We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lebanese food”
Review of Phoenician Taverna

Phoenician Taverna
Ranked #3 of 157 Restaurants in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lebanese food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stylish restaurant with excellent service and interesting Lebanese version of Middle-Eastern food. Chicken shawarma was outstanding...best we've tasted in US in many years. Vegetarian lunch platter had small servings of 9 different foods. Hummus was delicate with right amount of oil and garlic. Baba ganoush was creamy and delicious. Several items had slight cinnamon flavor. Dipping sauce for side order of fries was garlicky with olive oil. Pita bread made in house (as everything was) was delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    47
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean Food!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I looked for a good restaurant in Mason after five days of fast food at the Lindner Tennis Center watching the Western and Southern Open and found this restaurant listed as the number 1 place in Mason. It lived up to our expectations! It was almost full on a Sunday evening. The food was authentic Mediterranean, with very good vegetarian options. The server was very helpful and friendly. We would recommend it strongly to all visitors to Mason.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajaiyer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Find - outside of the Middle East that is”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My twelve year-old daughter said this was the best restaurant meal she has ever had in her life! Amazing food and great atmosphere. The owner stops by at every table. (We threatened my son that if he didn't eat all of his falafel the owner was going to come by and ask him why he didn't finish.) We had just spent the day at King's Island and spent $71 on lunch (bratwurst, pretzel, nachos) for a family of five. We wanted to eat healthy for dinner and had an absolutely spectacular dinner for $58 without tip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestFamilyTvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Euclid, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprising find!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Don't let the strip mall location dissuade you. The ambience is chic inside (marble tabletops, subtle lighting, open kitchen); the waitstaff is mostly Mediterranean, the menu is fairly straightforward, meat and veg, we tried a traditional yogurt dish, and it was subtle, filled with many spices and light flavors. The Lebanese red wine complemented the meal well, and our server was very attentive and helpful. Try the sweet cheese tart filled with Ashta for dessert. Very good experience. Moderately priced.

Helpful?
Thank cacksammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Four of us ate there over the July 4 holiday. Casual setting with amazing food. Craig, our server was incredible. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The appetizers were all fabulous….hot pita, hummus, eggplant, flat bread and cheese pies…yum! Main courses were all wonderful as well. Chicken Shawarma (beef and chicken are an option), the lamb dish and my eggplant dish were cooked to perfection. Excellent blend of flavors. Many choices for vegetarians as well! We will be back and plan to take out of town guests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenician Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Phoenician Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing