We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel for a road weary couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hackett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hackett Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Marietta B&B and Inns
Langenhagen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel for a road weary couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were planning to stay at another hotel but it was a bit musty and old. After showing us a room we immediately booked. It was tastefully decorated and very well appointed. My husband and I ate dinner and listened to the band. The beer options in the attached bar were large and perfect for people who appreciate micro breweries. We will definitely return as it is a midway stopping point on our long, oft made journey to see family. Great accommodations!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NanCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

You'd never guess such a fine hotel is in Marietta but if you can handle the two flights of stairs, this the THE place to stay! The Galley restaurant and bar are on the first floor and while the bar is spacious, the outdoor patio is pretty darn nice.
If you like old style but with modern convenience, The Hackett is your kinda place. It has been totally gutted and renovated back to Victorian times but with plenty of hot water. Cost is $100/night during the week and $30 more on weekends.

Room Tip: One huge suite but no room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The Hackett Hotel is indeed small - it consists of just 5 rooms - but it is definitely very big on comfort, cleanliness, convenience & class! The rooms are well appointed, the staff is friendly & helpful, and the location is perfect - in easy walking distance of the charming shops & restaurants of downtown Marietta. Sure, it's unconventional - you check in with a girl with a laptop at the bar of The Galley restaurant & then climb stairs so steep you'd swear you're on an Everest trek...but what awaits you at the summit is truly worth the vertical hike. Love the Confluence Room (guest lounge) with the nice selection of continental breakfast items & shared refrigerator. Would most definitely stay here again in a heartbeat & would pay the extra $$ to stay in the Riley Room - that looks amazing! Highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlipp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Sorry this review is overdue as we stayed in November of 2013. Went to see a musical act in the venue below the several intimate & unique hotel rooms on the upper floors. Really charming, clean & fun stay!There is a central sitting area with various munchies & breakfast items 7 the guestrooms each have their own decor. really great stay! The music at the Adelphia & the food & drinks were also first rate & all in one location!! Thanks & will stay again!

Room Tip: We went big & got the most deluxe room...well worth it in our minds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hackett while visiting family in Marietta. The rooms are very charming with classic touches and modern amenities. Although it is situated about the The Adelphia which has live music, the room was quiet. The common room (secured from the restaurant) that is shared by the guest rooms has a small kitchen with snacks, drinks and coffee for guests. We will stay there again.

The bonus, is the jokes you can tell locals about your last stay there under previous ownership.

NOTE: The rooms are on the 3rd floor, and guest must climb ~40 steps to get to the rooms.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall. We thought the further back in the hotel the better - for nois...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Hackett was a fantastic get away, even though I was staying there for work! I expected old & drab, but I was surprised to find a beautifully renovated building with a charming mix of old and new furniture and decor.

Check-in is through the restaurant downstairs and the staff there was fantastic - very welcoming! I felt bad, though, checking in during lunch and having to take their time.

Upon check-in, the manager explained the hotel and I was so happy to know that although the restaurant wasn't open for breakfast, they stock the common area of the hotel with snacks and drinks for all guests. So, I was able to grab some fruit for my breakfast. (A side note: this room has a great couch, tv, and huge round table with chairs. It would be a perfect place to meet with clients for a change of pace!)

Although there is a very steep stairwell to the hotel portion of the building on the 3rd floor, it was well worth the climb! I could see why others on Trip Advisor had mentioned the steps. They would be very difficult for persons with disabilities.

Speaking with my clients in town, they recommended The Galley for dinner, the restaurant downstairs. The food was delicious and the decor was just as charming as the hotel. My waitress even let me look in the music room next door. Apparently they have entertainment every week. Too bad I wasn't there for it.

My overall trip was great! I was so impressed with the facility and the people. I would definitely be back for both business and leisure travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizzyB1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I take frequent overnight motorcycle trips down to southern Ohio and have stayed in several hotels in Athens, Marietta, and Parkersburg. The Hackett is now our new go to place. The hotel is really nice and very unique. Our room was beautiful with modern amenities but with a historical flair. The bathroom is super nice, new and clean. The space had great 12 ft. ceilings and the bed was very comfortable. Came with a Samsung flat screen.

The common area is just really cool. Again modern with charm. Fridge was fully stocked with water, juices and pop (soda). Also had some coffee, snacks and fruit. This hotel would be really great with multiple guests on the same excursion. I can see why the bachelorette party in another review would enjoy it so much.

When I was booking the room, I was a bit concerned that the nightclub below would be loud and keep us up but we didn’t hear a thing! It was very quiet.

We also ate at the Galley and the food was fabulous. I had the filet and my husband had the strip and they were both really delicious and fairly priced. They had a nice selection of beer on draft and we did two samplers (5 each) so we could try out some different beers.

Finally, who knew Marietta could be so cute? We took a walk around the town and it was really quite a neat place. I had always stayed on the other side of Marietta (circa 1970s I think) and was so unimpressed. I had no idea that this area was so inviting.

Love this place. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nahum Ward room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
0.2 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marietta
Hampton Inn Marietta
#1 of 11 in Marietta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Marietta
Comfort Suites Marietta
#3 of 11 in Marietta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Blennerhassett Hotel
The Blennerhassett Hotel
#2 of 10 in Parkersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marietta Hotel
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hackett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hackett Hotel

Property: The Hackett Hotel
Address: 203 2nd St, Marietta, OH 45750-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Marietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hackett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hackett offers a unique hotel experience in the heart of historic Marietta, Ohio. Built in 1890, The Hackett is a completely renovated 5-room boutique hotel with classically chic decor and modern amenities. The Confluence is a common area which offers a kitchenette, snacks, beverages, meeting areas, and entertainment for all guests. Rooms are decorated in an antique-chic method with modern furnishings and historic details. Most rooms have a queen-size pull out couch as well. All of the rooms are named to pay homage to influential figures in Marietta's past. Located above The Galley restaurant and the Adelphia Music Hall, we offer room service during The Galley's operating hours as well as access to the finest dining in town. Plus, The Adelphia boasts live entertainment every weekend. All of the rooms at The Hackett are located on the third floor of an historic structure. There is no elevator or lift available at the facility. As such, The Hackett is not suitable for wheelchair users or persons with limited mobility that precludes the use of stairs. In an effort to provide the Marietta area with the best entertainment experience available, The Adelphia Music Hall is a part of The Hackett facility. The Adelphia is equipped with state of the art equipment to provide the best musical quality. As such, during some entertainment events sound will travel to the hotel. Please keep in mind The Adelphia hosts entertainment every weekend and some week days from approximately 9:00pm until 2:00am. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you foresee this being an issue, please contact us with questions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hackett Hotel Marietta, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing