We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohio Bird Sanctuary

Ohio Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mansfield, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I live not far from this place and decided to swing in and check it out. It is a very interesting place to check out if you are in the area and like wildlife (Birds). Lots of birds you don't get to see everyday for sure, and some neat habitats they have made to house them. It doesn't take long to go through it if you are in a hurry, but if you take the time to really check it out, it makes a nice trip. For the cost (FREE!), you can't go wrong. Would be fun for grown ups or adults.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Visited this on our annual Fall Bus trip ...wonderful venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you want a fun place to take kids, this is the place. It is run by donations, and the women who work there are wonderful. There are several birds in the outer cages, and they have a neat little gift shop and inside office. The animals are well taken care of, and they will give you all kinds of information about the birds. They are very interactive with the guests.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TLC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

will want to go back for fall colors. Appreciated being able to see magnificent birds up close and this older grandma was thrilled to have mealworms eaten out of her hand by cedar waxwings. Again urging all to consult TripAdvisor for out of the way places to visit specially if you have gotten too familiar with a well worn travel path.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thankful68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ohio Bird Sanctuary...loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This stop is a must see while in Mansfield. They have done a very nice job with this place. You get a chance to see some birds which you may never see this close up anywhere else. Our children had a very nice afternoon touring the facility.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewappner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
183 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Small and does a great job at it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stopped by for a viewing of the birds and to eat lunch on our way to somewhere else. This place is small, but worth a stop if you are in the area. It's free, although donations are welcome. There are multiple types of birds and an open aviary where there are some friendly birds who will eat right our of your hand. There are picnic tables to eat your lunch, and indoor plumbing. There is really nothing missing, but it is small and what they do have is nice. My 5 year old loved it, but she loves birds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ohio Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Ohio Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing