We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an average older hotel”
Review of Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an average older hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Staff was friendly. The breakfast was good. However, the hotel room was dark and dated. The bed was awful and was not able to sleep very well at all. I was disappointed that Hotel room was dark, bed was not well. However the gardens were quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlovingsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    51
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
99
95
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights while we were visiting the area. Loved the location. It was in a quieter area but just a 5 minute drive to King's Island. The rooms were nicely sized and the beds & pillows comfortable. (I slept better in this hotel than most others.) The room was clean and we had daily housekeeping. The Inn isn't huge, which I think makes it that much nicer. It never got too loud. The pool area was well maintained. The grounds were very pretty, we enjoyed walking around them in the evening and in the morning. Breakfast is served next door and had a lot of options. (Eggs, sausage and gravy, corn beef hash, oatmeal, fresh fruit and lots of pastries.) The staff was all very nice. If visiting the area again I would definitely stay at the Kirkwood Inn again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the pool near the back of the hotel. It was quiet. You could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clevelandgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirtland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My son and I stayed here for a 3 night Kings Island get-a-way. So happy to have found this lovely inn!! From the moment we made the reservation to the time we checked out, the staff was helpful, kind, and gracious. And our room was exceptionally clean! The grounds have a beautiful garden with a walking path, and there are several nice touches throughout the premises. The metal sculpture in the main corridor is an example. Kirkwood is such a nice change from chain hotels. We are already planning our return next year. Thanks to the staff--keep up the good work! What a relaxing and affordable treat!

Room Tip: We had a single room reserved but arrived an hour early and were upgraded to a double at the same ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I traveled to the Mason area to visit relatives the week of July 4th. We always stay here and again we weren't disappointed. Yes, the inn is in a renovated motel, but it's one of the cleanest places we've ever stayed. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful and is located in a historic house on the grounds. It's a little bit of Williamsburg inside. No matter what your dietary restrictions are you can find something to eat. Hats off to the owner for keeping the Kirkwood a great place to stay. If you do stay there, don't forget to take a walk in the garden. It's a nice surprise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circleville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean, and the breakfast was great. I loved that it wasn't in town, so there wasn't much noise outside. The towels they provided were thick and absorbent, which is a nice change from the typical paper-thin towels most hotels provide. I would recommend Kirkwood and would likely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I travel a lot and our family absolutely loves the Kirkwood Inn. The staff is eager and willing to help you with whatever your needs may be. The rooms are impeccably clean and modern. I've read a few reviews about the bathrooms being dated but ours was just fine. It's so refreshing to have a clean tub with no hairs in them! The gardens were beautiful and the pool was refreshing. But the best part is the breakfast served in the farm house that was built in 1799. By far more options than a "continental breakfast". Overall this place is a great value and it's a unique alternative to the corporate places in the area. Needless to say we will always choose the Kirkwood when visiting Kings Island.

Room Tip: Check out the beautiful flower garden before you departing :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150VLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We actually were recommended this hotel by the Shaker Inn....they were booked. So this place is awesome! Very clean. The rooms are spacious and nice. The grounds are beautiful. It was nice to take a relaxing walk through the garden after the long drive from Florida. The breakfast was served in the Historic Kirkwood house that was built in 1799. The breakfast Iincluded Fresh juice, coffee, homemade biscuits and gravy hot eggs, oatmeal, pastries, pineapple bread pudding,yogurt,jams and jellies., cereal, really something for everyone. Breakfast is served from 6am-10am. They have a pool from where you can watch fireworks from Kings Island. Location Iis close to Kings Island. It Iis nice for familes and peaceful enough for a couple to enjoy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the Award winning Houston Inn Restaurant is right across the street. They serve Lunch and Dinner. Also, they have a bar. The steak I had was tender and delicious.
I highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to staying here again. Whether you are antiquing in Lebenon or doing the Kings Island thing..this Hotel is great for both!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mason hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
5.9 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cincinnati/Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Property: Kirkwood Inn
Address: 4027 S US Route 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45036-7208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mason
#2 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. Amenities: Full Hot Breakfast Buffet Complimentary Wi-Fi on flatscreen TV Cable Television In-room Refrigerators Bath & Body Works Stress Relief Bath Amenities Attraction Packages Spacious Outdoor Pool Meeting Room Access to Outdoor Patio and Fireplace Guest Laundry Access Gardens and Trail Keurig Coffee Makers in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing