We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tasting and Good Food”

Grand River Cellars
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ohio Wine Producers
Mentor, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting and Good Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I live in an area that offers many excellent wineries. My favorite is Grand River Cellars. We usually get the wine samplers so we can try all their excellent offerings. The lunch and dinner menu offers sandwiches, pizzas, salads and full dinner entrees. My favorite is the grilled pesto chicken sandwich with lettuce, tomato, onion and Swiss cheese. The pesto and roasted red pepper make this a great sandwich. Burgers are large and also delicious. The staff is so friendly and fun which contributes quite a lot to the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“ALWAYS A GOOD TIME”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we go there for food wine & dancing we always have a great time!!!!!!! service-rs are friendly!!!! !!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Order carefully.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Cons:
Food and drink: I was actually slightly embarrassed FOR them when we went....their sangria had canned mandarin oranges and canned pineapple in it....at a winery! Couldn't believe it. The food was clearly all frozen, canned or otherwise reheat and serve....on plastic plates, no less. (I had salad (clearly bagged), ribs that were burnt and extremely dry, and vegetables (clearly frozen vegetables that were sopping wet on the plate). If that's the kind of dining experience they're offering, the prices need to reflect that....they're too pricey for the poor quality slop they're serving.
Service: the waitress had us pay our bills BEFORE the food came because "her shift was over". Seriously? Are you never returning?

Pros:
Entertainment: the band was VERY good, very fun!
Atmosphere: it's beautiful out there in the winter, I can imagine in the summer it's just as gorgeous.

BOTTOM LINE: go ahead and go for the fun, but eat before!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 440Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, music & wine”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Great place for a night out of listening to live music, food was good (we had wedding soup and meatloaf) and the Chardonnay was good! Great prices too

Helpful?
Thank Bgab1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Dinner Party”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I recently used Grand River Cellars to host a dinner party with about 40 guests. The winery's private banquet room was the perfect size for this event. They offered a very reasonably priced meal with an excellent selection of main courses to accomdate all. The quality of the food was exceptional. This was confirmed by dozens of our guests who commented on the food quality and the excellent service. The primary server assigned to our party was outstanding. You could tell she was very experienced in serving a larger dinner party. The entire staff at Grand River Cellars did a great job. I would definetly use them again for this type of event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand River Cellars also viewed

 
Madison, Lake County
 

Been to Grand River Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing