We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip.”

Harding Home Presidential Site
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Harding Home Presidential Site features the home that Warren and Florence Harding lived in from 1891 to 1921, just before moving to the White House. Harding conducted his famous Front Porch Campaign, which attracted more than 600,000 visitors, at the home en route to his tenure as the United States' 29th president.
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

When I was growing up, we were told that Harding, who worked himself up in life, was a failure as a president. The museum, and even more our tour guide, tell a different story. He was a success in that most of his campaign program was adopted into law during his 2½ years in the White House, his administration was racked with scandals which became apparent to him just before his death. Whether, had he lived, he would have covered up or cleaned house is one of the great unknowns in history. Beautiful house, and even more interesting is the story of his wife, Florence, who was disinherited by her father for getting married twice (Harding being the second) without his approval. If you are in the area, see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    28
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otis Orchards, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

While in Marion, Ohio, visiting our daughter & family, we visited the Warren G. Harding home and Tomb. There is a fee to tour the inside of the home, but no fee for the Tomb. We did not go inside home. The home was built in 1891, it's front porch replaced in 1903. The Tomb is built of white Georgia marble. Harding was elected U.S. President in 1920.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiloh, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tour in town, very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We made an appointment for a tour of the Harding House before coming to Ohio. Our tour guide was wonderful. She spent lots of time with us and we learned so much. The home is fantastic and it was amazing to see so many authentic pieces from the Harding Family and the time period. This stop is a must for presidential history buffs! We especially enjoyed the video which was very professional and well researched.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wjprobasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Presidential Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A great place to learn more about the last of the eight presidents from the state of Ohio.most of the furnishings original to the home. Enthusiastic guides who share their wealth of historic knowledge and fun facts abor Warrn G. Harding.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Remembering Warren G. Harding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Avid poker playing, extramarital relations, scandal ridden administration--while true, Warren Harding is worth closer study. He was a successful newspaper publisher and political leader in Ohio. His "Return to Normalcy" campaign theme in 1920 swept him into office as the 29th President of the United States. His home, built as a wedding gift in 1891, contains a treasure trove of items owned by the Hardings. Although the rooms are somewhat small, a special feature is the large porch which sweeps around the front of the house. It was here that Harding conducted the last "front porch" campaign for the Presidency. The knowledgeable tour guide gave many fascinating insights into Harding the man and the politician. A special touch is learning about Laddie Boy, the Harding's airdale. The tomb of the Hardings, a short distance away, is also worth a visit. Although the regular season for visiting the home had not begun, a call for an appointment was graciously accepted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rock1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harding Home Presidential Site also viewed

 

Been to Harding Home Presidential Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing