We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I spent the night last evening for our 13th Wedding Anniversary. We loved the Landoll Suite, the staff was very prrsonable, and our entire experience was wonderful! We will be back!
Roger B
11.19.2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

The grounds are beautiful, but it is dirty and not well kept. The website said that there was an outdoor hot tub in the McBeth cottage, which is the sole reason we booked that particular cottage. Well, it DOESN'T have one! When we went to ask about it, the manager told us that the website didn't say it had one. When I told her I saw it there she tried to tell me that I was getting it confused with the jacuzzi tub. She said the website has NEVER said that it had a hot tub. When we showed her a trip advisor review from someone else that said the same thing that we said, she maintained that the website had never said it. Now, it's awful funny that the breaker box in the cottage had its own breaker for a HOT tub. We were very upset. She half heartidly apologized asking us what we wanted her to do for us and telling us that she couldn't make a hot tub "magically" appear for us. I was appalled and offended to say the least. She also pointed out that the person that checked us in charged us the wrong (lower) price for the room ($40 big deal) making it seem that yet another mistake should make up for the big one.

Like I said, the place is gorgeous, it's just too bad it is not maintained and is so dirty. The jacuzzi tub had a large brown ring around it that I was able to clean away with just a wipe of a rag (see pic), that was really gross. The rest of the cottage wasn't bad. But it is small. The pool area was not clean or maintained; there is build up around the edge of the pool all the way around it, the jets in the cave area didn't work. And the hot tub in the pool area didn't work either (strike two for the hot tub experience). The bathroom in the pool area was disgusting; the toilet bowl was in severe need of cleaning, the mirror had a scummy film smeared on it that looked like someone started to clean it and just said the heck with it and quit. The room with the pool table looks like it hasn't been touched in months and months. The drinking fountain that didn't work looks like something was growing in it.

At any rate, our special weekend proved to be a very disappointing experience. I think if management would have been at least sincerely apologetic and just admitted error I wouldn't have been so upset. The other lady that was working was way more courteous and accommodating than the manager. If I ever heard any of my managers speak to a customer in such a manner, there would be no questions asked, they would immediately be relived of their duties.

I would not recommend unless I new that they have done some serious work to the facilities and had a change of management.

Room Tip: Do not choose a cottage. The Hess suite looked very nice inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Girlstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I planned a 40th bday trip for myself and 3 friends.

Pros - the grounds are lovely, the castle itself is lovely. The room (the Ross Suite) was beautiful with it's architectural details and heated tile floor in the bathroom. That was great! The pool and jacuzzi were great! So warm and comfortable. I could have stayed for hours! There is a pool table in the building also but we didn't use it. The restaurant food was great!

Cons -There needs to be some updating/ repairs. The landscape was a bit worn out near the castle, but the grounds as a whole make up for it. There are a few spots in the room that need repair - some wallpaper issues. In the pool area - there are wallpaper issues as well and ceiling repairs that look halfway addressed. Also it seems like there were waterfalls, but those are shut off or no longer working.

There are just a few rooms to choose from with more than 2 people and I was initially charged 25.00 per person extra for the two additional people. However, the website and my receipt indicated 2.00 per person. They did honor the rate that I saw and had a receipt for. I guess I felt like the extra 50.00 there were going to charge would have brought along with it some extra towels and/or something.

I guess I am only giving an average rating because of the repairs that are needed for the cost of one night ($297.00). For that price, I expected another step up. Again, it was nice, but just not nice enough for the cost. Maybe for $150.00 - I could accept that.

Room Tip: our room was on the bottom floor and it was extremely loud when people walked above us. creaking flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place is amazing. So the driveway has a few pot holes... So what???? You're in God's county. The location is perfect and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay warming. The rooms were gorgeous with tons of amenities. Dinner was wonderful and our service was great. I will be coming back again. I highly recommend you take the carriage ride, you will not be disappointed.

Ryan Hauger

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhauger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our suite was nice, with a few minor glitches (glass with rim smudge, whirlpool tub control missing), with ambience and a comfortable bed. The desk clerk was unfriendly and bordering on rude. She was nicer the next day. The outside of the establishment is need of maintenance, from paint to stone resets to fountains that don't work. The pool and hot tub in the same building were uninviting and old. But the main reason we won't be returning is the food. The restaurant was nondescript, with ordinary food bordering on bad. I actually was not feeling well after dinner. One meal was fine, but the appetizer and dessert and definitely one meal was not good. And breakfast was similarly not up to par. Canned fruit! It's a shame, it could be somewhere we would return as it's a beautiful area but doubt it now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I was very concerned when I read the bad reviews and called a local contact to double check. His advice was correct: The place is nice. It's a locally owned lodge and uses a local staff which means you might need to ask for a spare light bulb or jiggle the handle on the door just right. As a country boy, I understand their surprise that you can't change a light bulb. But it was very nice and the small staff is very friendly. Yes, the driveway is rough, but no rougher than any other woodsy resort might have. Bring a flashlight because the grounds can be dark at night. Two notes for the business traveler. There is no ATT/Sprint service anywhere in the area. Not anywhere. And the one complaint I have is that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the lodge office. Daily we had a chance to visit other visitors who were in the office to do some work or change travel plans. I would go back tomorrow. I enjoyed the location in the woods and the pace of the place.

Room Tip: The Lawrence Suite is very large with fireplace. If you want to make a memory, I recommend spending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bend962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from a weekend stay and it was fantastic, very romantic place. The room was very nice, very elegant. The staff were very nice and attentive, the grounds are beautiful and well done. we absolutely had a great time while we were there, the restaurant has outstanding food and we even found a local wine that was very tasty.
I read the reviews before hand and was a bit nervous about staying there. They all turned out false or from people that are very hard to please. Yes, the driveway was a bit rough but I have a Ford Mustang for gods sake and I had no issues. The grounds were fine, not sure what some people expect out in the middle of the woods. The room containing the pool was warm, but if you propped open the door it was fine.
Anyway I highly recommend the place, a unique and wonder way to spend a weekend. If I ever get married again, I would have the wedding there.

Room Tip: we stayed on bottom floor but next time I would like one of the rooms with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loudonville
21.8 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#4 of 5 in Berlin
865 reviews
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
163 reviews
23.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#3 of 8 in Wooster
119 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
15.5 mi away
Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages
Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages
#2 of 4 in Mansfield
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landoll's Mohican Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landoll's Mohican Castle

Address: 561 Township Road 3352, Loudonville, OH 44842-9541
Region: United States > Ohio > Loudonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Price Range: £142 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landoll's Mohican Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landoll's Mohican Castle provides a boutique hotel experience in central Ohio. The Castle contains 11 uniquely designed suites with fine furnishings that fit the style of an old world castle. In addition, there are four adjoining suites in a separate building called the Highland Suites. Finally, there are two free-standing cottages. The Highlands and cottages have been built to fit the theme of the large suite rooms that are featured in the Castle. The Castle Event Center is the largest of its kind in the Mohican-Loudonville area, seating up to 200 people in banquet-style seating. The Event Center and The Copper Mug Bar & Grille restaurant recently hosted a filming by a Gordon Ramsay television show. The result of this experience was a complete redesign of the menu for the restaurant and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Landoll's Mohican Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landoll`s Mohican Castle Hotel Loudonville
Landolls Mohican Castle Loudonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing