We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good hotel and not a traditional B & B.”
Review of Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is within 4-5 miles of a trailhead for the Little Miami bike trail and within a couple of miles of King's Island. We selected the hotel online based on price and the promise of a wonderful hot breakfast (very true!). There are lots of good photo opportunities along the walks, especially if you have a little girl with you who has a wonderful imagination and can turn one of the walkways into a "secret garden." I had not carefully read the website and thought that I was booking into a traditional B & B. The Kirkwood Inn is not that--it is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel with a fridge a coffee pot. We bought a quart of ice cream to share in the room and realized when we got back to the room about 8:00 pm that we did not have a serving spoon or bowls. The desk clerk went to the Kirkwood House, picked up a serving spoon and bowls, and delivered them to our room! Great service! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Kirkwood Inn the night before cedar point and had a good time. We had a late arrival and the guy at the check-in desk was very nice and helpful. Our room was extremely clean and although the area is a historic one, the room looked recently remodeled, which I appreciated. The hotel was quiet and we were not disturbed by other people throughout the night. Breakfast was decent, they had a lot of pastries, a few warm items, and an assortment of cereals and juices. We did not go to the outdoor pool, but it looked like it was well kept. We also got our kings Island tickets through their Stay and Play deal, which was nice, I believe I paid $180.00 for a room and 2 tickets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Trip Advisor and its ranking system is typically a good point of measure when trying to get a variety of opinions and reviews. I selected the Kirkwood Inn mainly because of the #1 Ranking in Mason, OH. Needless to say that #1 Ranking is well deserved.

The Kirkwood Inn is just that—its an inn. No major chain or corporate feel. This is a family run motel and when you are dealing with the front desk or over the phone, you are more than likely dealing with someone from the family. This place is run like a family. No corporate office. There is just a small office fronting the property. There is a coin operated washing machine/dryer and pool. There is also fast free wifi. The connection was adequate for my basic needs. (You’re not coming to a motel to download music and movies) The accommodations are basic. All the basic amenities were in the room.
It’s a 2 story motel with outside type hallways. We had a unit on the first floor and parking was right in front of the unit. There were 2 queen beds, bathroom area, desk and television. There was more than enough space for us to lounge about in the room.

Breakfast was adequate. Eggs, sausage, different breads, pastries and fruits. By reading some of the reviews it seems some expected a total breakfast buffet type spread. I’m telling you now that it is not that. There is more than enough and if your mindset is just that then you will be satisfied.

There is a pool on one side of the property and despite the hot Ohio summer temperatures we did not use the pool.

The purpose of our trip was some place to stay while visiting Kings Island. The staff was helpful in providing directions and helpful tips in getting around. You more than likely would need a car to get anyplace from the Kirkwood Inn. There’s a supermarket nearby but it would be a long walk.

What makes the Kirkwood Inn a 5 star place is because of the people that work there. Everybody was helpful. When we checked in to when we checked out at 3:00 AM. There was always a hi or a hello. I got to meet Zack, Sandra and David and they were all very nice and accommodating. Again, this is a family run place and needless to say it is such a breath of fresh air when there are no corporate logos, no corporate office hundreds of miles away or managers in suits. Just in passing we conversed and we found out that this family has Hawaii ties. In Hawaii they say our hospitality is called the Aloha Spirit. The Aloha Spirit was at the Kirkwood Inn.

We traveled all the way to Ohio from Hawaii to visit Cedar Point and Kings Island. We all know that Cedar Point is a little bit more intense with more roller coasters. It is probably the more popular park. I mention this because one day we will go back to Ohio and instead of Cedar Point we will visit Mason, OH again and go back to Kings Island. The Kirkwood Inn was the deciding factor. This place is that good. Its #1 Ranking in Mason, OH is totally legit.

Thank you Sandra and David. You guys got a good thing going out there in Mason.

Room Tip: Bottom floor--your car is right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fake808sports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for the first time while attending the Western & Southern Open tennis tournament. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions etc. The breakfast was good with a variety of selections. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. The Inn is located in a somewhat quiet area and the tennis tournament was less than 10 minutes away. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Have stayed at the Kirkwood many times during the past years. The rooms are always clean, the staff friendly and very convenient to everything on the north side of Cincinnati. The breakfasts at the old Inn are second to none and a walk through the garden path at the Inn is very nice. Forget the big chains and treat yourself to a really nice experience at the Kirkwood when visiting Mason!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I took our daughters here for a 2 day trip to Kings Island. The room was fantastic, the pool was good for our daughters to swim in and see the fire works. We missed the breakfast as we thought it ended at 11 and it was actually 10 so I could not rate it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Kirkwood Inn is a wonderful place to stay. Sandy and her staff were fabulous. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast is the best we have ever experienced. It is truly the best place to stay in Mason!
David & Pat Ellis
Port Charlotte, Florida

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaE2367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mason hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
5.9 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Address: 4027 S US Route 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45036-7208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mason
#2 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. Amenities: Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Wi-Fi on flatscreen TV Cable Television In-room Refrigerators Bath & Body Works Stress Relief Bath Amenities Attraction Packages Spacious Outdoor Pool Meeting Room Access to Outdoor Patio and Fireplace Guest Laundry Access Gardens and Trail Keurig Coffee Makers in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing