday season and into the winter. Please come back soon.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
oldmanscavechalets.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have passed Old Man's Cave Chalets many times when we used to meet family at a local private camp ground in the fall. My husband and I have also stayed at a local bed and breakfast many times, but we wanted a change. The B&B we'd gone to had changed hands a couple times, and then eliminated many of their perks and discounts after raising rates. So, I thought of OMCC and we are glad we decided to try them!
We rented an A frame, just because we wanted to see how they were set up. The cabin was neat, clean and airy. The dorm-sized refrigerator was perfect for a couple days away from home. We didn't have to use any other appliances, but the kitchenette was equipped with a full-sized coffee maker, a small microwave and a 2-burner cook top. It would have been easy to plan meals to prepare if we were planning to stay longer.
Then, there's the hot tub. Many of the other rentals we'd looked at online had small, round, "portable" hot tubs. At OMCC, our cabin had a nice 4-person rectangular tub with a nicely textured surface. It was quiet, at a nice temperature and clean when we opened it. The wisps of steam called us in! The hot tub, on the back patio, has privacy screening so you do not see all your neighbors, nor do they see you. The sides of the patio that do not face pubic areas give a lovely view of the woods.
Someone, in another review, complained of the "rules and regulations" for renting at OMCC. Considering what I've seen of renters in hotels, campgrounds and other rental lodging, I understand why there are pages of rules--to try to keep people from getting hurt doing stupid things! (Think of the disclaimers on a cup of McDonald's coffee.....) I did not find signing a paper stating I understood safe operations of a hot tub unreasonable.
The drive to the A frames is paved,but steep, and has some twists and turns. My little compact car handled it easily (Fall weather, no ice or snow). The grounds are well-kept. The staff are friendly and professional.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Estella,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the chalet and your visit to the Hocking Hills. We strive to provide you the finest accommodations in the Hocking Hills and caring for every detail to make your stay pleasurable. Please visit our website and view the great specials we have coming up for the winter months and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The cabin itself was very nice and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed with updated appliances. The rest of the furnishing was nice as well. The hot tub was clean and enjoyable. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the cabin was close to another; the description did not seem to indicate this. We are planning on staying with them when we go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the Outback. I am glad you enjoyed the cabin. When booking, ask our reservationist about "locations", "secluded" or any requirements you may have. They are experts and can select the perfect cabin and location for you. Please view our website for upcoming specials. Thank you again for booking with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Outback and it was as updated as it appeared in the pictures. We loved the full kitchen and prepped all of our meals as the cabin is some distance from resteraunts. One difficulty in prepping our food was how tightly wrapped we had to keep all food as a mouse was spotted in the cabin within an hour or so of our arrival. Information that we were not given before that I would have liked to have known includes 1) there is no cell phone or Internet service in or near cabin and you need to buy a phone card to be able to make outgoing long distance calls from the cabin phone 2) you have to check in by 9pm, 3) taxes are quite high which made the price of the cabin over $300 night, 4) the rental agreement gives them the right to switch cabins on you and some of the cabins are significantly differently. We did have a nice time in spite of sharing the cabin with mice and would consider going back if they were running a special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My kids and I LOVED the Old Man's Cave Chalets. We rented Chalet #9 and found it clean, cozy and well appointed with everything we needed to cook our meals (and a dorm fridge, not a beer fridge, so we had lots of room for our food, as well!), a newer tv and dvd player, comfortable beds and, the piece de resistance, our super clean and very new four-person hot tub....on a quaint wooden deck/balcony that put us right in the canopy of the forest. Big, clean pool shared by all guests on the property was also perfect. We will be back, without doubt! Next time, we may bring a lot of friends and rent the lodge. Great staff, great service. Did I mention great?

Room Tip: We had heard that the beds were terrible, but we did not find that at all! To be sure, ask for a ch...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great stay. Very clean. Nice loft and bathroom. Everything worked. Hot tub was private, and clean. I would recommend this one from our experience. Nice staff also. Was a great weekend in Hocking Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braden_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, General Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed the clean and private cabin experience. We are always working on keeping the amenities up to date. You might be interested to know that this cabin now has WiFi! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
23.5 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
23.9 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#7 of 10 in Athens
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Man's Cave Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Man's Cave Chalets

Address: 18905 State Route 664 S, Logan, OH 43138-9536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Price Range: £73 - £728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1988, Old Man's Cave Chalets is the original cabin rental operation of the Hocking Hills. With over 50 premier cabins, Old Man’s Cave Chalets is the number one preferred and most referred cabin rental lodging in the Hocking Hills area. With private hot tubs, swimming pools, and nearby State Parks, there is something for everyone at Old Man’s Cave Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Man`s Cave Chalets Hotel Logan
Old Man's Cave Chalets Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing