We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Breakers(Sandusky)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton(Port Clinton)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Port Clinton)
US$162
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
16
11
6
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
11
6
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake eriestate parkkelly's islandport clintonlakesidewinery
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Old is one thing but dirty is not acceptable. I don't think the room had been cleaned (other than the beds changed) from previous renters.We actually requested to have our bathroom cleaned when we checked in (there was hair on the toilet and in the tub). The beds are very uncomfortable, the carpet needs cleaned, towels are small and need fabric softner. A lot of cleaning and a little paint would be good. The pond in back was nice for the kids to fish for their time at the motel. During our three day stay we got clean towels and they made our beds every day. emptied trash 1 day, but did not vacum at all. We will not stay here again. We would rather pay a little more than pay $100.00 for this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler0710_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I read all the reviews and decided on taking a chance. Well, it was a nice room...not luxurious, but what do you expect for $80. a night? If something wasn't clean enough , all you had to do was to ask the maid tto clean it. She made our beds,vacuumed the room and gave us fresh towels each day. The motel is run by Chris, son of the owners. He was very knowledgable and told us we could use our laptop PC"s in the room (which we did).We didn't take the kitchenette rooms because we intended to eat out every day. By the way, we had 2 meals a day at the Marblehouse Galley. The food is good, the waitresses aim to please and it wasn't as expensive as some others. It also has a small giftshop inside and delicious chocolates . If you visit Marblehead Ohio I hope this review will help you. I know my husband and I had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bette00_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Room was old and outdated with a musty smell, with torn carpet, drop ceiling, hard beds and a junky TV. Mattresses had plastic covers on them, which is a sign of bed bugs. The pool was nasty, it literally smelled like feces. I was tempted to call the board of health. It is across from the lake, but there is no close access to the lake. They advertise it as 12 miles away from Cedar Point, but in reality it is closer to 25 miles. The town appears to be dying, with not a lot going on. Stay on Kellys Island or Put In Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Locutus2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The moment I walked into the dank, outdated room, I see a roach run from the bathroom floor to under the 30 year stove/sink. I always check for bedbugs in the box springs at hotels and it looked as though they gutted the box spring, but evidence still visible from bed bugs! Then, on my pillow was an eight legged friend. It was real late, so we went to the store and bought sleeping bags and slept on top of the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knye0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

After booking based on some good reviews, we experienced overall disappointment at this motel. It is quite old; looking like a motel from 30 years ago. The rooms were acceptable in cleanliness. But the beds were hard, the pillows thin and the bathroom unappealing (some mildew in tub, tiny sink, no hairdryer, etc). Don't expect much from the small, poorly kept pool. We paid just under $100 for three double beds, which I suppose is a good deal, in light of current prices. A plus for kids is the pond at the back of the property, where catch and release fishing is permitted. Lots of bluegills to catch and huge bass which kept a wary distance from our hooks.

Honestly, our disappointment was not just with the Surf Motel, but with Marblehead in general. We stopped overnight with the impression that the town was a quaint, lakeside vacation village. Instead, it is a gritty and somewhat depressed industrial town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dburt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews