We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Getaway as a New Couple”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Man's Cave Chalets
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Getaway as a New Couple”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My (now husband) and I stayed in an A-Frame cabin last Winter. The layout of the cabins allows for privacy when using the hot tub outside the back door. If you are into hiking, there is ample space to do so. Plan to stop at the grocery store so you can stock up on goodies to snack and cook in the well equipped kitchen area. We definitely plan to go back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope you will return in the future. Take a moment to view all of our specials on our website at www.oldmanscavechalets.com. Thank you again.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    113
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
188
333
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I got to spend one night here last weekend & I was extremely sad to leave. The A-frame was more then we even expected. Extremely clean, comfy bed, & the view was breathtaking. The only downfall was that our neighbors had small children who were running wild & screaming their heads off on their back patio. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a peaceful getaway from the hustle & bustle of everyday life. We hope to return in the bear future & get to spend more then a night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Melissa,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. I will contact you by email regarding your complaint. We are so glad you loved the cabin and the beautiful Hocking Hills. Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. The cabin, hot tub, furnished kitchen were impeccably clean and nice. Had a wonderful time at the Timber Ridge Cabin. We will be back with our children the next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulPries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Paul,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Timber Ridge Cabin. This cozy romantic cabin with it's ridge top location is a favorite among many of our guests. Please review our website ....we have some great specials throughout the winter months...and we would love to have you back again! Thank you again.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
oldmanscavechalets.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary. It was our first trip to Hocking Hills and Old Man Chalets was recommended by a friend. We stayed in one of the A Frame cabins and brought our dog. The cabin was really beautiful, clean, with a fireplace, hot tub, flat screen tv and a small kitchen. There is often the concern that a place that allows pets may not be clean, but the place was spotless. It had all the essentials and was so quiet! Walking trails are very close by car, a few minutes, as are a couple general stores and restaurants. I have absolutely no complaints and highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripadv123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We are committed to providing you the finest accommodations in the Hocking Hills and we thank you for your kind comments! We have some great specials listed on our website for the upcoming holiday season and into the winter. Please come back soon.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
oldmanscavechalets.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have passed Old Man's Cave Chalets many times when we used to meet family at a local private camp ground in the fall. My husband and I have also stayed at a local bed and breakfast many times, but we wanted a change. The B&B we'd gone to had changed hands a couple times, and then eliminated many of their perks and discounts after raising rates. So, I thought of OMCC and we are glad we decided to try them!
We rented an A frame, just because we wanted to see how they were set up. The cabin was neat, clean and airy. The dorm-sized refrigerator was perfect for a couple days away from home. We didn't have to use any other appliances, but the kitchenette was equipped with a full-sized coffee maker, a small microwave and a 2-burner cook top. It would have been easy to plan meals to prepare if we were planning to stay longer.
Then, there's the hot tub. Many of the other rentals we'd looked at online had small, round, "portable" hot tubs. At OMCC, our cabin had a nice 4-person rectangular tub with a nicely textured surface. It was quiet, at a nice temperature and clean when we opened it. The wisps of steam called us in! The hot tub, on the back patio, has privacy screening so you do not see all your neighbors, nor do they see you. The sides of the patio that do not face pubic areas give a lovely view of the woods.
Someone, in another review, complained of the "rules and regulations" for renting at OMCC. Considering what I've seen of renters in hotels, campgrounds and other rental lodging, I understand why there are pages of rules--to try to keep people from getting hurt doing stupid things! (Think of the disclaimers on a cup of McDonald's coffee.....) I did not find signing a paper stating I understood safe operations of a hot tub unreasonable.
The drive to the A frames is paved,but steep, and has some twists and turns. My little compact car handled it easily (Fall weather, no ice or snow). The grounds are well-kept. The staff are friendly and professional.
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Estella,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the chalet and your visit to the Hocking Hills. We strive to provide you the finest accommodations in the Hocking Hills and caring for every detail to make your stay pleasurable. Please visit our website and view the great specials we have coming up for the winter months and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The cabin itself was very nice and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed with updated appliances. The rest of the furnishing was nice as well. The hot tub was clean and enjoyable. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the cabin was close to another; the description did not seem to indicate this. We are planning on staying with them when we go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the Outback. I am glad you enjoyed the cabin. When booking, ask our reservationist about "locations", "secluded" or any requirements you may have. They are experts and can select the perfect cabin and location for you. Please view our website for upcoming specials. Thank you again for booking with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Outback and it was as updated as it appeared in the pictures. We loved the full kitchen and prepped all of our meals as the cabin is some distance from resteraunts. One difficulty in prepping our food was how tightly wrapped we had to keep all food as a mouse was spotted in the cabin within an hour or so of our arrival. Information that we were not given before that I would have liked to have known includes 1) there is no cell phone or Internet service in or near cabin and you need to buy a phone card to be able to make outgoing long distance calls from the cabin phone 2) you have to check in by 9pm, 3) taxes are quite high which made the price of the cabin over $300 night, 4) the rental agreement gives them the right to switch cabins on you and some of the cabins are significantly differently. We did have a nice time in spite of sharing the cabin with mice and would consider going back if they were running a special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Man's Cave Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Man's Cave Chalets

Property: Old Man's Cave Chalets
Address: 18905 State Route 664 S, Logan, OH 43138-9536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1988, Old Man's Cave Chalets is the original cabin rental operation of the Hocking Hills. With over 50 premier cabins, Old Man’s Cave Chalets is the number one preferred and most referred cabin rental lodging in the Hocking Hills area. With private hot tubs, swimming pools, and nearby State Parks, there is something for everyone at Old Man’s Cave Chalets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Man`s Cave Chalets Hotel Logan
Old Man's Cave Chalets Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing