We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is one of the nicest place to stay everybody was friendly and the room was very clean and the breakfast is also very good just a wonderful place to stay would recommend this hotel to everyone going back soon GREAT GREAT place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    50
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
95
90
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed two nights at Kirkwood for our anniversary. This was our first visit. We were looking for something affordable, quiet, and near Kings Island. The Kirkwood Inn offered all of these qualities and we can't wait to return!
The staff here were very friendly and helpful from the moment we called to book until we checked out. The gardens and historic house on the property are beautiful and well tended. From the on site in-ground pool you can watch the Kings Island fireworks displays.
Our room was spacious and clean. The king bed was very comfortable and we would definitely recommend the jacuzzi tub upgrade! The area is very quiet and also close to various restaurants. The continental breakfast offers a nice variety of home cooked food. All in all it was a great value and we look forward to staying here in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the cleanest hotel we have stayed in in a long time. Wish more hotels were like this one. EXCELLENT breakfast. If you are going to be in the area this is THE place to stay A+ A+++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurseminer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stay here before. Our room was great like always. Very clean hot tub in our room fire place that you can have on with no heat for romance. They have a free breakfast in the house next door. Like always it was good. The pool was open but we didn't get in it was to cold. And the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.pete.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Kirkwood Inn is out of the way in Mason out from the major chains! Still a family run Motel! Rooms are comfortable clean! Staff Is awesome and go out of their way for you! Breakfast in the Old House is very good and a nice country setting! Enjoyed the couple of days spent there! Thanks Sandy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for 18 days in April 2014. The staff was fabulous, the hotel rooms very, very clean and we were very happy here. The hotel is situated where you are close to both freeways and Cincinnati isn't that far away. The only drawback to us, since our stay was so long, was the beds aren't as comfortable as we would have hoped (Room 137); there was mold inside of the shower handle that could easily be taken apart and cleaned (by the way, the BEST shower pressure we have had anyplace!) and although there are three chairs in the room, none were comfortable for TV watching or even computer work. Sitting on the bed gets old. With that said, we thought this was a fabulous place to stay and will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hotel are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMiss37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My family stayed at the Kirkwood Inn as part of a weekend getaway to Kings Island. What a hidden jewel this place is! As other reviewers have said, the staff is incredibly friendly. The room was clean and the beds were very comfy.

The breakfast in the historic home was very good (continental, but WAY better than most), and the home itself was beautiful. I only wish it was later in the spring so that I could have seen the garden in bloom. At checkout I got the opportunity to speak with the owner, and you can tell she loves her hotel and the people that stay there. She isn't doing it just to 'make a buck'. I hope to get the chance to stay here again!

P.S. The receptionist recommended the restaurant across the street for dinner (The Houston Inn, if memory serves), and it was very good as well. They had a 55 item salad bar, and the meals were very good. The decor may seem a little dated to some, but I found it charming. The clientele appears to be a bit older, but the experience reminded me of some of the places we would used to go to with my grandparents. The food was very good, and not overly expensive (Prime Rib w/ side was about $20).

Room Tip: We didn't have any kids in our party, and didn't use room service. The rooms on the left si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dman43147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mason hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mason Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Property: Kirkwood Inn
Address: 4027 S US Route 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45036-7208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mason
#2 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. Amenities: Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Wi-Fi on flatscreen TV Cable Television In-room Refrigerators Bath & Body Works Stress Relief Bath Amenities Attraction Packages Spacious Outdoor Pool Meeting Room Access to Outdoor Patio and Fireplace Guest Laundry Access Gardens and Trail Keurig Coffee Makers in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing