We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehh...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ehh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I recently spent one night at the Hyatt Place in Mason at the end of a business trip. Having stayed at a fantastic, brand-new Hyatt Place in Milford, CT, a while back, I was excited to see this property.

The property is a renovated AmeriSuites located just off Mason-Montgomery Rd. Chick-fil-A, Carrabba's, Graeters, and several other restaurants are located nearby. The lobby area is trendy and inviting, and the check-in kiosks were quick and painless.

The room itself was spacious and modern with a semi-separate living room with L-shaped couch, ottoman, desk, and wet bar. There was also a large flat-screen TV split between the bedroom and living area. The room appeared generally clean, but I noticed several spots and stains on the carpet, and the refrigerator had a strong odor of whatever food had been in there last.

The bedding was comfortable, but the A/C was sporadic and never really cooled the room. The internet was fast and reliable, but the power port at the TV console kept tripping, making charging phones and laptops difficult. The bathroom was quite small with a separate vanity, and the fan made a pretty loud grumble when running. Plus, the doors are quite thin, so you can clearly hear everything going on in the hallway. Breakfast the next morning consisted of cereals, fruits, and pastries with other dishes available for an additional charge.

The worst part of the experience happened at checkout. As soon as I checked out, I realized I left my cell phone in my room. I returned to the front desk and asked if I could run up to the room to retrieve the phone, showing my ID to prove it was me that just checked out. The young man gave me a key to go get the phone, but he loudly announced, 'this card will only work for 10 minutes, so get in and get out.' Seriously?!?! He honestly made me feel like I was trying to pull a scam or something. Incredibly disrespectful.

Net, the hotel itself is just OK. There are better options in Mason (like the new Hilton Garden Inn next door) that would probably be a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    138
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
213
54
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel is in beautiful Mason, OH. It's very centrally located to fabulous restaurants and shopping! The room was very spacious and comfortable!!!!! Continental breakfast along with a starbucks in the facility also. Should you want other dining options, there are TONS along the main strip. CHeck out Graeter's Ice Cream while you're here also.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The rooms ate outdated. The bathroom has one switch which is the light and the fan so you will hear noise if you just want the light on...so annoying. Also the air conditioner/heat control is on the floor and makes so much noise rooms have no microwaves but refrigerator and last nut not least the food is HORRIBLE... if you want a nicer hotel with good food nice rooms with microwaves/ refrigerators overall great service, go to Hilton Place next door

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twashme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked the ride and roar package for a family get together. The location was great. The room was very nice, clean and a good size for my family of 4 including 2 teenage boys. I would have given it 5 stars if the breakfast was better. It consisted of cereal, toast, english muffins, bagels and fruit. A hot breakfast would have been nice or at least waffles. The pool was ok, nothing great. Overall though, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for the first time on the Ride and Roar package. When we arrived our first room smelled musty and moldy. The shower curtain in the small bathroom was all pink with mold. I asked to have our room moved and they did, but the bathroom still smelled of mold. They changed the shower curtain, where I thought the smell was coming from, and we returned later the evening. The room still smelled and it was coming from the air conditioning unit which they were currently replacing throughout the entire building. The unit had mold and dust all over the front of it and it smelled horribly. We stayed one night and I couldn't take the smell any longer. I was frustrated and did not want to complain, only wanted to enjoy my family vaca. I called and spoke to a manager Brad to see if they could move my room AGAIN but he proceeded to tell me that this was a hotel and what did I expect and I probably would not be satisfied with any other room since they already moved me and I still wasn't satisfied. We checked 3 other rooms on another floor and they all smelled, the manager even agreed that my room smelled better then these other rooms! I had high expectations for this hotel, we have stayed at a Hyatt before in Indianapolis and it was great! We ended up cutting our vacation short and leaving. I had to pay full price for the tickets that we used and for 1 nights stay at $85. The hotel originally goes for $129.99 a night on the weekends! I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wink1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We enjoyed the extra space in the rooms. The staff was really nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well kept. Breakfast was okay- it had what we needed to get going. This hotel does not have a lot of rooms so it was not too crowded and even though it was full the breakfast rush for Kings Island was doable even with our four little kids. The pool however grossed me out- it was indoors and the floor around the pool was slimy and moldy. The location of the hotel is fantastic for a Kings Island trip and has fantastic access to I-71 without any highway traffic noise. We will consider this hotel again when we go back to Cincinnati for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked our hotel online with a credit card and stated we needed guaranteed late arrival. We got our confirmation and were excited to stay at this location for our 3rd year in a row. However, we were FRUSTRATED when we arrived at 10:15 PM. We went to check in, only to find out they had sold our room to someone else. We would have to stay somewhere else. We had 3 of our kids with us and we had been at Kings Island for 12 hours. We were tired, needed showers, and just wanted our room. The manager didn't even care about our trouble and said by law I just have to find you another room. They called around to 7 hotels before they could find us somewhere to stay. They wanted to get us a room that only had the sleeping capacity for four people and we had five people. We had to call back from the hotel they moved us to in order to get them to finally approve two rooms for our family. They were only going to pay for one at the new hotel until we informed them it was against fire code to have five people in that room. Also to our surprise, the hotel they put us in didn't have continental breakfast like the one we were supposed to be staying at. Now my husband had to get up extra early to go get us some breakfast for our family, after we had gotten to bed after midnigh,t on a trip that should have allowed us to be in bed by 10:30. We also had the inconvenience of driving an extra 15 minutes to get to this other hotel. They never even offered to give us a free hotel night or anything for our inconvenience and major hassle. The manager had ABSOLUTELY NO SYMPATHY at all. I would never recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mason hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mason Inn
0.3 mi away
Cincinnati Marriott Northeast
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast

Property: Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
Address: 5070 Natorp Blvd, Mason, OH 45040-8263 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mason
#4 Family Hotel in Mason
#6 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast Hotel Mason
Hyatt Place Mason
Hyatt Mason
Mason Hyatt
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing