We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was a relaxing and quiet getaway in nature.”
other travellers have booked this property
Our cottage is located on 22 acres of a private, heavily wooded ridge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our cottage is located on 22 acres of a private, heavily wooded ridge.
Large windows and a vaulted ceiling in the spacious living area. A large kitchen provides plenty of counter-top space and cabinets, with lots of cooking utensils.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Our cottage is located on 22 acres of a private, heavily wooded ridge.
Large windows and a vaulted ceiling in the spacious living area.
A large kitchen provides plenty of counter-top space and cabinets, with lots of cooking utensils.
A bright and cheery kitchen.
The peaceful bedrooms each have a queen bed and two night stands.
This bedroom also has a closet.
Bath vanity with etched mirror and wall sconces.
Relax in our two-person jacuzzi with ceramic tiled surround.
This 'deck in the tree-tops' provides a lovely view.  Enjoy grilling on the gas grill.
We are pet friendly!
Ash Cave waterfall, just 12 minutes from your cabin
Lake Hope State Park is nearby.
Rock House; see the tiny people on the right?
Cedar Falls, 15 minutes from your cottage.
Winter hiking.
Rent a canoe at one of several liveries or lakes.
Adventure Golf is a beautiful course in Logan, 25 minutes from the cottage.
Choose from several local riding stables.
Tecumseh!   This outdoor drama is nationally acclaimed.
If golf is your game, just pick a course.
The Hocking Valley Scenic Railroad is very popular.
Ziplines!
Wild hen turkey in our driveway.
Butterflies abound!
Deer in our yard.
Redbuds bloom in the springtime.
Overlook at Old Man's Cave.
Autumn beauty.
Snow cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Logan, Ohio

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OH
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OH
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WideEyedT...
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bitter Honey On Legal Ridge”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

If all goes right, you may leave happy. All did not go right for our family, we did not leave happy, and have bitter feelings regarding how our situation was handled.

My wife & I stayed there with our 12 YO son and our twin 9 YO daughters. We returned to the cabin after a very big July day of hiking, exhausted and all badly in need of a shower. A fire had taken-out the hot water heater; it was inoperable and could not be fixed prior to our departure. None of us were able to bathe and, by the time we got home, it was nearly three days between showers. These were three very active, hot, & sweaty days in late July. This had a dramatic impact on our quality of vacation life and cut-short our final day in the parks. We left with their assurance that they would “make it right” and adjust our fees. A few days later, we received a check, notated “Good Faith Refund” representing 4.3% of what we paid in fees. This was less than the tax we paid. I don't know this but assume that the carefully worded notation legally excludes them from admission of guilt or additional liability.

My wife & I have owned and managed rental property for 10 years. So, we understand that things can (and do) go wrong. Our disappointment is centered on the following conditions and ways the owners chose to manage our situation.
1) Our attempt to negotiate an adjustment that we felt better reflected the impact of the fire on the value of the cabin and the impact on our vacation was met with a very cold, legal, and uncaring reply. They were quick to point out a clause in their contract, “We are not responsible for refunds or adjustments due to equipment malfunction.” So, know that any dealings you may be forced to have with them will be lawyer based, not humanitarian based. Because one is forced to make payment to TripAdvisor before seeing their contract, this is a very, very important thing to understand.
2) We paid a premium for “extra guests.” The base rental rate only covers the first two guests. There is an additional $30 per day per “extra guest” charge. I assume this is to cover the added cost of things like hot water. For our family, this was a significant up-charge for something we were not able to use.
3) They told us that a fire caused the water heater problem. It is located in a locked and inaccessible basement area of the cabin. Obviously, we are thankful that the fire did not take the cabin and our family with it.
4) They promote the “home made” character of their cabin; the owners built it themselves. I’m sure this is a source of pride for them. However, because of this experience, we will, in the future, chose a place where we are better assured that those who installed critical systems – HVAC, plumbing, electrical, etc. – have the proper training and certifications to do so safely.
5) The owners have, subsequently, claimed that they offered to release us from the last day of rental agreement obligation. This is fiction. Given our very limited set of options at the time, I doubt we could have made that choice but, the point is, they lied about it. Underscore #1 above.

If all goes right, you may leave happy. If the deck falls apart and you cannot get into the cabin, don’t expect any sympathy from the owners. If the propane tank rolls down the hill and destroys the cabin and all your belongings, don’t expect much of a refund. More likely, you will get a cold-hearted e-mail reminding you that, “We are not responsible for refunds or adjustments due to equipment malfunction.” There are too many other professionally built options in the area to ever consider trusting my family to this one again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
We would like to respond to the allegations above, but a summary is in order first. Because our cottage had no hot water for two days, our guest demanded a refund of $288, ½ of his total rental fee. We felt that his demand was unreasonable (as explained below), and he then advised us that if our position remained unchanged, he would leave an accounting of his experience on TripAdvisor.

To our unhappy guest, we say, we are sorry that you did not have hot water during a portion of your stay at Honey Ridge. We are also sorry if our mention of a fire in the water heater caused you distress. The “fire” was simply larger than normal flames in the heater. The heater’s safety devices then worked as designed, by turning off the flow of gas to the heater, and thereby extinguished the flames. There was never a fire hazard. We are also sorry that you felt lied to, but are not sure how anything we said in our correspondence could be considered a lie.

Finally, we are sorry that you are unhappy with our effort to say thanks for your patience by sending you a check for $25 and that you are unhappy that we did not honor your request for a $288.76 refund after you expressed your displeasure. We simply felt that request was unreasonable in light of the following. We always do our best to make repairs as quickly as possible, but in your case determined that, most likely, we would not be able to make repairs prior to your departure. We informed you of the situation and offered you the opportunity to leave early. You immediately declined and said you would stay. The next day, you again said it was OK, when we called to inform you that, most likely, the public swimming pool at a nearby state park would offer you an opportunity for hot showers. So, you elected to stay for the remainder of your vacation knowing there would be no hot water, and you had full access to all other amenities during your entire stay. You never complained to us while you were here.

Our guest is confused about our rates and what he paid. Per our rates displayed on both FlipKey and our website, we charge $15 per person per day for additional guests (a low fee for this area), not $30 as our guest stated. In this case we charged even less since we gave our guests one child for free (they brought 3 children, we charged for 2). We try to help families since we know it can be hard to pay for vacations when you have several children. Also, the Extra Guest fee is for much more than just hot water; e.g., wear and tear, extra cleaning, extra laundry, etc. In addition, our guest was upset about having to pay a fee to FlipKey when making the reservation. He asked us to split the cost with him (even though we have to pay our own fee) and we agreed to do that as a good will gesture. We certainly tried to be fair with this guest from the beginning.

To our future guests reading these postings, please know that in eight years we have we utilized our legal agreement (a standard, short-term contract) to protect our interests only once before this situation, when guests had a large, illegal party and ruined cottage property. They paid for the damages without complaint. Also know that our cottage is completely safe and complies with all applicable building standards. All required building permits and inspections are on file at the appropriate Hocking County offices. This is a beautiful, extremely well-built cottage, constructed by a professional with 20 years experience. Finally, know that no one in all of Hocking Hills is a more caring innkeeper than my wife, Beth. I am, of course, deeply biased in this regard, but Trip Advisor’s five star rating, despite this current review, supports my view. So, too, do the hundreds of notes in our guest books. We run our business with high moral standards.

We wish our guest the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$118
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing